actualli kids r by nature selfish - this is normal in the growing up process, to protect themselves and their needs for survival. and where the kids are sheltered for most of their lifes and do not need for fend for themselves early on in life, the tendency is tt the stage where their nature is selfish will last longer.Originally posted by snk86:i am begining to see you as one thing, the typical singaporean brat, who don't know a bit come forum here talk like you know alot, yet when you don't even know a thing, that is why i always feel sad when i see singaporean teenagers, dun care abt the world, dun care abt their nation, only care about themselve............
Yes, I have to agree with that.Originally posted by snk86:i am begining to see you as one thing, the typical singaporean brat, who don't know a bit come forum here talk like you know alot, yet when you don't even know a thing, that is why i always feel sad when i see singaporean teenagers, dun care abt the world, dun care abt their nation, only care about themselve............
Yes, its true that we're a small country and if you say we can't win war.. maybe you can say that the invention of atomic bomb no need soliders in every country if you say that.. because if you want to win a war, drop the bomb.. heheOriginally posted by Ayukat:In my opinion, National Service should be made optional and for both men and women. National Service is a waste of time because it costs us 2.5 years of our entire lifetime and Singapore is too small to even win a war. Spending 2.5 years doing National Service rots our brain, we will probably forget everything we learn in school which means that we need to spend extra time reading up about stuff again. Although its true that National Service builds up confidence but only for a minority because more people are being scolded and shouted at during National Service than scolding and shouting at people. National Service only provides us with a measly income every month where we could be earning tens of thousands contributing to the nation's economy during that 2.5 years. And also since National Service is being forced and not volunteered, who can ensure that during a war the soldiers will stay behind and fight for the country instead of running away? In the past, people claimed that women contribution to the country is by giving birth but nowadays the birthrate has decreased drastically does that mean they are still doing their " National Service " properly? Isn't it time they contribute 2.5 years of their entire life to the nation too?
How dare you talk FAIRNESS. If it is really fair, why are we being forced and why are the girls exempted?Originally posted by snk86:it is not abt losing a few recruits. it is about PATRONISIM! and FAIRNESS! sigh, wuming, i am wondering how will singapore survive in the next generation with so much teenagers thinking like this brat
The girls can choose to not have a child. Who the heck would have a third child these days. Which means they are not contributing and you think thats fair?Originally posted by nightyoung:Yes, its true that we're a small country and if you say we can't win war.. maybe you can say that the invention of atomic bomb no need soliders in every country if you say that.. because if you want to win a war, drop the bomb.. hehe
A country without soldiers is a not country because others soldiers from other countries can simply march in and take over and over ride the laws in Singapore. Imagine soldiers killing without mercy and humilating the Women. What if the victims are your loved ones or worse.. you're the victim. History textbooks area good enough for a lesson in the WWII. Maybe you can say that who can ensure all those ppl will fight off the enemy.. you might be surprised.. in a war, those who don't know how to fire a round or handle weapon will want to fight.. Its because they can't stand the way they are treated .. this true if the loved ones died in the enemy hands.. sure you want revenge??
Its true that Singapore is a small country. You know that our army is build for deterence to aggressor and not becoming the aggressor.
2.5 Years working in a huge organization is lucky man... You won't have the chance next time unless you run a army
I think that all Singaporean man whether you're PES A to E who had served the country should remain proud irregardless of rank.
Some times you might hate Army but if war really starts
you won't think that its a good idea.
Its true that Man has disadvantage by going to the Army after JC or Diploma.. if you look it taht way, you might see that Woman is at disadvantage too.. because their national service is even longer on the thought of having a third child.
Ok..
Anyway, 2.5 YEARS IS FAST.. BEFORE YOU KNEW IT... ITS OVER..
WHY NOT SPEND THESE YEARS think about what you want to do in life??
oh yes i noe. i was responding to snk's comment tt singaporean teenagers r selfish, and stating tt in fact all kids r selfish to a certain extent - its natural.Originally posted by SmallPanda:SNK and wuming,
You two have totally missed the point of this thread.
and the point is to slag NS, not to discuss its merits.Originally posted by SmallPanda:SNK and wuming,
You two have totally missed the point of this thread.
the next time you get robbed, remember to tell the robber it is your right to keep your property.Originally posted by Ayukat:Ahem, I didn't fail Social Studies. Look at Japan, they aren't allowed to have an army. Are they attacked? Maybe they do have a special army like someone said before but what can it do? Do you think its good enough to fight a war? And how come nobody answered this question? Is it right to force people against their own will to serve NS? Human rights! Why are we being deprived of it?
WTF??! Are you stupid? What on earth are you blabbing on about? If somebody invades my property, I will kill him/her. But what has this got to do with NS or this thread? Did you even read it?Originally posted by nismoS132:the next time you get robbed, remember to tell the robber it is your right to keep your property.
on the same note, during a war, remember to tell the enemy it is not their right to enter your country.
i wonder wat has led u to the conclusion tt we are pro-war?Originally posted by SmallPanda:Nismo,
Oh okay I understand your post now. You are saying that NS is necessary to defend Singapore. I disagree, I think there will be more than enough volunteers who would love to go to war. Singapore is generally very pro-war. Every time there is a discussion like this there are always plenty of people for war, you, SNK, wuming, fireice etc, while only a few are against it. It isn't like Singapore will have no army without NS. I am sure there will be enough even without it.![]()
Originally posted by wuming78:another potential fugue lah... dun waste time
i wonder wat has led u to the conclusion tt we are pro-[b]war?
willingness to fight for our country does not amount to being belligerent. [/b]
Originally posted by kopiosatu:another potential fugue lah... dun waste time![]()
hear hear............aiya, just one thing lah, you see this guy how he talk and phrase you can see he is also not even fimiliar with how a country and army works..........Originally posted by nismoS132:it's not about being pro war, it's about building a sizeable force that will cause others not to even think about invading us.
prevention is better than cure.
ironically, this argument was started by a kid.Originally posted by SmallPanda:Christ, this is like debating with kids.
This thread is officially derailed.![]()
chauvanism is the word..Originally posted by kindaichi83:I think it not right or wrong to say whether or not you support NS. Some people are just pariotic about their country and I have friends like that. I (a person who thinks that NS is one waste of time), on hearing that how they enjoy army lives make me realise that army does have it good points. But for those that are pariotic, do not blame us for thinking that money and time are more important than protecting the country. Singaporeans are kiasu, we would'nt want to lose to our female counterparts. But they always have a headstart of us. Thus, most feel that this is the reason why people hate NS. I'm sure that when the time comes, this people will defintely come out to maybe not die for their country but defintely willingly to die for their family and they will come out and fight.