Change shift is just excuse for surcharge of $2 during peak hours. Some even turn to change shift sign when approach you. After 4 pm. it very difficult to get taxi. Some even turn to other side of lane when approaching and drove past, whereby there is no customer in it and no change shift sign. After 4 pm, you will see less taxi but more passengers waiting for taxis.Originally posted by swee_heng:[quote]Originally posted by SBS3688Y:
[b]today i was waiting at a taxi stand in Shenton Way at abt 4pm to travel to Upp Sgoon. a taxi came by and the driver asked me where I was going. after telling him my destination, he paused a while and said ok.
in the taxi, i pretended and asked him if he was changing shift. he said its not and he will turn down requests to go to faraway places like Jurong.
how can this taxi driver behave like that? still wanna choose customer?
For your scenario , maybe the driver has something on or changing shift? He may not need to tell you that he is changing shift , judging from what he says you should know. Or maybe there is a heavy jam in the west at that time & thats why he rejects it.
Its verri common which i also encounter b4 . So when each of you start goin in front of each other, you n him/her may end up in another estateOriginally posted by popmynutsy:i that time need go somewhere urgently. then wait cab for around 50 mins +. change waiting place 2 times. later got 1 family come. they stand further than me and is on my left hand sight. the taxi come from right hand side and stop for them. wa, i at that point of time my head blank ready. so i started to scold the taxi driver. he deserve it.![]()
i find it rather difficult to wait for a taxi these days from the CBD during evening peak and even afternoon. dunno why.
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i find it rather difficult to wait for a taxi these days from the CBD during evening peak and even afternoon. dunno why.
maybe due to last min festive shopping rush.... if i spend few hundred dollars buying goodies, what is another $15 taxi?
worse if you are just outside CBD.... esp scotts road 8pm to 11pm ... sometimes i see the pple waiting so long i also pity them...i will pick them if i drop someone off exactly at same spot
Maybe, one word can fit to all these irrespondsible uncles.
"Uncivilised". :)
Originally posted by SBS3688Y:i find it rather difficult to wait for a taxi these days from the CBD during evening peak and even afternoon. dunno why.
Simple, I see those uncles roaming around in the neighbourhood instead of town areas! :D.
I don't understand why but that's the case, especially whenever my school ends, I can always see empty cabs around my school entrance.
Originally posted by BaoBei92:Maybe, one word can fit to all these irrespondsible uncles.
"Uncivilised". :)
we are far from uncivilised... we are making a business decision here.. and fares are not set by us. we merely adjust and respond to it...
naive to think that cabbies are uncivilised... just like everyone else, we have families to feed and to give them the best in life through honest means....
if you are running a business, would you not service more to those who pay you more??? Or would you rather earn less and let your family eat less
how does the peak period and midnight surcharge work now? as long as my journey extends into the peak period, 35% is charged on the fare from when the peak period starts? or on the whole fare?
thanks!
what's the fastest way from amk central to marine parade? just to confirm that i'm right and the taxi driver was wrong... basically he just followed the bus route....
shortest and most direct - should be amk ave3, houg ave 3 all the way to still road then marine parade.
fastest? CTE PIE exit eunos. But I like CTE PIE KPE ECP exit marine parade or marine vista - shiok.
Up to you to tell cabby loh.
I had called for a taxi via Tamah Jurong Service Centre. I had allocated a Premier Silvercab taxi (SHB8098K). I took it with a colleague from 2 Pioneer Crescent to Jurong West on 22 April at 2030h.
The cabby was not driving in his own lane, swerving right and left from time to time. As I was sitting behind the cabby, I could not see what he was drinking and he kept burping. I had checked with my colleague yesterday about this. He was drinking BEER! According to her, he was reek of alcohol. (I didn't smell it as my nose was not sensitive.)
This is ridiculous!
Imagine the responsibility of a taxi driver and the dangers of drink-driving which Singapore Traffic Police had been focusing on islandwide!
Imagine the hazards and dangers or even the life of someone out there if an accident happened!
And here I was taking a taxi whose driver was drinking while ON DUTY!!
lol casper09 :D
i shared a silver cab with my friend ytd and the first destination was my place then my friend's place. we went in to the cab and told the uncle of the 2 destinations and in the end, he overshot and had to make a detour back. my friend told me that the uncle was very angry after i've alighted and asked her why i kept quiet when he passed by, caused him to make a detour and his job is just to drive not remembering the exact places. he even used very rude comparison like "you expect me to send you upstairs? you expect me to wipe your butt after you've shitted?"
i mean he was very very rude to say that because in the first place he didn't even say that he did not know the road well. if he had said that, we would have kept an extra lookout and guided him along. since he did not say anything, we thought he knew his way there and so my friend and i just chatted happily away. if passengers' job is to guide the driver and the driver's job is just to drive and not recognising the place, why would we spend the money to take a cab when we apparently did because we want to relax on our journey home?
really want whine about the taxi fare ah really kill people put fire..![]()
that day raining and rushing for time, so bo pian call for cab at 5.10pm for a short 1km++ ride to yew tee MRT.
normal day: $3
that day: $8.35!!! ![]()
wa lau eh.. best is rainy day peak hour liao can still see taxi stand long long queue..
Originally posted by 105090:really want whine about the taxi fare ah really kill people put fire..
that day raining and rushing for time, so bo pian call for cab at 5.10pm for a short 1km++ ride to yew tee MRT.
normal day: $3
that day: $8.35!!!
wa lau eh.. best is rainy day peak hour liao can still see taxi stand long long queue..
taxis are only used as a last resort (e.g if I'm running late for an appointment or super heavy rain & I'm carrying lots of things) otherwise it would be the trains & buses for me..
As for rainy days, most people would rather spend to get themselves to their destination without getting wet..
up ... before expiry....
Hi Everyone,
I & my wife encounter a very bad experience this morning with a Silver cab driver.Not only he was driving recklessly from the beginning, he even drove to wrong route 3 times! My wifet old him that he was making the wrong turn and that he was driving the longer route.He began to get aggitated and start scolding my wife.I intervene and started to record his conversation when he started to be rude.Asking me and my wife to "shut up" and we are not qualified to tell him on his driving speed(he's driving at 120km/h- I think even a primary school kid know that he is speeding).I told him that my wife is 7 weeks pregnant and he shouldn't speed, but he refuse to listen.I decided to alight the taxi as my wife was shaken by his recklesness. He even got the time to wind down his car window and scream at me and wife "You go and DIE!".
Video[url=http://www.youtube.com/v/wQ4HWOW8Euo]link HERE[/url].
Due the incident, my wife couldn't sleep all night.Doctor diagnose her as mentally traumatised.Thank god nothing affected by in born baby.
Originally posted by argh2003:Hi Everyone,
I & my wife encounter a very bad experience this morning with a Silver cab driver.Not only he was driving recklessly from the beginning, he even drove to wrong route 3 times! My wifet old him that he was making the wrong turn and that he was driving the longer route.He began to get aggitated and start scolding my wife.I intervene and started to record his conversation when he started to be rude.Asking me and my wife to "shut up" and we are not qualified to tell him on his driving speed(he's driving at 120km/h- I think even a primary school kid know that he is speeding).I told him that my wife is 7 weeks pregnant and he shouldn't speed, but he refuse to listen.I decided to alight the taxi as my wife was shaken by his recklesness. He even got the time to wind down his car window and scream at me and wife "You go and DIE!".
Video[url=http://www.youtube.com/v/wQ4HWOW8Euo]link HERE[/url].
Due the incident, my wife couldn't sleep all night.Doctor diagnose her as mentally traumatised.Thank god nothing affected by in born baby.
so sorry to hear that & you ought to take down the necessary details & report it..
anyway, just to let you know that your link doesn't work..
i normally go for comfort... not much of a problem...
Dun burn the whole forest just bcos of few rotten trees.
The problem is that the ratio of company-owned cabs to private taxis is like, 9:1. If the company purchases a certain number of cabs (e.g 2,000), but the number of hirers is smaller (e.g 1,000), the remaining cabs (e.g 1,000) end up in a warehouse or carpark collecting dust. LTA ought to introduce more Yellow-Tops.