Taxi drivers like Poolman have no respect for their own profession. They do not see themselves as providing a public service. If cab drivers can refuse to pick up passengers from a taxi stand to get a more lucrative fare, doctors can refuse to treat poor patients in hospital and see wealthy ones instead.
That is the reason why we must open up to foreign competition. There are plenty of Indonesians and Malaysians waiting to drive our cabs for farlower fare. Let the likes of Poolman starve...teach them a lesson they won't forget.
hey oxford, you are back... still at foreign taxi driver har? aiya, why u keep attacking a single cabby?.... u study so much... you should know if you want quantum change, attack the big fish like the legislators... if you dare write to ST forum....
Btw, it seems like to message by the leaders here is that if you work hard, it is ok to be greedy and ask for more pay.... doesn't that sounds like a familiar scenario to you?
Poolman,
Happy CNY.care to share your evening shift taxi strategy you had for CNY (Thur & Fri)? I'd love to hear from you. :)
happy CNY Tay.
I think Poolman only drive few hours on Thurs.
I drove Wed, Fri and Sat pm shift... from my experience, no need any strategy... business is very good everywhere even after midnight mainly cos supply is much reduced...all over the island connection is good...
Clark quay long q of pax with very few cabs.... some even on call at 3am at clark quay... amazing business for those who choose to drive through CNY... I earned enough to make up for poorer business after CNY liao... btw Tay, from your experience, taxi business will be bad from coming Mon onwards till end March issit?
I think the way the govt is heading in the transport aspect is....to say the least, fucked-up.
Hi ALN,
Thanks for sharing your experience. I asked Poolman for his comment if he had any strategy for CNY as I learnt from his previous posts and deduced that he may be a person who tends to plan before executing. Since CNY is not a typically day but a year to year affair, I would think he will still plan in this ever changing environment for this festive period.
I am glad to hear that your business was good over the CNY period.
I havent had any taxi experience yet. Last week, I have just received a letter from LTA for the approval to undergo a medical checkup and register for the taxi academy course.
So there.. I still have a long way to go. I would like to learn as much as possible prior to doing the real thing. I guess nothing beats learning from real professionals like you and Poolman.
Taxi drivers to starve ? The worst i ever earned as a taxi driver , since the fare hike ...$60 salary .
I looking forward to the Youth Olympic , good luck to Singapore .
I also looking forward to the 2 IRS ...
I also looking forward to the F1 Night races ...
I also looking for a few new daily flights from Scandinavia .
I already enjoying those trips from T3 regularly ....
I also looking forward to the good demand of AirAsia ....
Taxi drivers to starve ?
I still will say this , cabbies going to earn $4K a month , which foreigners and those FTs would only envy !! Cabbies does'nt need to work averagely 18 hours daily to earn that amount .
Those Indian IT fellas earning only $3500 , they need to contribute 18 hours average daily .
Cabbies are going big times !!!
The fare hike really gave those people like those Mushroomhead a slap on their face , cos their dreams of cheap taxis will never come ! The dreams of bullying foreign drivers will never come . The dreams of living like a king will never come . The dreams of third world transport never will materialised .
They forgotten , they're in Singapore .
Or they can go back to their own country and enjoy those 3rd World transport , taxis driven by Mexican , Turkish , Columbians etc .....
I will never starve , cabbies will never starve if they ever learn the trade with strategies , wits and hardwork . And keep healthy !!!
Good luck to those people who wants foreign drivers , really good luck to them !!!
Originally posted by TayBuanGuan:Hi ALN,
Thanks for sharing your experience. I asked Poolman for his comment if he had any strategy for CNY as I learnt from his previous posts and deduced that he may be a person who tends to plan before executing. Since CNY is not a typically day but a year to year affair, I would think he will still plan in this ever changing environment for this festive period.
I am glad to hear that your business was good over the CNY period.
I havent had any taxi experience yet. Last week, I have just received a letter from LTA for the approval to undergo a medical checkup and register for the taxi academy course.
So there.. I still have a long way to go. I would like to learn as much as possible prior to doing the real thing. I guess nothing beats learning from real professionals like you and Poolman.
oic you are still going thru training.... good luck... i need to 2 times to clear the module on location
me also a new part time cabby (5 mths)....
So far I would say it is very important that you have keen interest driving (long hours of driving can be tiring and frustrating) plus steady driving skills (accidents are very troublesome and expensive)
The other things are ok to be picked up during taxi-ing such as road network, drivers' rules, pax demand etc
Sorry Tay , has been damn busy since CNY eve ..... rest and chiong as usual .
My 3 days salary good enough for maybe 6 days of my usual salary . Ya may say double
Midnight as usual ..... thank god the new year happened on a weekend .
Co-incide with those party-goers , if they dun go drinking , go where ?
Quite a normal CNY to them , not a fabulous NY ,
Surprisingly the business slightly better than i anticipate .
What's good about this weekend CNY was that housing area plenty of demands , if go town also can pick quite a few good bucks ...
No special strategies .. just head to HDB area ....
Tay ,
Focus a bit on CBD office buildings and shopping complex .
Will do u multiple good .
Routes and landmarks ....
Housing area least important .
Gd Luck .
Remember , u pass , u are on the verge of earning $3- $4K like me .
U fail , u are going to go thru another test , waste time .
Put some pressure on yourself .... will do u magically good .
Do apply some self-motivation .
Then when we free , u , ALN , Quickpick , David Chong and me , we can go drink coffee .
Tay ,
Accident is part & parcel of taxi driving ...
Some cabbies one month accident one time , some lifetime also no accident .
I 5-years experience only one minor accident i pay $2000 .
It's more of personal driving habit .
Don't be scared of accident .
Good to hear that business was good over CNY. I am jotting these pointers down so that I can read them again when I am actually driving a taxi. Who knows, I may end up creating an UNOFFICIAL guide for taxi newbies. :)
Thank you Poolman & ALN for sharing your experiences and thoughts. I truely appreciate it.~
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Taxi drivers like Poolman have no respect for their own profession. They do not see themselves as providing a public service. If cab drivers can refuse to pick up passengers from a taxi stand to get a more lucrative fare, doctors can refuse to treat poor patients in hospital and see wealthy ones instead.
That is the reason why we must open up to foreign competition. There are plenty of Indonesians and Malaysians waiting to drive our cabs for farlower fare. Let the likes of Poolman starve...teach them a lesson they won't forget.
I'm not sure about you, but according to economic theory from Adam Smith's Wealth of Nations, everyone is selfish and work mainly to feed themselves. The way to resolve is by intervention and "encouragement" by the government.
I wonder how many private doctors are there that will treat poor patients. Of course there exists some, but how many out of all the private doctors around?
Originally posted by eagle:I'm not sure about you, but according to economic theory from Adam Smith's Wealth of Nations, everyone is selfish and work mainly to feed themselves. The way to resolve is by intervention and "encouragement" by the government.
I wonder how many private doctors are there that will treat poor patients. Of course there exists some, but how many out of all the private doctors around?
So very true ...... very realistic one , but so true , those MushroomHead still cannot accept those facts .
Only solution : Please go back to the respective country . Singapore don't suit those people .
I heard from some colleague , 1000 taxis , Crown in particular was returned to Comfort & CityCab ....before CNY .
I also heard many Crowns drivers were Q-ing to return .
Except those Sonatas .
Those people who ever dream of getting 100% customer service from taxi in S'pore , better go to country like Indonesia , Malaysia , Beijing and Nanjing , even HongKong ........ and taste the like of customer service .
Or i would say , MushroomHead should go to country like Japan , Australia , England ..... to enjoy 101% customer service , Japan cabbies even open the door for you .....
But what price in Japan , Aussie and UK ????
Cannot pay peanuts and get elephant la ... for god sake .
Originally posted by Poolman:I heard from some colleague , 1000 taxis , Crown in particular was returned to Comfort & CityCab ....before CNY .
I also heard many Crowns drivers were Q-ing to return .
Except those Sonatas .
wow really? more than I expected. That is about 5% (of 20,000 cabs)... no wonder I started seeing pax q again last week.....hope those affected cabbies have other plans....
I also know of 1 sonata hirer want to return but cannot due to $500 penalty under 1 year contract.
Originally posted by Poolman:Those people who ever dream of getting 100% customer service from taxi in S'pore , better go to country like Indonesia , Malaysia , Beijing and Nanjing , even HongKong ........ and taste the like of customer service .
Or i would say , MushroomHead should go to country like Japan , Australia , England ..... to enjoy 101% customer service , Japan cabbies even open the door for you .....
But what price in Japan , Aussie and UK ????
Cannot pay peanuts and get elephant la ... for god sake .
My wife came back from UK few months back. The taxis are not polite at all. And they asked her to stop just before the airport terminal in the middle of a drizzle and walk unsheltered for few hundred metres. And they only open boot for white pax. Asians and blacks are treated inferiorly even when they are paying pax.
In when I was in a taxi in US, I told one cabbie that the traffic light just turned green. He replied that he was turning and asked me to leave the driving to professionals like him... knn so rude and still must give tips
Australia I don't know. Japan taxi should be good as they are in other service areas
Most drivers achieved $30 average an hour daily .
As in 8 hours job averagely ... they achievement a nett collection of about $240 plus minus ....
Minus off rental $50 , minus off fuel $30 .
Cabbies nett salary per half shift is about $160 .
Multiply 26 days ( Sunday off ) ..... Per month most achieved $4160 averagely !!
Yeah , after price hike .
If 20% extra minimum earning from YOG 2010..... 2010 August , most drivers will earn around $5k for 26 days work , for 8 hours per shift , earn more if work 8 or more hours .
All thanks to those quitters .....
The government should read the airbag Poolman's posts. Stop protecting this bunch of losers and allow PRCs and Indians to drive cabs in Singapore. With GPS devices easily available, they can work from Day1 and provide a far better and cheaper service. These bunch of useless uncles need to starve a little before they will learn.
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The government should read the airbag Poolman's posts. Stop protecting this bunch of losers and allow PRCs and Indians to drive cabs in Singapore. With GPS devices easily available, they can work from Day1 and provide a far better and cheaper service. These bunch of useless uncles need to starve a little before they will learn.
GPS devices are not that effective, especially in concrete jungle Singapore. I've personally seen 1 work in Germany, and buildings there are not as packed as in Singapore. In addition, the route may not be the most efficient. Weighted Dijikstra shortest path algorithm is effective, but there are just too many other factors that GPS cannot take into account of, that something an experienced human driver can make use of.
And if the government does do what you suggested, it will be hard for them to explain why they get foreigners to work in this occupation when many Singaporeans do want to do them; their original basis was that low income foreign workers are doing jobs that Singaporeans do not want to do.
Lastly, the recruitment is by the companies. I believe I saw adverts that taxi companies only ask for citizens at the moment. Citizens will of course know Singapore way better than PRCs, who will need quite a number of years before knowing all the landmarks around; such things cannot be memorized.
I will never starve ..... we can have all foreign cabbies , but our "want everything No.1 " garmen want or not ?
World Class Transport , never heard before ?
For the YOG , for the IRs , for the Spore Flyer , for the business-guests , for the Tourist attractions etc ....
GPS ? Mushroom head , u drive ? Why not i loan u a GPS system , u go around Singapore ? Talk no use leh ....
Or go Tuas South Ave 9 , u have 30 minutes to get to Jurong Point or Boon Lay MRT ? With GPS la ..... I did it in 20 minutes , without GPS .
So if u think u cannot do it in those time frame , what u expect the foreigners to take up the challenge ? Stop dreaming about FT in taxi business , it's our business , mind your own business , go back to your country .
You country need foreign cabbies , not here .
Taxi is not just taking customers from Orchard Tower to Orchard Shopping Centre or Orchard Plaza .
Anyway , i also dont think u know where's Orchard Tower , Orchard Shopping Centre and Orchard Plaza .
Kana snook , right ?
A Tip for u , Far East Plaza , Far East Shopping Centre and Far East Square actually located along 3 different roads la .... if u need to go through the Road Directory to know where's this roads , then bring on those foreigners !!!
How i wish The Garmen see my post , can someone sent this message to Raymond Lim ?
At least ..... i am talking logic .
I am earning currently , a modest average $4K a month , quite lucrative now , many newbies will slowly join me .
NO VANCANCY for foreigners ......
At least for my lifetime .... maybe my son's generation maybe , cos Spore all Degree holder .... not now la , now those in their late 30's and early 40's , most "O-levels " or "N-levels ".....
Maybe in the next 10 years , more Poly or JC graduates , will drive a taxi instead , earning $6K a montrh , who knows what futures lies ahead ?
Facts and datas never lies , do i sounds like bluffing ?
Originally posted by eagle:GPS devices are not that effective, especially in concrete jungle Singapore. I've personally seen 1 work in Germany, and buildings there are not as packed as in Singapore. In addition, the route may not be the most efficient. Weighted Dijikstra shortest path algorithm is effective, but there are just too many other factors that GPS cannot take into account of, that something an experienced human driver can make use of.
And if the government does do what you suggested, it will be hard for them to explain why they get foreigners to work in this occupation when many Singaporeans do want to do them; their original basis was that low income foreign workers are doing jobs that Singaporeans do not want to do.
Lastly, the recruitment is by the companies. I believe I saw adverts that taxi companies only ask for citizens at the moment. Citizens will of course know Singapore way better than PRCs, who will need quite a number of years before knowing all the landmarks around; such things cannot be memorized.
Bro Eagle , u a cabby too ?
U know a bit , quite a lot in fact , about Singapore .
Yeah , it took me 5 donkey years , yet to master around just Shenton Way's buildings and those at Cecil street and Robinson Road .
Those Stupid building names enough to kill me , hundreds of them .
I am still learning about those at ULU places , like Tuas South Area , knn Tuas South no joke man , at night !! GPS only confused me !
I am lucky , cos i was an 10 years out-door salesman , and my calibre , born-and-breed Singaporean , 5 donkey years in the business , i am still learning !!!!
I am sad for those work inside office people ,who seldom goes around Singapore , and chose to work as cabby , i know , they'll struggle !
Mushroom cock head,you talk so much for wat???Do you hold a VL,think u dun even hv class 3 and likely dun even know hw to drive,knn.Invite prc or indian for wat???To wash taxi at the taxi bay or gas station u mean???How our sg cabbies drive or behave not up to u to comment or decide.,u want be in the garrment sector,I mean cleaner in there!!!Now get a life,dun waste time posting here,this is for cabbies forum discussion abt taxi business,not any of urs.CheerS'![]()