Time you wake up to the new reality...get yourself a tibo if you haven't seen the new generation of GPS systems..voice instructions will direct you to your destination, even if you are as dense as you appear to be.Originally posted by Poolman:Hello , u got take taxi or not ?
The system GPS now never will tell u which road to use la , wake up !
Navigation ... for instructions ...
C-ocky people like u deserve to wait 1 hour for a taxi , i only serve those who deserve more , and willing to pay more ..... that's what taxi is all about , right ?
It's a luxury .... want to use luxury , dun wan to pay ?
U stay Singapore how long ? 3 years ? Singapore where got so good one ? Wake up !
Today's forum , LTA reply , it's all about Market Forces ....
They just can't increase the fare just for the sake of increasing the fare ....
There is more consideration to be done .
Anyway ..... OM can go dream on about this issue ..... join the Worker's Party lor .... PAP won't do that anyway ..... over my dead body lor ....
Hahahahaha....... why don't u drive a taxi for a day , and see whether Singapore really need foreigners ..... to mess our road system up ! Hahahaha....
Have a life ..... stop dreaming over this issue , have a life for god's sake , u're possessed , hahhahhahaha
Technology has improved a great deal and one big advantage is, unlike dishonest cab drivers, technology does not set itself out to deceive.Originally posted by mancha:GPS = Global Positioning System
It will just show a dot, or star on the digital map indicating where you are.
As for indicating the route to a destination, a separate localised software is needed. The software can be developed to show the shortest distance, the shortest time, or the cheapest fare from Point A to Point B. At the moment such a software can be seen in TV dramas/movies only. Although a prototype have been developed in Europe, it is more a distraction to driving than a helpful navigation equiptment. It don't always work accurately.
Even the GPS sometimes fails.
Why don't you ask Poolman how much income he gets a month? That payslip comes from the horses' mouth...Poolman will probably say it will be a very poor cabby who only earns 1,200 a month. Not a comfortable amount to get by? Plenty of foreign workers get by with half that amount....that's why if we allow foreign workers to drive cabs, we will solve the problem of driver shortage WITHOUT having to raise fares. Foreign cabbies are more hungry than local ones.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I won't ask where you plucked that payslip from, but surely you can't claim that to be a comfortable amount to get by with.
By all means employ the foreign drivers since they don't have a family here. Now tell me where you plan to have those local drivers get put out of work employed?
What's stopping taxi companies from raising their fares again, citing the cost of installing and maintaining on-board navigation systems?
And you still haven't addressed my point about tired drivers being road hazards. When your eyes and ears are not truly on the ground here and observing it's easy for you to dismiss people as 'spoilt'.
Since some people have not even heard of GPS systems that give directions, old news is sufficient for him. We do not want to give him a heart attack with the latest technology now, do we?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Technology does not deceive, but the driver still operates the cab.
FYI, TiBo is old news.I assume you have not been to CommunicAsia 2007.
Maybe we should bring the fight to Speaker's Corner. The guys over there are more prepared to do battle with barking dogs.Originally posted by Poolman:Volvo , think we should not waste time on this topic ...... have a nice day , close it !!!
Why not replace the whole government, civil service, bankers with equally capable people from other countries.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Why don't you ask Poolman how much income he gets a month? That payslip comes from the horses' mouth...Poolman will probably say it will be a very poor cabby who only earns 1,200 a month. Not a comfortable amount to get by? Plenty of foreign workers get by with half that amount....that's why if we allow foreign workers to drive cabs, we will solve the problem of driver shortage WITHOUT having to raise fares. Foreign cabbies are more hungry than local ones.
Local drivers will have to work harder not to be put out of a job. Everyone faces global competition...the local radiologist who cannot compete with the ones in Bangalore will lose his job..period. If you cannot compete, you are out. Too bad....
Taxi companies will not need to raise fares to attract drivers who want a higher monthly wage. If our foreign cabbies become spoilt like local ones and demand to earn at least 2k a month before they will drive, sack them! There are plenty more foreign drivers overseas all too willing to take their places. GPS is a one-time cost which is easily recovered. You can raise rental fees for cabbies and foreigners will still want to be cab drivers. Getting 1k a month in air-conditioned comfort is better than working for $600-800 a month in the sun. The higher the rental charges, the harder the cabbie must work to earn his monthly income. Local drivers refuse to drive in those circumstances...I am saying that foreigners who have a worse deal currently are more than willing to step in....let them!
Tired drivers being hazards? What about tired doctors and civil servants? If you cannot take the pressure, you are out. In any case, the shift system limits the number of hours a cab driver is on the road. I would require all cab drivers to go on shifts of 8 hours...everyone will have the same number of shifts during the peak hours and the midnight shift with few passengers. This will force them to get every single fare during their shift. If they don't succed, they canbnot compete and they are out. Let those who can remain.
With foreign cabbies, there is never a shortage of drivers.
Replace the PAP with the Canberra ALP. By doing so, we will be guaranteed our share of civil liberties.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Why not replace the whole government, civil service, bankers with equally capable people from other countries.
Replace our engineers with engineers from China, replace our architects with Thai architects, replace our IT guys with those from India!
With foreign legions, there will never be a shortage of manpower, but a shortage of jobs!![]()
Hello .... go ComfortDelgro and asked how their GPS works , just asked them :" Does your instal GPS system tells u the shortest route to a destination ? "Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Time you wake up to the new reality...get yourself a tibo if you haven't seen the new generation of GPS systems..voice instructions will direct you to your destination, even if you are as dense as you appear to be.
Haha...whose votes do you think the government needs more? From ungrateful cabbies who rant incessantly against the government? Why should the government protect the livelihood for this bunch of lazy losers? Local cabbies need to starve a little and see what foreign cabbies can and are willing to do.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Why don't you ask Poolman how much income he gets a month? That payslip comes from the horses' mouth...Poolman will probably say it will be a very poor cabby who only earns 1,200 a month. Not a comfortable amount to get by? Plenty of foreign workers get by with half that amount....that's why if we allow foreign workers to drive cabs, we will solve the problem of driver shortage WITHOUT having to raise fares. Foreign cabbies are more hungry than local ones.
Local drivers will have to work harder not to be put out of a job. Everyone faces global competition...the local radiologist who cannot compete with the ones in Bangalore will lose his job..period. If you cannot compete, you are out. Too bad....
Taxi companies will not need to raise fares to attract drivers who want a higher monthly wage. If our foreign cabbies become spoilt like local ones and demand to earn at least 2k a month before they will drive, sack them! There are plenty more foreign drivers overseas all too willing to take their places. GPS is a one-time cost which is easily recovered. You can raise rental fees for cabbies and foreigners will still want to be cab drivers. Getting 1k a month in air-conditioned comfort is better than working for $600-800 a month in the sun. The higher the rental charges, the harder the cabbie must work to earn his monthly income. Local drivers refuse to drive in those circumstances...I am saying that foreigners who have a worse deal currently are more than willing to step in....let them!
Tired drivers being hazards? What about tired doctors and civil servants? If you cannot take the pressure, you are out. In any case, the shift system limits the number of hours a cab driver is on the road. I would require all cab drivers to go on shifts of 8 hours...everyone will have the same number of shifts during the peak hours and the midnight shift with few passengers. This will force them to get every single fare during their shift. If they don't succed, they canbnot compete and they are out. Let those who can remain.
With foreign cabbies, there is never a shortage of drivers.
Check the junk mail folder.Originally posted by MerseyReds:sorry i couldn't log-on with my usual Poolman id , so i using my alternatives Merseyreds id ..... funny still cannot log-in ..... think i forgotten my password ... still waiting for Sgforums reply for a password .![]()
Do you have one in the first place?Originally posted by MerseyReds:I chop off my c-ck if the system does so .... hahahaha...
If you cannot compete, you either upgrade your skills, work harder than everyone else or leave. Poolman says you have to pay first world taxi fares in a first world country. And I am saying that if you cannot compete in a first world country then you should go elsewhere.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Of course the foreign worker can get by on $600 since his dependants are not here. I'd like to see you support a family of 4 with just $1200 every month. Of course the company is not a charity and only the bottomline matters to hardliners like you - now where do you suggest the Gov't should put these newly unemployed people, Mr Burns?
Tired doctors and civil servants can head to the canteen downstairs for a break without losing money. A tired driver though is putting his life, the lives of his passengers, the lives of other road users and the vehicle he uses to earn money at risk.
And for your information, we had a forum outing just a couple of days ago, and we didn't have problems getting taxis at 11.20 p.m.
How typical of youOriginally posted by iveco:Maybe we should bring the fight to Speaker's Corner. The guys over there are more prepared to do battle with barking dogs.![]()
Keep putting your head in the sand...policies can be reversed overnight in Singapore. Sooner or later, the ruling party will realize most local cab drivers do not vote fo rthem anyway. No point protecting this bunch of ungrateful losers...the reputation of Singapore as a tourist destination is more important.Originally posted by MerseyReds:As for non-corporate customers , like those who shout like mad-dogs , who wrote to St Forum , who are unhappy , who are no willing to pay more , who don't under the theory of Supply & Demand , etc ..... then they have to wait a bit longer at the taxi stand , cos foreigners will not be driving our Singapore taxis , just in case kia-su Singaporean will complain of the in-efficient taxi service again .... complaints will never stop .
Aiyo , what's the hoo-haa ............ hahahahaha , those who want Foreign drivers , sleep a bit longer ..so u can dream more of these ... hahahahahah
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:If you cannot compete, you either upgrade your skills, work harder than everyone else or leave. Poolman says you have to pay first world taxi fares in a first world country. And I am saying that if you cannot compete in a first world country then you should go elsewhere.
Foreign workers not only can afford to live on their $600 monthly salary but are able to send money home. The Straits Times ran a recent story about the Chinese pipe layer who took a job of $600 a month in a Singapore shipyard, worked hard over weekends and did all the overtimes he could, finally got promted to a supervisor and now earns 3k a month, owns a HDB flat and has brought his wife and children to Singapore. He is the kind of Singaporeans we need.
If local drivers cannot handle the stress, let foreigners show them they can do better!
hey , ur view very irony leh ....Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Keep putting your head in the sand...policies can be reversed overnight in Singapore. Sooner or later, the ruling party will realize most local cab drivers do not vote fo rthem anyway. No point protecting this bunch of ungrateful losers...the reputation of Singapore as a tourist destination is more important.