Originally posted by fudgester:Meh.... I had a falling out with some of the more elite runners a few years back. Never been back to that website since.
Anyway, I'm sure gonna flip a few tables, because the AHM has always been the best half-marathon event in Singapore.
yeah i hope it's not off the calendar too. it was one of the better organized runs (and reasonably priced!)...then again, resource is never a problem for the army. let's hope for the best.
Packing packing packing
when's the exact date you leave? just curious...
I had a very interesting tuition lesson with my student last night.....
I was discussing a Maths question with him, and he could not accept the idea that 'maximum' does not always have to be greater than 'minimum'.....
So I asked him a simple question:
I am Bill Gates. I want to give you money. I let you decide between two choices:
(a). You can take a maximum of $1000 from me.
(b). You can take a minimum of $1000 from me.
What choice do you take?
He repeatedly insisted on choice (a).
Originally posted by fudgester:I had a very interesting tuition lesson with my student last night.....
I was discussing a Maths question with him, and he could not accept the idea that 'maximum' does not always have to be greater than 'minimum'.....
I am Bill Gates. I want to give you money. I let you decide between two choices:
What choice do you take?
Yr student don't have a problem with Math
He have a problem with English
Originally posted by fudgester:I had a very interesting tuition lesson with my student last night.....
What choice do you take?
Originally posted by elindra:Yr student don't have a problem with Math
it's the concept...
I think at least part of it is psychology.
When we see the word 'maximum' we tend to equate it with 'a lot', and when we see the word 'minimum', we equate it with 'a little'.
At least, that would be the knee-jerk response of people who just dive right in without properly establishing the context first.
To be fair to the kid, I did struggle a bit for precisely that reason when I was first learning about minimum wages and maximum rents in economics.
I had to hammer into my head that minimum wages must be set above the equilibrium, and maximum rents must be set below the equilibrium.
Anyway, the kid finally managed to get the point when I explained that choice (a) gets him $1000 at most, while choice (b) can make him a billionaire if he wants.
yeah, my first thought was language rather than maths
sbst, hv you tried Koka's purple wheat noodle?
I bought the Chilli Lime one to try. It reminds me of the CQYD Tom Yam when it was Made in HK!!! I cannot tahan the new tom yam of CQYD now!
I think it's nice le. Very nice al dente texture to the noodles
i need to take a break from noodles, pasta...maybe except the rice noodles or vermecelli
Originally posted by cassie:i need to take a break from noodles, pasta...maybe except the rice noodles or vermecelli
Thing is I usually eat noodles/pasta (whole wheat) or quinoa or wholemeal bread
I love noodles. As for instant noodles I only use the seasoning sometimes
I realise I don't eat a typical asian diet
Originally posted by sbst275:Eh no.
I rarely eat instant noodle, so normally just eat Myojo nia.
Now there’s scary news from upnorth. There’s people using mainly chicken skin to make burger pattie.
Ok ma just that they use fats and flour to form patties
At least not some weird chemical or cardboard.
Die from heart attack nia LOL
Originally posted by elindra:Thing is I usually eat noodles/pasta (whole wheat) or quinoa or wholemeal bread
I love noodles. As for instant noodles I only use the seasoning sometimes
I realise I don't eat a typical asian diet
Neither do I. I tend to go for something light for lunch like soup or a small portion of noodles or kway chap. Chye png is way too much. I wouldn't normally have fried noodles or carrot cake for breakfast either.
Originally posted by elindra:Ok ma just that they use fats and flour to form patties
At least not some weird chemical or cardboard.
Die from heart attack nia LOL
ya
Originally posted by sbst275:
ya
The seaweed-wrapped chicken from the frozen food sections is mostly fat too.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Neither do I. I tend to go for something light for lunch like soup or a small portion of noodles or kway chap. Chye png is way too much. I wouldn't normally have fried noodles or carrot cake for breakfast either.
recently the kopitiam nearby my house no serve noodles for supper anymore, so my supper has become cai png >___>
and yes, morning I would prefer noodles as well... bread leaves me hungry WAYYYY b4 lunch...
sbst... dun tell me evening u immediately go buy both and try ah?
I keep forgetting to buy air tight container for my teas >__>
and yes~ I manage to get someone to get for me a nice blend of tea from msia...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:I keep forgetting to buy air tight container for my teas >__>
and yes~ I manage to get someone to get for me a nice blend of tea from msia...
what tea do you normally take?