Originally posted by fudgester:Been trying to submit a paper I wrote to a research journal.
First time they rejected it, they gave me a list of formatting issues with my paper (different referencing system, etc). So fine, I corrected all the problems, and resubmitted.
They rejected the paper again, and gave me another new set of formatting issues. So I corrected the problems and resubmitted again.
They just got rejected it a third time. Now they claim there is yet another new set of formatting issues.
Freak lah.... why can't they just tell me all the problems all at once?
Originally posted by fudgester:Been trying to submit a paper I wrote to a research journal.
First time they rejected it, they gave me a list of formatting issues with my paper (different referencing system, etc). So fine, I corrected all the problems, and resubmitted.
They rejected the paper again, and gave me another new set of formatting issues. So I corrected the problems and resubmitted again.
They just got rejected it a third time. Now they claim there is yet another new set of formatting issues.
Freak lah.... why can't they just tell me all the problems all at once?
i've encountered these types of people many times..
they give it the once-through and then send it back instead of looking at it properly, detailing stuff then giving it back to you...
and if you ask them for their specific requirements, they become very very very vague about them...
hell, one of them was my ex-boss.. and insanely, after the many "changes", it'll amazingly go back to what it was like during the first draft!
Originally posted by the Bear:i've encountered these types of people many times..
they give it the once-through and then send it back instead of looking at it properly, detailing stuff then giving it back to you...
and if you ask them for their specific requirements, they become very very very vague about them...
hell, one of them was my ex-boss.. and insanely, after the many "changes", it'll amazingly go back to what it was like during the first draft!
The general guidelines the journal gave were rather vague. Anyway they were very similar to another journal I had submitted to previously (with no problems). The only reason why I am not submitting to that latter journal is because this paper deals with a totally unrelated subject area.
If they want me to conform to their standards, then fine, I'll do it. I even taught myself the Vancouver standard of referencing even though I've been using APA for years.
All I ask is for them to clearly define the formatting guidelines, and to just do one full, thorough edit before returning it to me for changes.
If this submission gets rejected, I'll go postal. Seriously.
Good morning.
Reposting this from my fb.

That's yesterday's ST.
The saga started when the youngest daughter of the writer buang the car and went to claim insurance.
Insurance was claimed and NTUC suddenly terminated the policy.
NTUC's side of story was that the person was driving at crazy speed and beat the red-light after it was on for 5 seconds (!!!) causing a huge accident (more than 2 vehicles involved). So NTUC terminated the insurance and steadfastly refused to insure the writer despite his shrill cries of discrimination and what-not because of dangerous driving.
I found this very interesting.
I have been at the receiving end of a$$-hole drivers and I support NTUC. After all, when we sign the paper, there had already been a clause stating that NTUC reserved the right to terminate the contract if that happened.
So that guy signed it without thinking carefully and now decided to kpkb after nearly killing people?
Worse. There are people who think like him!
"Accidents are inevitable"
Just got a terrible phone call.....
Not going into details, but suffice to say someone screwed up, and now I have to go into fire fighting mode....
Crap lah.... this is a total waste of my office hours! ![]()
I am sick and tired of having to clean up the mess of other people! ![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:Beating red light at high speed is a no no…
5 sec means a lot alrdy leh…
That is worse than a rookie mistake, but I wonder who's lying about the "poor record".
Originally posted by sbst275:which leads me to the pt I’ve always been telling the bus nutters…
They hate buses slowing down etc, want to chiong only… I said bef, wait till you reach the junction and the signal suddenly turns amber… can you brake safely in time…
But some drivers need to learn how to keep a steady foot on the throttle, instead of a constant cycle of accelerating and letting go which makes everyone car-sick.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:But some drivers need to learn how to keep a steady foot on the throttle, instead of a constant cycle of accelerating and letting go which makes everyone car-sick.
No. Not anymore.
I refuse to travel around if possible.
Big waste of time.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:Good morning.
Reposting this from my fb.
That's yesterday's ST.
The saga started when the youngest daughter of the writer buang the car and went to claim insurance.
Insurance was claimed and NTUC suddenly terminated the policy.
NTUC's side of story was that the person was driving at crazy speed and beat the red-light after it was on for 5 seconds (!!!) causing a huge accident (more than 2 vehicles involved). So NTUC terminated the insurance and steadfastly refused to insure the writer despite his shrill cries of discrimination and what-not because of dangerous driving.
I found this very interesting.
I have been at the receiving end of a$$-hole drivers and I support NTUC. After all, when we sign the paper, there had already been a clause stating that NTUC reserved the right to terminate the contract if that happened.
So that guy signed it without thinking carefully and now decided to kpkb after nearly killing people?
Worse. There are people who think like him!
"Accidents are inevitable"
did NTUC pay out first then terminate?
busy morning in the office
Originally posted by the Bear:did NTUC pay out first then terminate?
Yes they did....
The bone of contention was the sudden termination.
And NTUC has already said its piece.
SINGAPORE - NTUC Income's decision not to renew the motor insurance policy for Mr Tan Yau Cher's family ("No insurance renewal for dangerous driving..."; Wednesday) in reply to Mr Tan's letter ("Don't let insurers leave car owners in renewal fix"; last Saturday) has created much discussion.
Clearly, opinions are divided and we thank the public for sharing their views.
We would also like to explain our decision.
First, the facts.
The policy was not held in Mr Tan's name but an older daughter's name - the policyholder.
The accident happened when his younger daughter was driving the car.
A video provided compelling evidence of absolute recklessness which cannot be ignored.
Generally, when we insure a motor policyholder, we insure the totality of risk and this will include accidents caused by drivers authorised or allowed by the policyholder.
In order to keep the rates of premiums affordable to the larger pool of our motor policyholders - the vast majority of whom are safe drivers - we exclude policyholders whose claims experience is excessively poor due to their own fault.
Mr Tan's older daughter's claims experience falls into this category. Our standard operating procedure is not to invite such cases for renewal.
In his letter, Mr Tan mentioned that other insurers have provided him quotes, albeit with high premiums.
These rates are reflective of the risks associated with unsafe driving behaviour. I would encourage him to accept one of these offers.
However, if Mr Tan's older daughter wishes to continue her insurance with NTUC Income, I invite her to contact us, but we would exclude her younger sister from the coverage.
This is an unusual practice for family cars. However, this is what we need to do so that we can provide an existing policyholder with the choice to insure with us.
Nevertheless, I would like to add that the premiums will still carry a significant loading.
This is necessary to deter anti-selection, the process where we inadvertently attract family units with bad driving behaviour to insure with us.
Such anti-selection would cause our overall premiums to rise - to the detriment of the majority of our motor policyholders.
We welcome this opportunity to explain our decision.
Arising from this, we will make clearer in our motor insurance contracts that if you drive recklessly, you put the renewability of your car insurance at risk.
Tan Suee Chieh
Chief Executive (NTUC Income)
well, they paid up, they honoured their contract...
and since the guy trying to get insured is reckless and has proven to be reckless, this would be in the category of "uninsurable".. NTUC has the right to refuse to insure him.. and would be good for the rest of us as a maniac is legally taken off the streets
And the original explaination.
MR TAN Yau Cher wrote that NTUC Income rejected his motor insurance renewal application for his family car, following a claim he made for an accident that happened when his daughter was driving it ("Don't let insurers leave car owners in renewal fix"; last Saturday).
We have clear video footage of the accident submitted by third-party claimants.
The evidence shows Mr Tan's daughter speeding towards the traffic junction and failing to stop at the red light.
More than five seconds had elapsed between the traffic light turning red and Ms Tan crossing the junction.
Her car collided with two vehicles, injuring a driver who had the right of way and causing damage to all three vehicles.
Ms Tan herself has seen this video footage.
NTUC Income never disputed that this was an accident and we accepted the claim.
However, we take a strong stand against dangerous driving and any disregard for the safety of people and property.
Given the evidence on hand, we decided not to renew the policy.
Peh Chee Keong
Vice-President and Head,
Motor Insurance
NTUC Income
And then there are those people who slam other insurance companies from keeping quiet.
I dunno if they realise NTUC income is firstly: The largest here for car insurance.
Secondly: The govt in guise.
Actually why are they even unhappy that a crazy person is taken off the road before someone gets killed?![]()
Simple: because they're equally crazy.
Frankly speaking, the presence of crazy drivers is the main reason why I shy away from driving on the roads.
I'd rather let the bus driver handle the craziness.
Okay, I'm going postal.....
The last time they rejected my paper, they said 'Please include figure captions in the main text'. Which I did, in the locations where the figures are supposed to appear.
Now, they rejected it yet again, saying 'Please include figure captions in a list at the end of the main text'.
Okay, that's it..... I'm gonna go flip some tables...... ![]()
morning guys
looks like fudge didnt have a good start to the day