Originally posted by laogenjudi:This one is for Chin Eng.......jiat par jin eng...
or let's reverse the situation: long queue waiting for taxi to arrive - ONE taxi came and pick the passenger at the back of the queue... no issue what.... the cab driver's purpose is to make money, anyone paying can take that cab what.... or cab driver want to pick up chio bu only what...
now TS, what if YOU are in the beginning of the queue? How?
go back to that backward country where you come from and jump queue lor!
If you are the taxi driver, would you be STUPID ENOUGH to choose your passenger? You cannot even differentiate between the buyer and seller.
The payer and the payee. Where is your sense of business ? You should go back to your jungle where nobody study business management.
The consumer's choice is: you can choose NOT to take a cab... you can take a bus, take MRT, walk, run, who gives a sh1t as to what you can do?Originally posted by laogenjudi:I am not against queing for taxis. I am appalled at our capitalist cum socialist system. There are many taxi companies, ostensibly to give consumers more choices but in fact to create more managers and directors for the chosen elites. Same for many of the essential services here.
Thousands of taxi drivers are fighting for survival while the big bosses in each taxi company earn big salary. They lay down the rules and if you are not happy they tell you, "You have plenty of choices. Stop complaining."
So where is the consumer's choice?
And do you believe it - I am a part time taxi driver ?
Originally posted by laogenjudi:you can still choose - dial a cab.
[bwhy can't I choose the taxi, more importantly the taxi company, I want?
so cab drivers can choose passengers or not hah, and whey they do, are they stupid hah?Originally posted by laogenjudi:
If you are the taxi driver, would you be STUPID ENOUGH to choose your passenger? You cannot even differentiate between the buyer and seller.
The payer and the payee. Where is your sense of business ? You should go back to your jungle where nobody study business management.
[/quote]
but then when you started this thread you said:
[quote]Originally posted by laogenjudi:Why taxi driver can choose passenger but passenger cannot choose taxi?
Originally posted by laogenjudi:Because you sir, are an irritant.
Ha haa....glad that you are trying to recall my first post.....but please be very specific. All other examples and scenarios were raised by others. I stick to what I have mentioned and they are - for your sake - in point form -
1. There was no passenger queing for taxi at the taxi stand.
2. There were 10 taxis waiting in line
3. They were from various taxi companies
4. So I had the choice, the taxi drivers did not.
5. I happened to be at the end of the taxi line.
6. A Premier silver cab was second from the end of the taxi line.
7. The rest were from other companies.
8. I like to sit in a Premier cab.
Based on [b]ALL THE ABOVE, please answer my question -
Why can't I choose the cab, more importantly the cab company, I prefer??
Originally posted by laogenjudi:1) yes, correct, no passenger in line but got taxi in line correct?
Ha haa....glad that you are trying to recall my first post.....but please be very specific. All other examples and scenarios were raised by others. I stick to what I have mentioned and they are - for your sake - in point form -
Why can't I choose the cab, more importantly the cab company, I prefer??[/b]
Hello who say taxi driver did not have choice !!!Originally posted by laogenjudi:4. So I had the choice, the taxi drivers did not.
.. If u SO DAMN LAZY TO WALK then why take the second last cab? take the last cab la!! i bet the second last cab was a merc or skoda. chh.Originally posted by laogenjudi:I was walking towards the taxi stand outside Capitol Centre, North Bridge road. To hail a taxi of course. I saw at least 10 taxis, from various companies, waiting in line. As I approached from the back of the line, I decided to hop into a Premier Taxi which was second from last. The taxi driver turned around and said I should go and take the first taxi in line. I said no because I did not want to walk more and besides I prefer Premier Taxi than other taxis. He insisted that I MUST take the first taxi and refused to move.
Angrily, I got out, crossed the road and took the MRT.
Why taxi driver can choose passenger but passenger cannot choose taxi?
I simply do not like certain taxi companies, why can't I patronise the one that I like?
I am paying more to take a taxi because I do not want to walk more. Why can't I hop on to the taxi nearest to me?
Finally, what is the penalty or punishment for the driver if he decided to accept me? Will he be fined by LTA or get whacked by his hungry colleagues?
Comments please (more specifically, please answer the questions).
but the level six ppl find u not handsome enuff. and decide not to earn ur money.Originally posted by laogenjudi:I want to buy a new computer. I go to this famous computer centre in town.
There is this RICH TYCOON having a shop in almost every floor in the building, starting with level one where I enter the building. Heard all kinds of bad reports about this tycoon's various outlets. Their sales people are foul-mouthed, impatient and resort to personal attack when they cannot manage to convince you to buy. They cheat tourists. They despise locals.
Also heard from a friend that at level six there is this little shop where service is wonderful and price reasonable. I go all the way to level six to buy my computer.
Am I wrong?
Wrong, the examples I'd given were from ------ YOU!Originally posted by laogenjudi:Ha haa....glad that you are trying to recall my first post.....but please be very specific. All other examples and scenarios were raised by others.
Originally posted by laogenjudi:Can.... wait for eight other guys to turn up and leave on the first eight, and voila... it's your turn, so you get up the Premier cab....
I stick to what I have mentioned and they are - for your sake - in point form -
Why can't I choose the cab, more importantly the cab company, I prefer??
Originally posted by 105090:Dont have Premier cab number?I can give you.
next time,
[b]ON CALL[/b]

Yah yah yah...Originally posted by laogenjudi:It is almost 24 hours since I first posted this thread. I painted a typical scenario, asked a question which I believe is in many frequent taxi commuters' mind. I expected intelligent answers but there were none.
There were attempted replies but not something that we don't know, such as, "its the norm", "everybody is doing it", "join the queue", "it is ethical"....etc. The more impatient ones started calling names, compare, criticise and even condemn.....Good try.
Why are there different taxi companies? Why must we simply accept what is thrusted at us despite the many choices?
I guess I will not be able to get an answer here. I shall meet up with a LTA director later to clarify.
Anyway....I thank everybody for his/her indulgence. Chin_Eng can continue to be chin boh eng trying to answer other threads - and provide some amusements.
As for the rest, echoing the words of the majority may be safe and sound. But they may be wrong. Remember the case when a lady challenged a taxi driver about alighting opposite the taxi stand near Ngee Ann City? She won after checking with LTA and the taxi company apologised.
I am going to drive my taxi now..........vroooooooooom..........