I dun think I can continue to take taxi to work becos they are getting too expensive for my pocket. Now they slap more ERP - which means cab fare that uses to cost $8 is not $15 plus. Almost 50% increase. Do you know how many plates of chicken rice I can eat with that extra $8 saved per trip? At least 2.
I found this unhappy taxi uncle petition, http://www.petitiononline.com/sgtaxidr/petition.html
8 to 15 is almost 100% increase...
last time u take taxi to work also cost $8, if u go public u'd have save 2 plates of chicken rice.
taxi fare really nuts liao.
$8 to $10 is reasonable AT LEAST
but $8 to $15 pruss ERP = shit
yea i agreed wif it too..
somemore i stay in town area..
even worse..zz
Channel NewsAsia - Wednesday, June 18
SINGAPORE: With more ERP gantries within the CBD and the increased ERP rates next month, Taxi Operators’ Associations (TOA) are concerned operating costs will go up, especially since this comes on the back of rising fuel prices.
The TOA will discuss with taxi companies ways to help cab drivers cope with the rising costs.
Businesses in Boat Quay, Clarke Quay and Chinatown are also bracing themselves for tough times.
Some also predict that more office workers will end up staying even later at work and leave only after 8pm to avoid paying the higher ERP charges.
Five new gantries, forming a cordon along the Singapore River Line, will be activated on July 7.
Those at Fullerton Road, Eu Tong Sen Street, New Bridge Road and South Bridge Road will operate on weekdays from 6pm to 8pm. Motorists will pay S$2.00 from 6pm to 7.30pm and S$1.00 from 7.30pm to 8pm.
Gantries at Fullerton Road and Eu Tong Sen will also operate from 12.30pm to 8pm on Saturdays and motorists will have to pay S$2.00.
Also from July 7, ERP rates for 32 of 65 gantries island will increase by between 50 cents and S$2.00. The gantries are primarily in the Central Business District (CBD) and Orchard Road.
Cab companies ComfortDelGro, Trans—Cab and Smart Automobile have already introduced rebates to counter the previous increases in ERP expenses.
The Taxi Operators’ Associations are urging the Land Transport Authority and taxi companies to explore more options to help cabbies.
However, some taxi drivers feel the higher ERP rates will be worth it.
"It (traffic) is easier flowing, the traffic is less, so we can give better service to our customers," said a taxi driver.
But some commuters say they will give up on taking cabs in the CBD area.
"By bus... by MRT — that’s all. Definitely, no more cab for me," said a commuter.
Businesses in the affected areas are not happy with the additional ERP gantries.
Shopowners, ferrying their goods in and out of the city, will incur more business costs, said Charles Ho Nai Chuen, vice—chairman for Chinatown Business Association.
"It’s difficult for our customers to come into the city, because they need to pay a hefty sum of ERP charges," he added.
Some businesses are banking on their regular customers.
"Our dinner clientele is usually bosses, managers, or families. So the evening ERP charges don’t really bother them," said restaurant owner Tan Siew Cheng. — CNA/ir
dun take lo.
haha. last time i will take if i feel lazy but nw i wont take even if i feel lazy, only take if really necessary or in emergency.
Take transport number 11 lor!
if we all go public, we can open our own Krusty Krabs soon.
order up!
yeah it is hell expensive. sumtimes when we are really in need of a cab due to last minute rush, we still have to hestitate whether there is other alternatives to cabbing.
Originally posted by ghast.:yeah it is hell expensive. sumtimes when we are really in need of a cab due to last minute rush, we still have to hestitate whether there is other alternatives to cabbing.
yes there is! the cabriolet
Dats y gahmen encourages sg pple 2 take public transport mah... Tis is all 'bout political strategy.
Then the government has achieved their ultimate motive in getting you to get into a bus and MRT , which is not earning enough . Especially NEL Line , still in a red .
That is what happen when Singaporeans complaint about the cost of living , this is one move to curb the cost of living .
Taxi fare is still ok if u take to and fro outside CBD area .
If u intend to go into the CBD , please prepare to pay more .
Business District , i always think , it's mean for business ...... but u are going to work . The Garmen will tell u : " Take a bus or MRT " .
Taxi service , during peak hours , maybe anytime inside CBD , is meant for business class people , or foreign business people , tourist or people who can reimburse their taxi fare ..... Singaporean please switch to MRT please .
The Garmen is changing Singaporean's mindset slowly , so as to make them adept into a new transportation environment and policy .
Originally posted by Lefti68:Dats y gahmen encourages sg pple 2 take public transport mah... Tis is all 'bout political strategy.
after tat, mrt and bus fares will also go up... then wat? "encourages" ppl to cycle, a more healthy option? they'll prob implement erp for bicycle too (if the $$ is good)....
btw taxi is also part of public transport...
What about taxi drivers ?
For some , or for me , Singapore has got 4.5million people , i really cannot believe there is no 0.0001% of people taking cab .
There must be at least one each minute that and who will take a cab .
The question is ...
Where ? Where the customer waiting ?
Why ? Why are they choosing taxi service instead of MRT/Bus ?
Who ? Are they business people ? Shoppers ? Locals ?
When ? The time and date they need a cab ?
What ? What are they doing next ?
The 5W big factors that help us find our elusive customer .
Originally posted by tare:
after tat, mrt and bus fares will also go up... then wat? "encourages" ppl to cycle, a more healthy option? they'll prob implement erp for bicycle too (if the $$ is good)....
okie. Mi wil go 2 invest on 1 BMX. ![]()
Originally posted by tare:
A more expensive public transport , more comfortable , more privacy , and rapid .
Please dun compare taxi and bus fare .
Originally posted by Lefti68:
okie. Mi wil go 2 invest on 1 BMX.
cheap, environmentally friendly, and most of all, gets you there =)
Originally posted by Poolman:Then the government has achieved their ultimate motive in getting you to get into a bus and MRT , which is not earning enough . Especially NEL Line , still in a red .
That is what happen when Singaporeans complaint about the cost of living , this is one move to curb the cost of living .
Taxi fare is still ok if u take to and fro outside CBD area .
If u intend to go into the CBD , please prepare to pay more .
Business District , i always think , it's mean for business ...... but u are going to work . The Garmen will tell u : " Take a bus or MRT " .
Taxi service , during peak hours , maybe anytime inside CBD , is meant for business class people , or foreign business people , tourist or people who can reimburse their taxi fare ..... Singaporean please switch to MRT please .
The Garmen is changing Singaporean's mindset slowly , so as to make them adept into a new transportation environment and policy .
lol.. yesterday I took a mercs cab, the cabby ask me if I see someone just outside ERP or CBD area, will I pick them up? he say only stupid people will pick those just outside those area. he say most will just drive in earn the extra charges.
but then again, now so many cabs. they also bo bian.. can earn must earn lo.. if not very hard to survive..
sg has too many cabs/
For me , it's not the demand of taxis that killed us , it's the rising cost of diesel killing us slowly, i really dunno if i can cope , if our diesel does up to $2 / litre or more
Currrently , i paid $1.23 / L , which i paid about $37 for every $300km , my earning is about from nett $100 to nett $80 , a $20 more compared to previously .
That is $1.23 per litre .
If $2 / litre ... i am going to pay $60 for 300 km .
Originally posted by Poolman:For me , it's not the demand of taxis that killed us , it's the rising cost of diesel killing us slowly, i really dunno if i can cope , if our diesel does up to $2 / litre or more
Currrently , i paid $1.23 / L , which i paid about $37 for every $300km , my earning is about from nett $100 to nett $80 , a $20 more compared to previously .
That is $1.23 per litre .
If $2 / litre ... i am going to pay $60 for 300 km .
i once talked to a cabby..
tat there are particular petrol stations tat allowed cabbies to top-up petrol..
but the diff. in cost between those Shell etc..
is very small only..
truth?
Originally posted by a-Lost-9uY:
i once talked to a cabby..tat there are particular petrol stations tat allowed cabbies to top-up petrol..
but the diff. in cost between those Shell etc..
is very small only..
truth?
diesel u mean.
anyway, the cost btw diff petrol stn differs by a few cent
Originally posted by Poolman:
A more expensive public transport , more comfortable , more privacy , and rapid .Please dun compare taxi and bus fare .
pls read clearly wat i said and wat i quote... i only state taxi is part of public transport... nowhere in my post did i compare their fares... ![]()
now get car better then cab.. at least when u have financal needs u still can sell the car.. unlike cabs.. like u can ask for refunds
Originally posted by youyayu:now get car better then cab.. at least when u have financal needs u still can sell the car.. unlike cabs.. like u can ask for refunds
medium category car maybe, doesent work out if u get a already very depreciated car, and when u sell it, not worth at all