Originally posted by Kuali Baba:
It makes me wonder what kind of conditions exist that allow the said women to grow up in a bubble with such outdated notions. Remember that they and guys like them may, heaven forbid, go on to become bosses and mini-stars.
The hardwarezone folks call it the golden cheesepies syndrome and apparently lots of them hang out at flowerpod lol
Originally posted by av98m:The hardwarezone folks call it the golden cheesepies syndrome and apparently lots of them hang out at flowerpod lol
I can never stand the conversations going on at flowerpod and I'm a girl!!!
Originally posted by elindra:I can never stand the conversations going on at flowerpod and I'm a girl!!!
Actually what is it like over there arh. Never been there. :P
Originally posted by elindra:I can never stand the conversations going on at flowerpod and I'm a girl!!!
What is a Flowerpod?
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:What is a Flowerpod?
i think it's a forum for women
looks like the trains broke down again.. this time at JE where a train supposedly overshot the station and could not reverse..
so all are stuck...
uhh... go to the next station and let everyone off?
but that is just a little bit.. wtf is this with trains breaking down every day?
morning
From my friend's FB wall:

Fucking MRT
KNN instead of some fucking wayang inquest to see what happened
They might as well spend their time and money fixing the current problems
oh well
SMRT will soon find it hard to defend itself.. It's like slowly digging a grave for all its problems...
I'm slowly analysing the BOI reports...
And I must say, excessive vibrations on the tracks is NOT normal. Usually it's poor maintenance of the trains.
Originally posted by the Bear:looks like the trains broke down again.. this time at JE where a train supposedly overshot the station and could not reverse..
so all are stuck...
uhh... go to the next station and let everyone off?
but that is just a little bit.. wtf is this with trains breaking down every day?
coz they're cursed from raising fares every year (or so)? ok, who's been practising voodoo? ![]()
Originally posted by fudgester:
Big Bang Theory just gets better and better
Seriously I wonder how they come up with the stuff
And people kpkb about money being poured into buses.........
I would sooner do that than buy more train for a pretty useless train system.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:And people kpkb about money being poured into buses.........
I would sooner do that than buy more train for a pretty useless train system.
The train system is not useless
It's the mis-management of it and the lack of foresight that the population will boom leading too insufficient space
actually you need proper mgmt system...
and having said that, its true MRT system is not a miracle pill, you still need buses for other connections.
But zheng hu never realised the need for buses at main corridor.
Half my tuition class turned up 1 hr late last fri.
I didn't know why till the next day.
Train broke down.
I should have guessed.
That aside.
I had a big debate with my project mates over the conclusion with regards to public housing affordability.
I felt that we should homogenise the housing market and do away with what DBSS because that is creating a market of have and have-nots.
Of cos it has to do with opinions. I feel that it is an entitlement and it just isn't right to call it "public housing" when 50% of the people are priced out of segments of the "public house" market.
But I found it disturbing that my group mates didn't share these sentiments. I found it disturbing. And ironic to say the least. I mean...its not ok to have unaffordable houses, but ok to keep them in case you can afford them one day?
DBSS may have to go and anyway in terms of design, newer HDB flats are pretty ok alrdy (that said, it's no better than some old flats and I dun mean area alone)..
But let me put it this way, just how long should people be paying for a new flat, considering they've children's spending to think of...
Perhaps surprisingly, or not.
The 50th percentile family can really afford the new houses released. No study was done on resale market.
But they can't afford DBSS 5-roomers....and barely for 4 room.
They also can't afford a BTO 5 room at Clementi....which was nuts. I really dunno what's so fantastic about that place.
Things change once you factor in other costs. A house at clementi is out of question, and 4 room BTO Bedok, Geylang as well.
I was supposed to meet a student for consultation at 9 am.
Because of the stupid breakdowns, he got stuck in the train and only managed to see me at 9.45 am.
Damnit, SMRT. Your idiocy is not just inconveniencing your passengers..... they inconvenience EVERYONE, INCLUDING THOSE NOT ON THE TRAINS!!!!!!
DO YOU HAVE ANY FREAKIN' IDEA HOW MUCH MY SCHEDULE HAS BEEN MESSED UP THANKS TO YOU?!?!?!?
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Perhaps surprisingly, or not.
The 50th percentile family can really afford the new houses released. No study was done on resale market.
But they can't afford DBSS 5-roomers....and barely for 4 room.
They also can't afford a BTO 5 room at Clementi....which was nuts. I really dunno what's so fantastic about that place.
Things change once you factor in other costs. A house at clementi is out of question, and 4 room BTO Bedok, Geylang as well.
DBSS was supposedly for the atas... But having said that, suddenly something struck into my mind.. People these days some would rather save and spend onto things like DBSS or holidays..
Clementi is more because of the location. There's ppl who wants to live in the West but dun want Jurong at all.
Originally posted by fudgester:I was supposed to meet a student for consultation at 9 am.
Because of the stupid breakdowns, he got stuck in the train and only managed to see me at 9.45 am.
Damnit, SMRT. Your idiocy is not just inconveniencing your passengers..... they inconvenience EVERYONE, INCLUDING THOSE NOT ON THE TRAINS!!!!!!
DO YOU HAVE ANY FREAKIN' IDEA HOW MUCH MY SCHEDULE HAS BEEN MESSED UP THANKS TO YOU?!?!?!?
I wouldn't be so sure that he was on the train unless SMRT starts giving out official chits when the trains are delayed like in Japan. Either way, it has wreaked havoc.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I wouldn't be so sure that he was on the train unless SMRT starts giving out official chits when the trains are delayed like in Japan. Either way, it has wreaked havoc.
I considered that, but in these cases, I have to give the benefit of the doubt.
Once upon a time, one girl missed my consultation. Her excuse when she showed up 50 minutes later was........ she had overslept. ![]()
Needless to say, I threw her out of my lab right there and then.
Originally posted by fudgester:I considered that, but in these cases, I have to give the benefit of the doubt.
Once upon a time, one girl missed my consultation. Her excuse when she showed up 50 minutes later was........ she had overslept.
Needless to say, I threw her out of my lab right there and then.
at least she was honest and didnt blame SMRT
Maybe, but she should try saying that she overslept to her boss in the future when she's 50 minutes late for a meeting.
Especially when her boss had to actually wake up early and shuffle his schedule just to attend to her.
Which I actually had to do, by the way.