More cabbies returning cab? Should be the morning shift cabbies.... If true, then it is just the usual demand and supple adjustments... less commuters and less cabbies. Good for existing cabbies thoughOriginally posted by allulu69:Do anyone think the taxi fare would be revised downward?
some cabbies told me it would be soon as some had started returning their taxis after the fare increase with less business especially during the major holidays.
Mr. Poolman, care to comment. Thanks![]()
Comfort to revise the fare ?Originally posted by allulu69:Do anyone think the taxi fare would be revised downward?
some cabbies told me it would be soon as some had started returning their taxis after the fare increase with less business especially during the major holidays.
They have motives ..... they are trimming their human resource . Started from Diesel Kiosk , 2 has closed down , Kaki Bukit and Pandan Road's diesel kiosk .Originally posted by allulu69:Do anyone think the taxi fare would be revised downward?
More Comfort cabbies will quit , to SilverCab , or Smart , or TransCab .Originally posted by ALN:More cabbies returning cab? Should be the morning shift cabbies.... If true, then it is just the usual demand and supple adjustments... less commuters and less cabbies. Good for existing cabbies though
But surprisingly , my relief day-shift driver not affected leh .... his income quite consistent .Originally posted by ALN:Should be the morning shift cabbies....
i praise him!Originally posted by Frogleg888:Just read today Shin Ming news,page 6,
One taxi uncle willing to waive 35% peak hour surcharge,cos his business had dropped significantly in pass two weeks.
But according to Taxi company,drivers are not allow to do so..![]()
No point what .... looking at the taxi blue light sign board , lucky not Comfort's cabby , sia sway we all .Originally posted by Frogleg888:Just read today Shin Ming news,page 6,
One taxi uncle willing to waive 35% peak hour surcharge,cos his business had dropped significantly in pass two weeks.
But according to Taxi company,drivers are not allow to do so..![]()
ALN , the situation will be like that at least , even after Chinese New Year .Originally posted by ALN:wow lan waive 35% surcharge?... brave soul, but stupid solo effort cos no one knows... today the road is quiet again... can see long queues of taxi almost everywhere in town.... luckily i still managed to make my usual sum except that i waited longer and can see less locals take taxi
i think taxi situation may worsen further for drivers... many pax still not very sure about the fare increase... more may cut down... eat grass liao... if this goes on, either drivers will start switching jobs or comfort reduce rent...
u sure boycott will work? why not you organise boycott again utility increase also?Originally posted by sci10109:Whatever the reason, the fare hike is definitely not the solution to the original problem, which is that taxis are always not around during peak hours.
The reason why there are no taxis during peak hours is because the taxi drivers are all hiding and waiting to earn that few dollars more. The real solution should come from the taxi companies and govt to step up regulations and nab the cheats of the roads!!
What use is there to keep increasing fares and passing on the cost to the consumer when its the taxi drivers' fault?!
Am gonna round up my friends and boycott taxis together...
I had written to Comfort .... get them to cap peak hour charge at $5 . Nothing will go up after $5 .Originally posted by ALN:the fare increase is a result of singaporeans complaining no taxi during peak hours... how else to adjust demand and supply without adjusting fare?
I think the $3 city surcharge makes good sense. But the 35% peak hours surcharge is a bit too high. 25% to 30% maybe better.