Last Sunday was my first testing as a partime City-Cab relief driver. As a virgin driver with no knowledge. I started with my outing at 7am and end at 5pm.
First trip we may say, is usually as a cabby happiest and hard to forget… I took 2 on calls…first from Rangoon Road to airport , the second from Petain road to Paragon.
And the other are long and short journey, all as whole i completed 20 jobs.
For my courage of doing with this, I will l like make a special thank to ALN for giving me all his tips and Kungfu the art and skill the technic formulas to become as a partime relief driver.
This coming sunday I will try out all the various combinations route, location, timing, than i will make my further report.
Many Thank ALN guru.
welcome welcome & hope that you'll enjoy your job as a part-time relief driver..
most importantly, drive safely & be careful of some conmuters (spelt on purpose)
Welcome kinwashi to the cabby community... so far i know the cabbies here are:-
Poolman - FT, Comfort, night shift
Coolkie - FT, SMRT, day
Kinwashi - PT, City, day
ALN - PT, Comfort, night
Lionsleep - FT, Comfort, night
Chongctd - FT, Silver, night
Hope to speak to more non comfort cabbies too....
Hmm , didn't realise that we have so many cabbies here ![]()
we're pleased to have even more cabbies here so help to spread this forum around ya ![]()
Switching to ComfortDelGro Taxi business soon.
Has anyone try the three days short term leasing by CityCab?
I looking at driving a Hyundai Sonata as a 1700 to 0500 hrs relief driver.
David Chong see i drive Sonata he buay tahan liao !!! ![]()
Easiest way to learn !!!!
For newbies .... Morning shift newbies .
People come out their hand , u just stop !!
They wanna go where , just go !!
Short or long ..... Learn to Q-up in town , anytime .
Must learn which taxi-Q move the fastest at which zone .
Most important ..... learn their prefer shortest route .
The more people u take , the more location u'll learn .
If ALN Guru , who am I ? Old Guru ? ![]()
Walan , David Chong switch to Comfort , cos of NETS , Corporate card , Visa/MasterCard thing i think ....
Most important , call more powerful for Comfort .
Lastly , the new SMS booking , damn solid !
Fast , near , hassel-free , save talk-time , save sms ....... i kena one call on Friday at Suntec ... how fast ? He see reply message , i reached liao !
He was shocked , me too , so near , me at Suntec Tower 4 , he at Suntec Tower 5 , solid right ??
Mentor Poolman, ALN.
This what happen with my second outing today, I took five on-call jobs. Just keying in my password this morning at 306 carpark at Senkang 7am. Job offer from 308 came in. Took this job order heading to airport. Look... every minute the network is watching at you at any time.
My Hirer told me cause you are new last night, try not to pick paxs with big or small plastic bag heading to Chua Chu Kang cemetary very heavy jam this Sunday, you may encounter lost time. Maybe empty one way journey back.
Pickup pax at Yishun Ring road, a man with his two kids with few plastic bags. I asked him Sir where you are heading, Chua Chu Kang. A bit worry by now, asked him again, Famous fish farm there Chua Chu Kang, Safe....at the destination he never alighted please continue further, you know where he is heading Chua Chu Kang cemetery. Cannot tahan, asked him Sir you told me Chua Chu Kang fish farm, than now why it is cemetary. Sir said you taxi drivers if i never said fish farm you will never send me here.
For me maybe god know that I am new, after that family alighted at the cemetary another Mother and son pop in immediately, destination to Jalan Bukit Merah, press the button immediately started $2.80 no lost time.
This two trips everthing is cover today my rental of the day $45.80.
Total 266.30 km i cover from 7am to 4.30pm as a beginner like me without knowledge, my Sincere Thanks to my two gurus for coaching me and knowledges willing to pass-on to fellows new recruited as taxi driver and to their success, Three Cheers Guru.
Originally posted by chongctd:Has anyone try the three days short term leasing by CityCab?
There is such a scheme over at Citycab......eg : vehicle out on [email protected] Friday@12pm.....
I heard it can be any three days of the week but you pay full rental irregardless of the age of the vehicle and only OMO, strictly no relief.
Originally posted by ALN:oh really? but then Tue to Fri no power leh… if Fri 12pm to Mon 12pm sure many takers… me included…city cab only leave the worst days for this scheme… wonder what they do with the cabs Fri to Mon…
king, u a cabby from city cab? anyway thanks for the info.
Hi ALN,
I am with Comfort....
Very observant ....yup day shift...
Last Sunday my yellow citycab from Ang Mo kio picked up one young couples headed to Canberra Road. when alighted below their HDB block, Indian Couples said Yishun Industrial park Indian Temple when alighted in front of the indian temple another Indian Couples said Sembawang Town Council, reached the destination, at the same spot another Chinese Couples said Pek San Teng when they alighted just moved a while, Screen Panel job offer Toa Payoh Lorong one to NUS hospital. At NUS hospital one younster said to Tiong Barhu Plaza, from Tiong Bahru Plaza next Chin Swee road Landmark Tower.
Wow. high tide liao should go for toilet break.
From here I surrender press Busy and go for my lunch at Tiong Bahru food center for my bowl of Pig Organ Soup.
Sometime i think about, driving taxi is also very interesting as a partime driver like me only on weekend and also luck count.
Originally posted by kinwashi:Last Sunday my yellow citycab from Ang Mo kio picked up one young couples headed to Canberra Road. when alighted below their HDB block, Indian Couples said Yishun Industrial park Indian Temple when alighted in front of the indian temple another Indian Couples said Sembawang Town Council, reached the destination, at the same spot another Chinese Couples said Pek San Teng when they alighted just moved a while, Screen Panel job offer Toa Payoh Lorong one to NUS hospital. At NUS hospital one younster said to Tiong Barhu Plaza, from Tiong Bahru Plaza next Chin Swee road Landmark Tower.
From here I surrender press Busy and go for my lunch at Tiong Bahru food center for my bowl of Pig Organ Soup.
Sometime i think about, driving taxi is also very interesting as a partime driver like me only on weekend and also luck count.
so you must have been very busy till got no time for toilet/meal breaks..
but on the other hand, you must earned quite abit last sunday..![]()
Originally posted by kinwashi:Last Sunday my yellow citycab from Ang Mo kio picked up one young couples headed to Canberra Road. when alighted below their HDB block, Indian Couples said Yishun Industrial park Indian Temple when alighted in front of the indian temple another Indian Couples said Sembawang Town Council, reached the destination, at the same spot another Chinese Couples said Pek San Teng when they alighted just moved a while, Screen Panel job offer Toa Payoh Lorong one to NUS hospital. At NUS hospital one younster said to Tiong Barhu Plaza, from Tiong Bahru Plaza next Chin Swee road Landmark Tower.
good connections very shiok to drive.... no need to look for pax.... in fact even that take call cos each call take up about 10 minutes for only $2.1 extra... unless u are in ulu area...
driving taxi PT of course very shiok... no stress and a new experience from usual day job
Yes my collection last sunday was very interesting. QX179R. You know as blur spider and new hand, how many offer jobs i took, total 8 calls. But all this calls and luckily all i know and it is hit and run type, easy like ABC.
As like what brother ALN said, take sacrified you times in-exchange for experiences and still peoples gave you money. This kind of funs no question about.
Another good outing.
Stay tune.