Ppl are encourage to buy the cock-ford dictionary should they dont understand Singapore unique languagesOriginally posted by AzRaeL:I wonder which sounds worse and more offensive to the ear.
Singapore English or Singapore Chinese.
Singapore English with its jarring Idiosyncracies and Chinese, Malay words thrown in.
Singapore Chinese - Chinese words generously peppered generously with English verbs and nouns.
and DO NOT fricken say that "ang moh damned chim".. if you cannot understand, ask or find out!!was shot at mi b4 leh
: don't just ignore.. ignorance is bliss only to idiots...
Granted that there are many words and expressions available in Chinese that the English language does not have any adequate equivalent, but there are those who speak Chinese and mangle in a whole slew of English words which there are Chinese words for.Originally posted by elindra:One of the "problems" living in a multi-racial country.
Most Singaporeans can speak either language fluently but due to the meaning of words being more appropriate in the other language, they substitute it in when speaking either english or mandarin.
I don't see it as a problem per se because language is nothing but a form of communication and as long as you are understood, it serves its purpose.
wahahahha and then what Happened?Originally posted by SilverPal:An example given to me was when a Brit guy was in Aus. After a few drinks, the hot aussie babe who were drinking with him stood up and said 'I'm going back to my room, catch ya later' and left.
Now, here is the problem: "Catch ya later" means to see you later literally to the brit, but to the Aussies it means the same as goodbye.
My brit friend had the impression that he was being invited to her room.
you're from malaysia, isin't it?Originally posted by NeonTetra:aiya..tidak susah la.....we all like to speak jampalang english and madarin mah....mei you she mo ta bu liao......kalau tidak tahu wat i saying..jus ask lor.....
nope. singapuraOriginally posted by lamo:you're from malaysia, isin't it?
and here silverpal's words served its purposeOriginally posted by AzRaeL:wahahahha and then what Happened?
Did Lancer2004 get involved in this story somehow?
Originally posted by SilverPal:An example given to me was when a Brit guy was in Aus. After a few drinks, the hot aussie babe who were drinking with him stood up and said 'I'm going back to my room, catch ya later' and left.
Now, here is the problem: "Catch ya later" means to see you later literally to the brit, but to the Aussies it means the same as goodbye.
My brit friend had the impression that he was being invited to her room.