Originally posted by SMRT Buses:i said that in the other fare increase thread
Reuters - Friday, December 14
[b]Singapore SMRT joins ComfortDelGro in taxi fare hike
SINGAPORE, Dec 14 - Singapore's second-largest taxi operator SMRT said in a statement on Friday that it will raise taxi fares from Dec 21, four days after leading rival ComfortDelGro announced it would do the same.
SMRT, which has 3,000 taxis to ComfortDelGro's fleet of 15,000, said the hikes are to mitigate higher operating costs due to rising fuel prices.
It said the changes include raising minimum starting fares to S$2.80 and the tripling of a surcharge to S$3 for taxis entering Singapore's downtown area after 5:00 p.m., in line with the hikes made by ComfortDelGro.
Inflation in Singapore hit a 16-year high in October and the government has forecast it could reach 5 percent in the first quarter next year.
Taxi firms have been hurt by high oil prices , which traded above $92 a barrel on Friday after a record near $100 last month.[/b]
I would beg to differ. Citing the price hike as a way of a bonus scheme for cabbies would not be a fair illustration. The nature of cabbies is to have an "unlimited" upside to their income ( of course not forgetting downside) thus comparing wage schemes would be inappropriate.Originally posted by Poolman:No , when the civil servants earn bonuses , and almost all employees earned bonuses , my job is to take a bite from their bonuses , not joining them .
Don't u see the timing of the hike ?
The timing is meant for us to have a bite , or we'll regret it .
When u are a cabby , and u see the amount of money people spent in Orchard Road shopping , bags after bags , branded stuff after branded stuff , u'll be stupid not to earn them extra $4 for bookings .
If u see the cash sales machines rolling non-stop , taxi fare is nothing !!!
That's my personal view .... What i saw at Orchard , and from a personal view that i should be getting extra money from the shoppers if they can spent $4000 on branded stuff , then $4 booking fee is nothing for them .Originally posted by Twice A Day:Next up, people spending on branded stuff does not make it an excuse for the taxi companies to raise their price. So if your point was that people would not feel the pinch if they could afford branded stuff, that is another fallacy.
So could mac donalds use that as a reason to rise prices.
#*&%*$% singapore everything is increaseing by 15%... i wonder why our pay is not increasing 15% also....Originally posted by Poolman:Why increase ?
GST increase ....
Milk powder increase ...
Rice increase ...
Flour increase ...
Air Flown pork increase ....
Fish increase ....
Hawker prices increase ...
PUB tariff increase ....
U felt the pain of price increase , cabbies also Singaporean , why ? They not pain ?
And ..... i missed out on diesel increase .
You didn't get my point. I said I'm precisely going to take less cabs. And pulling bmw and bungalows at $1 in is not really making any sense.Originally posted by ALN:har... incomeless sutdent feel unfair that he cannot afford taxi after price hike... me also feel unfair why bungalow and BMW cannot be $1... wow lan, i earn how much, i eat how much... if some things i like are too expensive to me, then i don't eat or eat less lah..... rocket science meh?
U should try driving a cab for just 3 hours .Originally posted by Twice A Day:You didn't get my point. I said I'm precisely going to take less cabs. And pulling bmw and bungalows at $1 in is not really making any sense.
My point is that I don't see any crucial reason for them to rise the price at this time and that cabs unlike mac donalds are "goods that we might be forced to buy" Therefore consumers some time do not have an option to show their dis pleasure at the hike.
And just a side issue. I do not think that cabbies are underpaid as compared to other service occupations. Might not have a fixed income but the incentive to work extra hours sure is high. Afew trips down some night spots would have covered the rental easily. Correct me if i'm wrong as I'm not a cabbie.
And I certaintly believe that comfort and friends are already making a huge tidy profit. So why the hike at this hike?
Originally posted by FireIce:>shows 2 middle fingers<
give us some good service FIRST before toking about hikes.
Depends on what u mean by underpaid... cabbies confirm no CPF or bonus or 13mth. Other staff get at least 13mth, touch wood but taxi may have to fork out one month to pay for repair... one knock only may set you back by up to $2K...Originally posted by Twice A Day:You didn't get my point. I said I'm precisely going to take less cabs. And pulling bmw and bungalows at $1 in is not really making any sense.
My point is that I don't see any crucial reason for them to rise the price at this time and that cabs unlike mac donalds are "goods that we might be forced to buy" Therefore consumers some time do not have an option to show their dis pleasure at the hike.
And just a side issue. I do not think that cabbies are underpaid as compared to other service occupations. Might not have a fixed income but the incentive to work extra hours sure is high. Afew trips down some night spots would have covered the rental easily. Correct me if i'm wrong as I'm not a cabbie.
And I certaintly believe that comfort and friends are already making a huge tidy profit. So why the hike at this hike?
What is the garment doing? Up to now, they still cant decide who should set the fare. Fare setting was shifted from LTA to PTC and then passed to taxi companies. As I said earlier, this is like nokia setting your M1 phone bill rate! Wonder what would comfort say if one day toyota set comfort rental rate...Originally posted by seancannot:Those who never drove before , will never understand the pain taxi cabby go thru , I used to think taxi driver quite easy job and money until I drove one.....i can only say its one of the worst job !
I board a few cab the last few day all the driver do not want price increase but rental deduction.
those comfort guy sitting in the office have it easy they just increase the fare without any care in the world as their will not be any impact to their bottom line they crap excuse was to help the cabby which is utter nonsense , if they are really sincere they should drop the rental ,
for everyone info , comfort only take more than a year rental to fully cover the cost of their new sonata taxi ... Yes! just slightly more than a year !! you do your math you will know how much blood the taxi company suck from the cabby and us commuter !!!
At this juncture I just want to ask what is our garment doing ?????
Can't blame Raymond Lim ....Originally posted by ^tamago^:After comfort made the statement that the cab driver earning increase from 307$ to 318$, many cab drivers call up the newspaper and claim that they didn't earn $300+ daily, unless they driver 24/7.
So the paper did an interview and found out that the most hardworking driver who drives more than 12 hours can at most make 200$ only. Among the cab drivers interviewed, 50% said their earning decrease after the hike. Another 30% said their earning still the same. Only 20% increase.
The earning decrease is because lesser customers, and the rising cost of the fuel.
They contacted Comfort to learn how they get the 300$ figure. Comfort said they polled 5000 cabs' meters...and found out that their earning increase after including the morning/night shift.
They also said the figure doesn't represent all of the cab drivers. In other words, I think they trying to say that those cab drivers making noises now are the minority among the cab drivers who ain't in the 5000 cabs they polled.
what about?Originally posted by Poolman: