Originally posted by ALN:hey kin, looks like you are picking up more tricks as you become more seasoned… i have yet to drive day shift but without city surcharge in day, i find driving day a bit sian… but I observe morning peak is really good demand unlike evening peak…
last Fri me collected my record fare so far $57.4… on call from clark quay at 2am to Woodlands and back to tiong bahru… very shiok
i forgot. u still driving 3/5/7 morning right?
... got time me must meet up few forum cabbies, starting with poolman and david… i always think younger cabbies have very different personalities and background… interesting to meet up…
Yeah man , meet up @ Duxton Road where almost every Monday evening i will be there to have some fruit juice .
Fruit juice on Uncle Poolman me .
My nickname @ No.60 Duxton Road is Roxy .
Originally posted by kinwashi:Day shift actually not easy, but all this days from day one I am ok every trip make a handsome sum, there are many old birds around which road you know they know better, whereas night from my hirer before 12 am there are many jobs ater 12 am it all depend on luck and not much taxi around road there are not much mineswepper Taxis combing one single road going by group red yellow silver blue blackyellow white ya. is that so. I will try one night and see how about.
Give u a tip on evening shift routine .
If a reverse routine of a day shift .
Day shift , BT Pj , CCK , Teck Whye , Yishun , Wland , Sembawang , Sengkang , Hougang , Punggol , sure got pax to pick , right ?
But night shift , a/m places is what we so-called Dark Zone , 95% no pax , must go town .
Night shift is all about CBD or surrounding CBD . Or industrial estates like Tuas , Jurong , Changi Business Park , International Business Park or airport .
Night shift , if u adopt day shift strategies , sure die !!
Day shift , if adopt night shift cbd concept , also die !!
Bear in mind , day shift and night shift , use reverse formula .
Eg , day shift , go Harbourfront area , sure die , west coast side all no demand .
But night shift , west coast , from Jalan Buroh , to West Coast Highway , to Pasir Pj , to Telok Blangah & Harbourfront area ......... it's the best stretch for us . Piece of so called gold mine .
I usually bid jobs at Alexandra area before i hit Harbourfront .
Hit target percentage : 99% . Monday to Friday .
1% on Saturday to Sunday .
anymore to share?
anymore interesting passenger experience to share?
Originally posted by kinwashi:Which kind of Pax is the most difficult and most fussy and money like bullock cart when they take Taxi. You can ask any Taxi driver in this industry everybody know or maybe my Guru ALN or Mentor Poolman can name a few over here.
Difficult ?
Answer : Drunkards Cos they always say it's the wrong place . Cos they always hard to wake them up . Cos they always take money slowly , but when they pay fare , u knew they are not really drunk . Really drunk fellas dun know how much they paid , bluff drunk one wait for your change .
Fussy ?
Answer : Indians Must be fastest , shortest , cheapest and air con must be freezing and radio must be tune to 96.80fm , knn .
Money like bullock cart
Answer : Indians also . Anything above $0.10 of what they usually paid , they claimed u are looping around . but usually they kana fuck from me . Mian Ket kee , jiao kan !!!
Ang mo gave tippings ? No all la .
Australian u dun likely to get much , or nothing at all , usually nothing .
American ok la , tip a bit .
English gave the best tippings .
Kiwis i dun pick alot .
Candians is also good at tipping .
Scottish and irish , like their english counterpart , always tip on the service sector .
Indians , no way they tip , once they tip , u are going to hit lottery .
PRC tippings ? More like we have to give discount them further , tips ?
I can distinguish between Aussie , English and Americans ..... from accents , so i love English , i would break the ice like : " First time in S'pore ? "
" Which part of London u from ?"
" Oh i see , so do u support Liverpool ? " heheheh
" Me supported Liverpool all my life since Joe Fagan as manager "
Scottish ? U'll never understand what they saying .... just asked Glasgow > Motherwell ir Abderdeen ? hehehehe
Malay usually like $9.20 , they pay $10 , and wait for change .
But when like $9.70 , they pay $10 and say keep the change .
Expats Indian they pay sharp , no more no less , but when they pay , always $50 notes .
Frequently get requests,
"Uncle can you drive faster, I' late for.........".
"Please wait, my friend haven't come yet.".
For locals, when they made requests and you comply and at end of journey, not even a word of thanks. 10cents change also must take.
Ang Mo told me to wait, I waited 15mins, fetched him to airport, $31 fare and he gave me $50 and said keep the change and he said thanks for waiting.
Ang Mos said they must book into camp at Naval Base at 2359, please hurry. We reached base with 7 mins to spare. They paid using credit card and gave me $20 cash as tips.
Now when locals made requests like drive faster, me no 'hue' or ask them to take another taxi. Not the money but their attitude that I dislike. Once I speed for this young man, I kena radar camera from TP on roadside, reached his destination paid his exact fare and quickly disappeared.