pinky, as I've said Season's packet drink (F&N Foods) is MIS.. so you can still enjoy your Soy drink
hey.. get a chance to become an iPad wielding douchebag by "connecting" with your neighbourhood MIW MP (whom i wager is a douchebag too)
lol
morning
in any case, ppl in JB dun believe any MRT projects for JB alrdy even w/ IDR's plans. Because talk, talk, talk for 20 yrs and now say it's only ready by aft 2020.
I saw comments of even implementing ERP once this JB MRT commences. ![]()
Basket.....
I took a no.95 from Buona Vista to go down to NUS.
As it turns out, it was a 95A, meaning that the bus captain chased off all the passengers at NUH.
A lot of bus passengers (myself included) were p*ssed off, because the service plates clearly said '95' and not '95A'.
gosh
is it those electronic screen buses? For myself I've ever seen wrong termianting details bef ever at those places where the bus call twice like S'goon Gardens
Good Morning...Rise and Shine ...![]()
*rub tummy*...breakfast is sure heavy today :D
LF, been into Fairprice Xtra after say 11pm?
oh soot...I just recevied the CAI magazine (US$4.40 postage paid) a few days ago.. Pretty impressed with the contents/achievement but at the same time, thinks :they got good money to print full coloured (about 40pp)...if they send to 4million potential donator, maybe it's worth it..
and then this morning...i saw this news..![]()
http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2011/04/15/60minutes/main20054397.shtml
Greg Mortenson is a former mountain climber, best-selling author, humanitarian, and philanthropist. His non-profit organization, the Central Asia Institute (CAI), is dedicated to promoting education, especially for girls, in remote parts of Pakistan and Afghanistan, and according to its web site, has established more than 140 schools there.
President Obama donated $100,000 to the group from the proceeds of his Nobel Prize. Mortenson's book, Three Cups of Tea, has sold more than four million copies and is required reading for U.S. servicemen bound for Afghanistan.
But last fall, we began investigating complaints from former donors, board members, staffers, and charity watchdogs about Mortenson and the way he is running his non-profit organization. And we found there are serious questions about how millions of dollars have been spent, whether Mortenson is personally benefiting, and whether some of the most dramatic and inspiring stories in his books are even true.
Greg Mortenson's books have made him a publishing phenomenon and sought-after speaker on the lecture circuit, where he has attained a cult-like status. He regularly draws crowds of several thousand people and $30,000 per engagement.
And everywhere Mortenson goes, he brings an inspirational message built around a story that forms the cornerstone of Three Cups of Tea and his various ventures - how, in 1993, he tried and failed to reach the summit of K2, the world's second tallest mountain, to honor his dead sister, how he got lost and separated from his party on the descent and stumbled into a tiny village called Korphe.
Greg Mortenson (speaking on big T.V. screen): My pants were ripped in half and I hadn't taken a bath in 84 days.
Mortenson (in T.V. interview): And I stumbled into a little village called Korphe, where I was befriended by the people and...
Mortenson (in another T.V. interview): They gave me everything they had: their yak butter, their tea. They put warm blankets over me, and they helped nurse me back to health.
Mortenson tells how he discovered 84 children in the back of the village writing their school lessons with sticks in the dust.
Mortenson (speaking on stage): And when a young girl named Chocho came up to me and said...
Mortenson (speaking on another stage): Can you help us build a school? I made a rash promise that day and I said, "I promise I'll help build a school." Little did I know it would change my life forever.
It's a powerful and heart-warming tale that has motivated millions of people to buy his book and contribute nearly $60 million to his charity.
Jon Krakauer: It's a beautiful story, and it's a lie.
Jon Krakauer is also a best-selling author and mountaineer, who wrote Into Thin Air and Into The Wild. He was one of Mortenson's earliest backers, donating $75,000 to his non-profit organization.
But after a few years, Krakauer says he withdrew his support over concerns that the charity was being mismanaged, and he later learned that the Korphe tale that launched Mortenson into prominence was simply not true.
Steve Kroft: Did he stumble into this village weak in a weakened state?
Krakauer: Absolutely not.
Kroft: Nobody helped him out. And nursed him back to health.
Krakauer: Absolutely not. I have spoken to one of his companions, a close friend, who hiked out from K2 with him and this companion said Greg never heard of Korphe till a year later.
Strangely enough, Krakauer's version of events is backed up by Greg Mortenson himself, in his earliest telling of the story. In an article he wrote for the newsletter of The American Himalayan Foundation after his descent from K2, Mortenson makes no mention of his experience in Korphe, although he did write that he hoped to build a school in another village called Khane.
Originally posted by sbst275:LF, been into Fairprice Xtra after say 11pm?
not yet leh.. but one of my friends did.. and he said its shiok to buy grocery in a uncrowded place.. :P
i used to shop in Mustafa at 4am (my friend finished work and we go there).. lovely experience...but now it's not so quiet now..so we din go there anymore..
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:
not yet leh.. but one of my friends did.. and he said its shiok to buy grocery in a uncrowded place.. :Pi used to shop in Mustafa at 4am (my friend finished work and we go there).. lovely experience...but now it's not so quiet now..so we din go there anymore..
somemore tat 24 hr Xtra is opp your place.. lagi shiok
morning
Originally posted by sbst275:
somemore tat 24 hr Xtra is opp your place.. lagi shiok
maybe tonight i hop over and look see :D
Hertic week...
not much free time...
work work work~~~
I'm dying here
busy busy busy... i have not started packing for my malaysia offroad camping trip..
hah! i found my solid fuels. :D
U good life la LF
-_-" My friend told me today "Why you never tell me the aquarium come in this fish?"
Me: I thought you won't buy coz it's $1,680 and I know you overspent liao -_-"
Friend: Kamimata PBB le
Me: Yeah I know ah. I also want but not at that price. Anyway you go sms A lor see still hv or not
Friend: I think Trix or KF tabao already but I smsed A
Me: You win
tabao fish? steamed or grilled? :D
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:tabao fish? steamed or grilled? :D
$1,680 9 inch fish
Jiak buo luo la
$1,680 9 inch fishJiak buo luo la
try $1,349 for a 51" plasma tv
big rain...
super cold >___< Staff conference in the afternoon will be hellish cold >___<
going to nap to get ready for the night shift ![]()
Will be a miracle if we dun fall aslp later >___>
Thank goodness the wifi at the location is superb
Originally posted by the Bear:try $1,349 for a 51" plasma tv
LOL I tweeted u earlier.
Oh yeah. And the crazy guys I know can buy more than 1 $1680 fish
I think if I showed u guys the pic u will go WTF??!!
Originally posted by elindra:LOL I tweeted u earlier.
Oh yeah. And the crazy guys I know can buy more than 1 $1680 fish
I think if I showed u guys the pic u will go WTF??!!
i could for a few nice holidays with that kinda $$$
Well, get interested in the fish hobby and stake out the fish forums
There are A LOT OF rich guys there
They don't think twice about spending USD 15k on a fish lor
Just cold hard cash out immediately
Like recently a batch of Tropical Gars came in, I think it was $250 each. One of them just tabao 10 pces without blinking n yes it was all paid for in cash