Safe.....? The pill, according to some stats I have, has a 75% [or more, i can't recall] success rate of preventing pregnancies.. Evra patch dunno. Should be effective bah, according to the article.Originally posted by kurai:Things like the pill, the Evra patch...... erm is it safe or not?![]()
Fwat?!?! 75% ONLY?!?Originally posted by MooKu:Safe.....? The pill, according to some stats I have, has a 75% [or more, i can't recall] success rate of preventing pregnancies.. Evra patch dunno. Should be effective bah, according to the article.
But then again hardly any form of contraception ensures 100% effectiveness unless you go for sterilization or something..![]()
What? I meant that only 25% or less of people who take the Pill get pregnant! Erm. I think it's more. I can't remember the exact success rate but I know it's one of the highest. Even the condom can't match it. But that's according to my notes lar.Originally posted by kurai:Fwat?!?! 75% ONLY?!?
I think i better stick to be trusty old methods of condys... i cannot risk getting my gf getting pregnant now.
Haiz.... and i was hoping to leave those rubber behind me... they get in the way of things!
NOV 23, 2003, The Straits Times
Taking the pledge
Six thousand youths have sworn off pre-marital sex to 'save themselves for marriage'
By Tan Tarn How
A PRO-VIRGINITY lobby group has since May last year convinced more than 6,000 teenagers and young adults to pledge not to have pre-marital sex, and now plans to hold an Abstinence Day and a Purity March down Orchard Road on Valentine's Day next year.
Called Focus On Family, it is also organising a series of seminars next week on preventing homosexuality and reforming homosexuals.
Set up here in 2000, it is an offshoot of a worldwide United States-based movement that promotes Christianity by preserving traditional and family values.
Its most popular programme is the No Apologies workshop that tries to get teenagers to remain virgins and 'save themselves for marriage'.
The group's vice-president for programmes, Mrs Joanna Koh-Hoe, said that about eight in 10 of the 8,000 attendees in the last 1 1/2 years have signed this abstinence pledge:
'Believing in saving myself for marriage, I make a commitment to myself, my family, my friends, my future spouse and my future children to be sexually abstinent from this day onward until the day I enter a lifelong, committed, monogamous marriage.'
Students from 28 schools, including Raffles Girls' School, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) and East View Secondary, have attended workshops, as have teens and adults from churches, technical institutes and youth organisations. Convicted juveniles under probation have also participated.
Said Mrs Koh-Hoe, 29: 'Our message is this: If I have pre-marital sex, I am not a person of good character. In fact, any sex outside of marriage is immoral whatever the age of the person.'
The four-hour workshop also warns participants of the health risks of pre-marital sex and the unreliability of condoms.
Its funds have come mainly from the Ministry of Community Development and Sports (MCDS) and the students' Edusave accounts. But now, the ministry has decided to fund only non-school workshops as the Education Ministry has a sex education programme called Growing Years.
Meanwhile, Focus On Family hopes to spread the abstinence message next year through its Feb 14 march in the city.
This week, it is holding seminars to show teachers and counsellors how to stop people from 'becoming homosexual'.
It believes homosexuality is sinful; that homosexuals are made, not born; and that they are not 'normal, healthy, everyday people'.
Focus On Family is a registered charity whose mission is 'to cooperate with the Holy Spirit in disseminating the Gospel of Jesus Christ to as many people as possible, and, specifically, to accomplish that objective by helping to preserve traditional values and the institution of the family'.
It runs an hour-long radio programme on 93.8FM every Monday promoting family values and also holds workshops on parenting and marriage.
The charity has four full-time staff and is funded by fees from its workshop, MCDS and donations. Its president is retiree Tan Thuan Seng, 62, who owns the group's premises, a three-storey terrace house in Niven Road near Selegie, that he is letting it use for free.
Focus On Family has also trained workshop facilitators from the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (Muis), one of whom said that the group's values on pre-marital sex are the same as in Islam.
Asked if people are pressured to sign the pledge, Mrs Koh-Hoe said: 'Sometimes, like when most want to sign and there is this poor kid who doesn't.
'I remember one school where a few were quite adamant that they did not want to be abstinent. It can work both ways, and we prefer to use peer pressure to our advantage.'
Psychiatrist Ng Koon Hock said most people would agree that guidance is good for teenagers who aren't mature enough to decide what is best when it comes to sex. But convincing adults, especially couples planning to get married, people already cohabiting, or older singles, would be hard, he said.
*LoL* No lar... it's 97.5%. heehee...Originally posted by www:condom is conservatively safe around 90% and above.
patch is 75% safe and above
so if i use both of them together, isnt it like 165% safe?![]()
yaya... u wish.Originally posted by www:condom is conservatively safe around 90% and above.
patch is 75% safe and above
so if i use both of them together, isnt it like 165% safe?![]()
abstinence.Originally posted by angel^devil:safe.... my ger fren had a cap inserted in her vagina to prevent pregnancy but in the end she also got pregnant.... so how safe is safe den???
wah!!! condoms so low meh? (shit!! i kanchiong liao....) does the brand matter?Originally posted by Haze|:i am not sure about the patch... anyway it's new.. so noone really has tried..
but for the pill.. it is about 97% successful in preventing pregnancies... for the injection, 97% also.
for those using condoms.. it is only 75%. if spermicide is used on the condom, then it may hit 90%.
Do you consider yourself informed? Why dun u tell me more about what u know? ANd, do you have any links to your "online info"?Originally posted by jOhO:cannot be lar.. hope u all are getting ur facts rite.
the contraceptive pill is much higher than that. fuc.ked my gf silly for 2 years while she was on it and had no problems. ok pardon the lack of charm in my description but yeah the point is there![]()
as for side-effects, she actually had none, instead, it regulated her cycle and eased her cramps. indeed, some doctors prescribe hormone pills to girls who have very bad/irregular periods with excessive bleeding etc etc.
i find that many young singaporean girls are extremely "hormone pill adverse" quoting the side effects as the biggest fear. my advice is to fully inform urself from the RIGHT sources before u make a decision on which form of contraption u wanna use, be it as a bf/gf, married, or just casual.
an inform decision isn't one formed from the posts in this forum, go see a doc. and believe u me, some docs these days also dunno jack sh[/i]it... maybe even go to a family planning centre.. or watever they call it.
there's quite a bit of info online... but hope u read those from reliable sources.
i know enuff, to keep me and my gf childless when we don't want them, without her gaining weight, having pimple outbreaks, dementia or cancer (that i know of!). so yeah, informed enuff.Originally posted by kurai:Do you consider yourself informed? Why dun u tell me more about what u know? ANd, do you have any links to your "online info"?