Originally posted by SevenEleven:
beware of HAPE and HACE...best of luck
what is HAPE HACE?
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:23 june...available from 24 june :)
Hmmm k kz...
Got time I can bring out my camera for some lesson...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
Hmmm k kz...Got time I can bring out my camera for some lesson...
wait for me come back for makan sessions hor!!
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:what is HAPE HACE?
High Altitude Pulmonary Odema (breathless, dry cough, cough with pink foam and finally drown in foam. It is the collection of fluid to the lung)
High Altitude Celebral Odema (loss of memory, headache, nausea, loss of apitide and finally death. It is collection of fluid to the brain.)
The only cure is to decend immediately. The only solution to overcome it is ascend slowly and acclaimatise.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:*passes Sbsd a whip and a cuppa of mnty balls *
minty balls!
High Altitude Pulmonary Odema (breathless, dry cough, cough with pink foam and finally drown in foam. It is the collection of fluid to the lung)
High Altitude Celebral Odema (loss of memory, headache, nausea, loss of apitide and finally death. It is collection of fluid to the brain.)
The only cure is to decend immediately. The only solution to overcome it is ascend slowly and acclaimatise.
you're scaring her
Originally posted by cassie:you're scaring her
forewarned is forearmed..
we are going with a tour group this time, really a tourist now :) our group got a 65 year old auntie going with us somemore :D
the tour guide surely plan for very very slow ascend..
time to go eat liao... mom's buying dinner..zhi char :) i want my salad prawns and shang min :P
be right back after dinner... then 8.5hours more....yipeee!!
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:finally finish packing liao.. left towel to dry before pushing it into my nearly-burst bag ::(
did not take AMS pills leh... see how lor... last time, i vomitted on 3rd day and all clear to run around at 4800m... now see if i can climatize as we ascend slowly each day, not like last time, sibey kiasu...from 500m to 4800m on 3rd day with lotsa of bumpy rides (7hours per day).
A friend of mine descended up tibet from nepal by bus... supposed to be okay one
but... during one of the rest stops, she urgent - didn't want people to wait for her
so ran (operative word here) to the toilet, peed, ran (again) back
this was followed by loss of consciousness, went into coma despite being administered oxygen, emergency evacuation back to Nepal and hospitalisation.
Err she's okay now though.
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:A friend of mine descended up tibet from nepal by bus... supposed to be okay one
but... during one of the rest stops, she urgent - didn't want people to wait for her
so ran (operative word here) to the toilet, peed, ran (again) back
this was followed by loss of consciousness, went into coma despite being administered oxygen, emergency evacuation back to Nepal and hospitalisation.
Err she's okay now though.
The air is thin is higher places...
which is why mountaineer usually camp at a certain altitude b4 climbing up even further... U need ur body to get used to the thin air...
descended up?
So she went up or down?
Oh...and good morning folks...it was a reluctant waking-up today with the rain last night.

Many parts of the South China Sea is too shallow for subs la....![]()
The air is thin is higher places...which is why mountaineer usually camp at a certain altitude b4 climbing up even further... U need ur body to get used to the thin air...
yeah.. but I guess most people forget that 'acclimatising' means even if you seem okay while walking, or sitting around - a short run (or other activities which use your strength) may take you entirely out of comfort or health zone totally.
Hubby and I were doing this hike to a base camp in Pakistan. We were walking so really SLOW progress and should acclimatise ma! When we reach the base camp, the porters were helping to set up the tents and we figure, we'll just set up our own, don't need their help.
After we finished (and we didn't even more very fast), both of us were dizzy and had a headache for the next couple of hours!
Originally posted by SBS2601D:descended up?
So she went up or down?
Oh...and good morning folks...it was a reluctant waking-up today with the rain last night.
Woops supposed to be ascended hahahaahaha paisay!
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:yeah.. but I guess most people forget that 'acclimatising' means even if you seem okay while walking, or sitting around - a short run (or other activities which use your strength) may take you entirely out of comfort or health zone totally.
Hubby and I were doing this hike to a base camp in Pakistan. We were walking so really SLOW progress and should acclimatise ma! When we reach the base camp, the porters were helping to set up the tents and we figure, we'll just set up our own, don't need their help.
After we finished (and we didn't even more very fast), both of us were dizzy and had a headache for the next couple of hours!
Well, the primary objective of acclimatising is for ur lungs to get used to thin air... Which means if ur heart-rate increase or if u breathe more, U'll get out of air very fast...
it doesn't means u do cardio workout u'll faint... U do weight lifting, u breathe in and out also might cause a shortage of air -___-
must fight the zzzz monster again.![]()
Well, the primary objective of acclimatising is for ur lungs to get used to thin air... Which means if ur heart-rate increase or if u breathe more, U'll get out of air very fast...it doesn't means u do cardio workout u'll faint... U do weight lifting, u breathe in and out also might cause a shortage of air -___-
i dont even need to go to the mountains to do that...flat ground..i feel like dying ![]()
i dont even need to go to the mountains to do that...flat ground..i feel like dying
but u're always running~~~
Email from my aunt who is a Professor at a Uni in USA. Same sad story world wide. Hiaz
Thanks for sharing. It's the life we have been leading in the States.Not kidding when I say we have PhDs who drive taxis, and I have done surveys of the homeless and hungry in California where the people I see have college degrees. Yesterday, my student came to ask me if she should accept a job that pays her only $45K. I told her she is lucky to get a job offer a week before she has graduated. My friend with a Master's degree from Harvard made $30K at her first job just 5 years ago. Just for comparison, health insurance costs about $1000 a month per person if you don't have an employer who pays for part of your premiums. Tax rates are quite high - if you make $100K a year as a family, your tax rate is over 30%. As for housing, if you live in a city (where the jobs are, and where there is less discrimination against non-Whites). Add to that the cost of housing and school tuition....
I hope Singapore finds a way to maintain the high quality of life you have had all these years. China is the place I am worried about - when the gap between the rich and the poor gets wider, many societal problems surface:
http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/technology/2011/06/chinese-teen-reportedly-sells-his-kidney-to-buy-an-apple-ipad-2.html
yeah well...the grass always appears greener on the other side.
Originally posted by elindra:Email from my aunt who is a Professor at a Uni in USA. Same sad story world wide. Hiaz
Thanks for sharing. It's the life we have been leading in the States.Not kidding when I say we have PhDs who drive taxis, and I have done surveys of the homeless and hungry in California where the people I see have college degrees. Yesterday, my student came to ask me if she should accept a job that pays her only $45K. I told her she is lucky to get a job offer a week before she has graduated. My friend with a Master's degree from Harvard made $30K at her first job just 5 years ago. Just for comparison, health insurance costs about $1000 a month per person if you don't have an employer who pays for part of your premiums. Tax rates are quite high - if you make $100K a year as a family, your tax rate is over 30%. As for housing, if you live in a city (where the jobs are, and where there is less discrimination against non-Whites). Add to that the cost of housing and school tuition....
I hope Singapore finds a way to maintain the high quality of life you have had all these years. China is the place I am worried about - when the gap between the rich and the poor gets wider, many societal problems surface:
http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/technology/2011/06/chinese-teen-reportedly-sells-his-kidney-to-buy-an-apple-ipad-2.html
europe's tax rates are even higher but at least their healthcare is better than the US