Originally posted by chuapcd:Ya Attended the CityCab orientation last night...plan to finished the course asap. trying to book the excursion on 20 Jul. Test should be ard 29 Jul. In the training, those question on how do you go from airport to xxx Hotel, Hotel to Chinese Garden etc...Quite challenging for me. Those route could be difficult to memorise.
I finished my online course and quiz within a night, not difficult actually, more of general knowledge. Emabssies is really the killer, retook that module during my online test at Singapore Taxi Academy, took at 0900 hrs fail, retook at 1000 hrs, passed, that's how fast for re-test!
Looking to switch over to Comfort/CityCab, contemplating whether to go for Toyota Crown or Hyundai Sonata, whether to be a hirer and get a relief later or just be a relief. After driving solo for 6 months, don't want to go the same route, like what Poolman told me late last year, no life man!
Embassy ?
If planned to drive night shift , know so much embassy for what ?
Night shift must know where Zouk , Tian An Men , Ah Hua Bak But Teh , Geylang Lor 12 got what chick , Lor 14 got what chick , Lor 28 got what chick ..... etc .
Night spot is more important .
if drive day shift , know so much Zouk and St James for what ? Must know where DBS Tower , Capital Tower , MOM , Ministry of Foreign Affairs .
Anyway me master all liao .... whatever fuck Embassy , Ministries , where's Ernst & Young and PWC , where's KPMG , where UBS , where's Credit Suisse , where DBS IT support Unit , UOB IT Support Unit etc ....
In fact there info i learnt from experience , syllabus never teach .
Still xperience vital .
David Chong , now u conceded OMO no lifestyle , right ?
To those who thought of going OMO , David is one clear example of giving it a shot after my advice .... he surrender , it's a NO Life job as MOM .
Go and have a think ..... no joke leh .
2 fellas surrender liao , Poolman and David .
Back to Embassy .... knn i discovered most embasssy located at Nassim Road .
Vietnam , Philipine , Japan , Russia , .... all at Nassim area .
Then China , Australia , USA , Britsh embassy all neighbours .
Korean embassy located at Scotts Road , Goldbell tower .Near Newton MRT .
Indian embassy At Grange Road. Thai Embassy at Orchard .
Swiss Club road their embassy also there .
Malaysia Embassy and Brunei Embassy quite close together . Near Jervois .
The rest of the embassy not important .
Anyway , all embassy in the City la ....
No embassy at Yishun la ....
I am looking to be a Comfort or CityCab Hyundai Sonata relief, have enough of that slow and noisy Toyota Crown!
Hi Chuapcd, my excursion is also on 20 jul..
Maybe we can meetup for coffee ah.
Hi cizzeler...sure...See u on 20 Jul :)
Red wish have to go OMO if want to enjoy the $260 mthly benefit .
CNG can afford go OMO , for Sonata or Crown to go solo , the diesel overhead going to kill off any chances of getting any better salary .
That's why I dare not be a hirer for Comfort/CityCab Toyota Crown or Hyundai Sonata, these days diesel for half shift could cost more than the half shift rental!
Hi again.
Did my med checkup at the Healthway clinic at Hougang point ($25++) and X-ray at Ang Mo Kio St 42 ($12.80) yesterday. Will be collecting the X-ray results today at 3pm, before heading to Sin Ming to register for the online training. Hopefully can be orientated by tonite so can start the course ASAP.
ALN, thanks for the little calculation in your post. Understand now it's not worth it to drive just a few hours after my classes. Better if I let-out after 5pm if I'm the hirer. Or take your advice and just do relief in the day. Would like to drive on weekend nites too. I think it'll be easier if I hire and let out on the days I'm not driving, then to hope to find a hirer willing to let a relief drive on the hot nights. Am I right?
Went for the online training orientation at Sin Ming just now. The briefing finished at 8pm, so not a "3-hour orientation" as stated.
The lady instructor showed us the available slots in the excursion on 3 Aug (8) and 17 Aug (38). And being a friday nite, I could foresee the 3 Aug excursion slot goin fast.
I've tendered my resignation today so need to start driving as soon as possible after my one month's notice period, so if I missed the 3 Aug date, I'd be jobless for a couple of months.
Came home just now at 9:30pm. Logged on straight away and completed all quizzes at 11pm. Clicked to book an excursion and - guess what - available slots down to 4! Phew! 4 takers in the four hours before I managed to book mine.
So it's a 3 Aug excursion for me. After which my exam will be allocated during the week after National Day. Good timing cos I'd be officially out of my company by then.
But I just got to know from the instructor during the orientation that I'd still need to wait about 3 weeks for LTA to approve after I have passed my exam. I didn't know about that till just now... So I'll still be without income for a few weeks while waiting for LTA.
There's also another option if I can't find a hirer for weekend nites.
Short term hiring. If I plan to drive on some weekends, I can just take up a 3-day block of friday-sunday. Then monday go back being a Relief. The rates are a little higher tho, about $94 after GST (for Crown only, regardless of taxi's age). This is, of course, when I can't get a hirer to let me drive the weekend.
A logical back-up, right?
Citycab got lease out short term one ma ...
Like friday , saturday and sunday only ....
Weeeeee.... just came back from the test centre...
Pass the TVL test on first try...
Walan sibei heng.... got some last minute advise from a fellow classmate on the embassy & private apartment.. if not sure fail..
Congrats cizzeler...can share the tips? Going for the test tmr :)
oh dear... i think i am too late...
now than i see your message.. your test in the morning?
So Cizzler and Ah Chua going to touch taxi steering liao ?
Good life la .... easy life , own time own target , eat also own time own target ... got mood work longer , no mood coffee shop drink coffee .
Better find a cab with car stereo , or else damn boring .
Also find Sonata better , less fatigue .
As long as u are a careful driver , should be okay . Cos u must possess extra alertness driving a Sonata , cos it's a Speed Demon .
Hot tip : some customers , see u all new bird , will tend to be " bully " a bit ..... just relax .
Most customers , see u all new bird , will normally asked : " Why chose to be a cabby , u so young ? "
The perfect answer : " Cold hard cash ."
"Which job give you cold hard cash daily , $2300 easily each month ? " Off on Sunday ? "
"$250 daily salary on a good chill Friday night ?"
" If hardworking , with brilliant brain , can get $3600 , base on 365 days ? "
Good luck , recently , environment does changed a bit , due to uncertain commuters demand , and the diesel surcharge , but dust will settle down , once again . At the meantime , do bear a bit .
Also each taxi companies , they are trying hard to implemenet different policies & driver's benefits , and getting different strategies done for CNG taxis as well , so .... let's wait for the market to settle down , then we'll see how it goes .
Hi Poolman,
I should be starting on september..
Just a bit worried cause I not familar with the roads... my previous job all indoor..
I drive only in the weekends..
BTW, i looking for day shift sonata...
Any hirer here staying at sengkang need relief??
if have sonata hirer looking for day shift relief, i oso want ah. knn rarer than the dodo bird!