Originally posted by keangel:This calculation is good , if u don't perform any booking ....
Actually without booking, I still can made decent income from driving SMRT taxi. The problem with booking is that sometime lots of time wasted waiting for passenger to come down, time travelling to the pick up point (you will curse and swear especially during traffic jam), the worst is after waiting 10 mins the passenger never turn up or the booking was cancelled.
Driving taxi as a career can be a relaxing job too. After switching (from comfort to SMRT), I feel more relaxed in my driving, and more I got 24 free rental day in a year, unlike comfort only 3 in a year
Let do the math :
Comfort rental : $93.16(per day) x 365 day = $ 34,003.40
Less 3 rental day = $34,003.40 - $279.48
Total Rental Paid = [b]$ 33,723.92
SMRT Rental : $81.32 (per day) x 365 day = $29,681.80
Less 24 Rental day = $29,681.80 - $1,951.68
Total rental Paid = $27,730.12
Difference = $5,993.80
The key is whether you know where to pick up passenger. I made almost the same amount as I was driving comfort, without the stress, frustration. And most importantly, I can rest 2 sunday every month, while in comfort, I got to drive like a bull.
It's very good if u are a Solo driver , driving a SMRT . Cos the overheads is low .Originally posted by keangel:It's true that if you kenna accident, you have to cough out $1000.00 for own damage repair, if the fault is your and the third patry claim involve, another $1,000.00 insurance access. If within a year you kenna second time, insurance access shot up to $1,500.00.
Usually if you involve in accident and you happen to be last vehicle, confirmed $2,000.00, they don't even bother to investigate, you go report accident at counter they made you sign the payment form liao.
That why I left this money sucking company to join SMRT. To me, the only thing good about comfort is what poolman always talk about; strong booking, I don't deny that. Other than that, comfort's everything is the most expensive in the market; rental, accident repair, insurance access, booking network charges, etc
$4 booking , u take $3.30 , they take $0.70 ..... for me , it's ok what .Originally posted by keangel:We poor driver drive like hell and did the company make any effort to help their driver. When the cost increase, they just pass the the cost to the driver.
U mean max you have to pay is $2000?Originally posted by keangel:It's true that if you kenna accident, you have to cough out $1000.00 for own damage repair, if the fault is your and the third patry claim involve, another $1,000.00 insurance access. If within a year you kenna second time, insurance access shot up to $1,500.00.
Usually if you involve in accident and you happen to be last vehicle, confirmed $2,000.00, they don't even bother to investigate, you go report accident at counter they made you sign the payment form liao.
That why I left this money sucking company to join SMRT. To me, the only thing good about comfort is what poolman always talk about; strong booking, I don't deny that. Other than that, comfort's everything is the most expensive in the market; rental, accident repair, insurance access, booking network charges, etc
OK let me explain .Originally posted by ALN:U mean max you have to pay is $2000?I though it is max $1000? Does comfort got this system to reduce excess with a regular premium or not? Relief like me if kena once si beh bo wah liao cos I only drive a bit
That time $92 is with GST 5% , now 7% is like u say , $93 something .Originally posted by keangel:SMRT taxis have a lot of new driver. This is due to their training allowance offered ($1500) for new driver without VL. They can used that to offset the deposit for new taxis. Most Comfort driver are all very amateur and experience. Silver cab and transcab driver, wow very aggressive, they drive like tomorrow's end of the world. I always saw silver cab speeding at least 140km/h on highway.
By the way, poolman, what is the rental for silver cab crown?
No la .... i kena once , but i went Loyang told them : " Mine vehicle minor dent , do outside can liao ! Knock knock a bit , spray paint can liao "Originally posted by keangel:From what I know, you can only do repair at Comfort (1st priority) or 3 authorise workshops (2nd priority) approve by NTUC Income, any repair other than the above is consider not authorised. This was stated in the comfort handbook and comfirm by the counter staff.
By the way, SMRT accident repair and excess are as follow :
12 months or less = Repair $600.00 / Excess $900.00
>12 months to 24 months = Repair $500.00 / Excess $900.00
>24 months to 36 months = Repair $300.00 / Excess $900.00
>36 months = Repair $0.00 / Excess $900.00
Now .... laugh die me , they desperate for drivers , now we are a pampered lot .... like a baby .Originally posted by keangel:Comfort is very stringent with their driver's performance, eg, accidents, call booking no show. That's because it will affect their quaterly LTA rating. I got a friend who was involve in two accidents (not totally his fault) within a year and he was terminated by the company the next day after the accident. So sad!
My customer damn scared to take SMRT taxis , all new bird , go by which road , which expressways , which left , which right , all asked until destination , in the end she fed-up , said : " Tampines Mall u dunno how to go ? "Originally posted by keangel:SMRT taxis have a lot of new driver. This is due to their training allowance offered ($1500) for new driver without VL. They can used that to offset the deposit for new taxis. Most Comfort driver are all very amateur and experience. Silver cab and transcab driver, wow very aggressive, they drive like tomorrow's end of the world. I always saw silver cab speeding at least 140km/h on highway.
SMRT deposit now pay only $500.00. That all, the other $500.00 subsidied by SMRTOriginally posted by Poolman:For those new " want-to-be " a taxi driver , take note ...
U know about that Security Deposit required to drive a taxi ? Some company $1000 , some $1500 , some $1200 ?
Ok .... Only Comfort and CityCab can be paid in instalments ..... like 6 times instalments or 3 times instalments .... can be negotiate .
The rest of the Taxi Coy is solid cash , no instalments .
So if ur money a bit tight , no need to try Smart , Premier or TransCab , no use .
Only Comfort CityCab can be instalments .
Not sure about SMRT .
I dunno really .... me very consistent , not much of a difference , will hit my 5pm to 12pm $180 collection target .Originally posted by ALN:haha.. maybe those SMRT drivers are salaried type. can't be bothered about learning about efficient routes......
poolman, ask u har... which night shift weekday is the worst business? I drove tue once and i saw at 7pm suntec many taxis waiting for pax...but i lucky got one booking.. my pax came down from office and also look shocked why so many cabs... wasted her booking liao...
Thu slightly better than tue but yesterday shenton way to suntec bloody jam...
Fri is the best night... no need to look for pax too long.... drive also shiok... Any sonata drivers looking for relief for only Fri 5pm to 5am please let me know. Me very responsible relief one. Location negotiable as long as not in west or woodland/yishun. i got own transport.![]()