Originally posted by Kuali Baba:1 GBP was just over S$2 when I left, and now it's under that. Our strong currency makes travelling a lot more affordable.
I think the US dollar will take a further beating and it will be a very long time if it ever recovers. It was worth S$1.44 early last year and it dropped by 0.10 by the time I left.
actually, I don't think it'll ever recover .....
we are seeing the beginning of the end of an era I think ....
the US won't fade away into a third world shit hole .... maybe ....
but it certainly won't be number one much longer .....
it's unfortunate ... cos I think this brave new world would be a much tougher one for small states like us than the one with uncle sam at the head ....
LOL MPB called me up to complain about Mediacrap
There is this Food Program being hosted by Kumar now
And they went all over the world (Japan, Korea and dunno where else) to taste on the various specialty beef dishes
Problem is, Kumar is a Hindu and don't eat beef -_-"
MPB said he end up just eating the vegetables at the side of the plate while they got one of the crew to taste the beef.
Wah liao this is like sibei fail and bloody insensitive sia. So much food around the world must it be beef if he can't eat it?
It's like getting a muslim to recommand pork dishes -_-"
Originally posted by Fatum:actually, I don't think it'll ever recover .....
we are seeing the beginning of the end of an era I think ....
the US won't fade away into a third world shit hole .... maybe ....
but it certainly won't be number one much longer .....
it's unfortunate ... cos I think this brave new world would be a much tougher one for small states like us than the one with uncle sam at the head ....
The United States isn't going to go kaput..... but I'm guessing that we're going to see a major shift of power away from it within our lifetime.
It's just like how the status of superpower shifted away from the British in the aftermath of WWII. The British Empire technically still exists, but it is now a pale shadow of its former glory.
Originally posted by elindra:LOL MPB called me up to complain about Mediacrap
There is this Food Program being hosted by Kumar now
And they went all over the world (Japan, Korea and dunno where else) to taste on the various specialty beef dishes
Problem is, Kumar is a Hindu and don't eat beef -_-"
MPB said he end up just eating the vegetables at the side of the plate while they got one of the crew to taste the beef.Wah liao this is like sibei fail and bloody insensitive sia. So much food around the world must it be beef if he can't eat it?
It's like getting a muslim to recommand pork dishes -_-"
they should have gotten that fat szeto makan sutra guy to do the program instead of that cross dressing fairy ....
Originally posted by fudgester:The United States isn't going to go kaput..... but I'm guessing that we're going to see a major shift of power away from it within our lifetime.
It's just like how the status of superpower shifted away from the British in the aftermath of WWII. The British Empire technically still exists, but it is now a pale shadow of its former glory.
it's going to be tragic watching people in the west being wrenched into reality .....
an ang moh uni classmate once told me without irony that north america is the best place to live, that's why everyone else in the world wants to come live here ....
american exceptionalism in particular ... and western exceptionalism in general .......
it'll be an interesting process though, because the west is still at the peak of cultural imperialism ...
afternoon
Lately, 93.8 has featuring all this pseudo-science like alkaline water. Today's topic was using extreme cold to zap away fat (cryolipolysis). CASE blasted them for the first case but they're still doing it without declaring it an advertorial.
well ... I went to canada and came back 5 winters later with 30 extra kilos, lol ......
okay.. i do not know if i will be able to look at the Cathay Pacific crew with a straight face at work ![]()
*sticks half a foot in*
Originally posted by MooKu:*sticks half a foot in*
hey mookie.. zora says we'll bring you out for ice cream when we are all free at the same time...
Baskin-Robbins only has branches at Clementi Mall and Velo-city..
morning folks. everyone sleeping in today i guess
i am woken up by celebrations downstair
never fail to wake my family up for past 13 years
WTF is going on in parts of London!? It's spread to Brum, Liverpool and Bristol?
Good A Morning..![]()
I made a blunter this morning... I woke up at 8am, arghhh late.....run to toilet and get ready to go work..and then..while brushing my teeth.. i went...EHHHH..its holiday today.!!.. what was I thinking??![]()
Saw mom at one end of the kitchen laughing at me.!! ![]()
Yesterday,I even wrote a note to remind my UK office to cover my duty for today!!..Turning to workaholic soon..again :(
morning
KB, yah mess in London.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:WTF is going on in parts of London!? It's spread to Brum, Liverpool and Bristol?
my sentiments. what's wrong with kids these days?
It's madness, kids using Sunday's demonstration as a cover for looting and arson. It makes us sound like old people, but they have absolutely no values.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:WTF is going on in parts of London!? It's spread to Brum, Liverpool and Bristol?
yobs and chavs ....
the veneer of civilization rides thin in certain societies ......
i just hope my friends in london are OK
my sweet heart is feeding me her cooking today ..... ![]()
what's cooking for dinner?
The SAF has did it
They barricaded and covered up the Esplanade bridge
Then the NTUC House side of Marina Bay is alrdy taken up by NUSSU.
going off now. catch up later tonite.