haha...mine is quite gentleman oneOriginally posted by skeujin:aww... cummon... there is a little prev in all our pants...![]()
Mel Carter's Topic are always the hottest in town ..Originally posted by skeujin:wow... 91 posts n 811 views in 3hrs... not bad...
If there is a war, I will be on my way to the hawaii beach enjoying myself for a tan and watch how you people fight ... Ok fight like how you been train for and I will be watching how you people lose . Shooting at targets and shooting at real people are totally different . You pause for one second in front of the enemy and you are worm food ...Originally posted by Twincat:Hi i am new here, also pardon my spelling and wordings...after reading so much post in this thread feels like giving a bit of my comments...
Firstly, Yes Singapore is merely small country compare to any other country. Given a situation that a large country (and self suficient- one that have raw resource besides manpower) initiate a war, Singapore may not be able to hold the defence for long. However, given technology and a standing army of defence, we can deter such kind of intention. We can give the so call invader one H3LL of a fight even if we were to lose it in the end. Can you image if Singapore have no army to defence, no training, no fit soldiers? Easy target i might say. We will not be sitting infront of computer arguing about this issues right now.
I have to agree that we are a little late compare to the ladies at starting out our work. But think of it is way...If u can die for loves ones..scareficing 2.5 years and more of time to equip you with better skills to protect them? Why not? Unless you(those abled ones) 'Keng' through your ns time...then too bad, u might just be plain lazy.
there is a chinese saying that translate something like this...
take suffering in your stride...and you will eventually be an edge better than others. No pain no gain.
By the way, i am a regular myself...to see some 1 actually whine about going through NS...makes me feel a bit sad for Singapore. But at least there are a majority of us who will still fight for land that we proudly stand.
Cheers to the Patriots!
oh i see no wonder most of the high post in the government are chinese rather than the malay ...right ?Originally posted by SumOne:This conversation can go on forever, because there will always be two groups of people who voice out, first group are those who think that NS is a waste of time and that there is no need to defend singapore. The second group believes that singapore should be defended and national service is exactly what we need to proptect singapore.
I would say both sides are correct. Why? Have patience to read my reply then.
National Service was made with good intentions in mind. The singapore government when it first set up, realised the dangers of relying on outsiders to defend singapore. The British barely put up a good fight, and the japanese while they were here carried out atrocities against the chinese here. Hence, there was a need that singapore have its own defence system and a credible one at that.
Secondly, this may sound touchy but I am just trying to be objective. Singapore is surrounded by muslim countries. No disrespect to singapore's neighbours but religon can be used by fanatics as a reason to wage war on any non-muslim country. Singapore would be a likely target then. So probably, it's good to be ready.
However, even though national service was started with good intentions in mind, the intentions have been lost altogether. People no longer remember the real reason for national service. And in fact, see it more as a burden than anything else.
Singaporeans nowadays are very pampered and have all the material comforts they need. Singaporeans lead a life without war and struggle not in minefields but struggle to get good grades or struggle to get their 5 Cs. War probably would never cross the mind of these well-fed and pampered people. Moreover, as compared to some other countries, singapore is relatively more abundant with job oppurtunities so with so many other jobs to choose, who would want to join the army.
Then, there is the fact that RSAF is consisted mostly of NSFs. Young men who are reluctantly made to wear that ugly green uniform and made to say the SAF pledge every year. NSFs are there for only 2 or 2 1/2 years. It's not their career and usually not the path they want to go in life. It's not like you get more money for being more siao on either. True, maybe some places you get more off days, but what's the point if you can't take your off. So basically, the army is made up of people who don't do their best for army and then again, who can blame them?
As I already said, singaporeans have other jobs to choose, so usually, capable people who know they can do better outside would definitely choose jobs elsewhere but the army. And quite often, regulars are those who have no choice but to work in army and don't have the ability to find better jobs elsewhere.
Actually, I think this is a long reply from me and honestly, i myself am getting sian. But just wanted to share a bit of my views. Overall, national service was started with good intentions in mind, but it seems the purpose of national service has been forgotten. It's also the people in army that make army life such a pain.
Osama Bin Laden could be the next one doing so . So please god tell me earlier if that prick Osama is sending a bomb to us as a national birthday present so I can well be on my way to the hawaii beach with all my money and passport .Originally posted by SumOne:Just to add in a bit more, some of you may singapore can't be defended, just one bomb flyover and singapore's gone. Quite true but who would want to. What would anyone gain from bombing us? What would US, China or any of the world super powers have to gain from sending a nuke on us? They have the power but as yet, no reason to do so.
That brings to the point that NS must be enforce because little will join. Yeah those are the ppls...so i must change...Originally posted by SumOne:Singaporeans nowadays are very pampered and have all the material comforts they need. Singaporeans lead a life without war and struggle not in minefields but struggle to get good grades or struggle to get their 5 Cs. War probably would never cross the mind of these well-fed and pampered people. Moreover, as compared to some other countries, singapore is relatively more abundant with job oppurtunities so with so many other jobs to choose, who would want to join the army.
It is not being 'siao on',it is more to do what you need to do...those that 'siao on' just want to be in the light, missing the whole point what he really need to do. Commercial work also have similiar phenominal. Too hard, not happy just quit... too pampered, can't take hardship.Originally posted by SumOne:Then, there is the fact that RSAF is consisted mostly of NSFs. Young men who are reluctantly made to wear that ugly green uniform and made to say the SAF pledge every year. NSFs are there for only 2 or 2 1/2 years. It's not their career and usually not the path they want to go in life. It's not like you get more money for being more siao on either. True, maybe some places you get more off days, but what's the point if you can't take your off. So basically, the army is made up of people who don't do their best for army and then again, who can blame them?
haha this is a bit long/unfair liao...sorry dun mean to start flaming someone(no pun intended) but i just wanted to discuss this...Originally posted by SumOne:As I already said, singaporeans have other jobs to choose, so usually, capable people who know they can do better outside would definitely choose jobs elsewhere but the army. And quite often, regulars are those who have no choice but to work in army and don't have the ability to find better jobs elsewhere.
cos they are the majority here, jus take a look at our friendly neigbhours...most of the high post in the government are malay n not chinese even though they are more well off n educatedOriginally posted by Mel Carter:oh i see no wonder most of the high post in the government are chinese rather than the malay ...right ?
I know what to do when the buttons pressed.Originally posted by wuming78:once again its heartening to noe tt most ppl here (at least those who responded) were sensible enuff to understand the need for ns however inconvenient and dislikeable it is.
for those who choose to hate it, its their personal choice. at least for the rest of us, we noe wat we will do when the button is pressed.
Originally posted by laurence82:I shoot those likes of Mel Carter first, followed by horrijiber officers.
Then I confront the enemies.
haven seen u ard b4.. welcomez! interesting topic to start off here huh?Originally posted by Twincat:![]()
Originally posted by Wala:well said...
Im currently serving my NS.... Yes, at times I really feel like serving NS is a comeplete waste of time................
[b]BUT. dats becos Im serving as a god damed clerk....(i got down graded due to slipped disc) I feel so useless. All I can do is sit around and do data entry....I'm serving my NS in SCDF. Most of u guys might think SCDF do nuttin, damn lobo. That's where u guys are wrong. Who'se there to give 1st aid in a serious accident? Who's there to fight the fire when ur house is buring? Those guys out there are NSFs, juz liek most of you out there. Without them, things can go horribly wrong... i think u guys noe wad I mean.
My point here is being that is if no 1 is willing to serve NS, who else will be there for our own people? The past 2 world wars have proven a lot to us. There is no one to count on except ourselves.
There is this song in the army dat goes: "Have u ever wondered? Why must we serve? COS WE LOVE OUR LAND AND WE WAN IT TO BE FREE, TO BE FREE! Go listen to this song... If u still dun farkin get it... get outta Singapore. Go hide some where else. We dun need losers like u in our Motherland[/b]
thanks...i m quite new to the forum...this thread tingles my senses, must give my comments...Originally posted by wuming78:haven seen u ard b4.. welcomez! interesting topic to start off here huh?
u mentioned u a reg. wat u signed on as?
so des! wich unit r u working at?Originally posted by Twincat:thanks...i m quite new to the forum...this thread tingles my senses...
Airforce S.tech.
Thanks, base in Sembawang...choppersOriginally posted by wuming78:so des! wich unit r u working at?
in any case u r welcomed to the Singapore Armed Forces forum too to share ur experiences and read abt others'
(paiseh do some business.)[/url]
Originally posted by Wala:Me salute Wala.
Im currently serving my NS.... Yes, at times I really feel like serving NS is a comeplete waste of time................
[b]BUT. dats becos Im serving as a god damed clerk....(i got down graded due to slipped disc) I feel so useless. All I can do is sit around and do data entry....I'm serving my NS in SCDF. Most of u guys might think SCDF do nuttin, damn lobo. That's where u guys are wrong. Who'se there to give 1st aid in a serious accident? Who's there to fight the fire when ur house is buring? Those guys out there are NSFs, juz liek most of you out there. Without them, things can go horribly wrong... i think u guys noe wad I mean.
My point here is being that is if no 1 is willing to serve NS, who else will be there for our own people? The past 2 world wars have proven a lot to us. There is no one to count on except ourselves.
There is this song in the army dat goes: "Have u ever wondered? Why must we serve? COS WE LOVE OUR LAND AND WE WAN IT TO BE FREE, TO BE FREE! Go listen to this song... If u still dun farkin get it... get outta Singapore. Go hide some where else. We dun need losers like u in our Motherland[/b]