Tax policy is all about "income" to gahmen wat..Originally posted by m@ngoesteen:smoking is bad no doubt bout it.... but y do smoker suffer the most in terms of tax increase....
btw the tax of beer decrease by 7%
dosent make sence when i hear people saying that government wanna indirectly make us quit smoking by increasing taxes....
wat about drinking? drink more good for health?
come to think of y beer tax decrease is maybe because singapore produce Tiger beer so that it can encourage people to drink more because its cheaper and thus gain more profit? i see double standard here...
will have to quit smoking habit soon i guess...
My thoughts exactly!!Originally posted by m@ngoesteen:smoking is bad no doubt bout it.... but y do smoker suffer the most in terms of tax increase....
btw the tax of beer decrease by 7%
dosent make sence when i hear people saying that government wanna indirectly make us quit smoking by increasing taxes....
wat about drinking? drink more good for health?
come to think of y beer tax decrease is maybe because singapore produce Tiger beer so that it can encourage people to drink more because its cheaper and thus gain more profit? i see double standard here...
will have to quit smoking habit soon i guess...
what's the use ? I rather not have it . Do you think they are so kind to give money huh ? they increased the gst and you only get maybe $1200 total but guess in future when you buy car , marry , buy house all these things , they are taking back more 10 times the amount they give you moron . do the maths before speaking up for the government moron . Oh yes LKY can use that money to shut that bloody big mouth of his and his son . still own me $1.50 assholeOriginally posted by greyskymorning:y no one compliment him when he gives out ERS n NSS![]()
to get your ERS, u have too top up your CPF with $50 cash. he gives you $250 in a form of 'bond'. since most ppl dont cash in the ERS immediately, the govt still benefits since it now has millions of liquid funds on hand......Originally posted by greyskymorning:y no one compliment him when he gives out ERS n NSS![]()
Its wrong to classify beer as just a drink, ever heard of alcholism? Why are there more AA(alchoalic annonymous) then i ever heard than for CA(cigarette annonymous)?? Actual fact is drinking causes more harm to you than smoking, considering both health n social viewsOriginally posted by dumbdumb!:cuz beer is a drink, smoking is a kind of drug use.
kids as young as primary 4 started smoking. and its probably true that there are more underage smokers than drinkers
haha, going by your logic, since ppl still smuggle drugs, what for we ban them n enforce death penalty?Originally posted by dumbdumb!:of course they can ban smoking, like they ban gum. but ppl still smuggle them in.
since its not going to stop u guys from smoking, might as well earn your easy cash
hahah thats wat i was gonna reply tooOriginally posted by marlboro:haha, going by your logic, since ppl still smuggle drugs, what for we ban them n enforce death penalty?
Since its not gng to stop ppl from taking drugs, might as well earn easy cash rite?![]()
We each have our own lifes,The only real freedom in singapore is which u can decide wat u want to do with ur own life.wats the point of having a gd health living to a 100 yrs old when u never felt that u lived ur life to the fullest.still death will knock on ur door sooner or later.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:if cannot take it, then dun smoke..
what u complaining abt.. its not like smoking is good for you. if anything, he is just using a hard method to help u quit.
basically, if u want to smoke, pay for it, if not, quit, which is good for you.![]()
smoking = hving a life, truely lived life to the fullest?Originally posted by Xicq:We each have our own lifes,The only real freedom in singapore is which u can decide wat u want to do with ur own life.wats the point of having a gd health living to a 100 yrs old when u never felt that u lived ur life to the fullest.still death will knock on ur door sooner or later.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:smoking = hving a life, truely lived life to the fullest?to each his own, what wrong wif this statement?
do u even know what u are typing, or are u just anyhow whacking just to defend or even justify your habit of smoking?u seem more like the one who is blindly defending the govt.. u from some govt dept aren't u? ;p
in FireIce's own words "in the end smokers still smoke"quote me, in the end, we(smokers n non-smokers) are all dead
do you have the freedom to quit? u're just so addicted.. you can't. is this the "freedom" you boldly claim? is this the so called "living life to the fullest" being chained and bound to this bad habit?did it ever occur to u that smokers smoke not becos they cant quit, but rather they dun feel like quitting? THIS is the freedom to choose as we tok abt. we rather be bounded and chained to our own prefered habits(who are u to tell us wat is gd or bad anyway) then bounded n chained by the govt telling us wat to do.