two days is not much to share, cant compare to bros here with years of experience on the roads.
local pax is able to tell me which road they want me to take. foreigners pax are impatient and complains which road to take, grumbling all the way about how long its taking...
since I am new, not familiar on the roads, I would prefer locals than foreigners.
Thanks ALN
i put a map beside me wherever i go, i try to see which road to turn to go. I also ask if pax knows it, then can guide me. I find that actual on the road is very different from looking at maps, though it helps to know the major road to turn into to get there.still not sure about aye to cte, ecp connection. also which road from city can go into ecp?
I may also turn the wrong way, if he pax dont guide me along....... very very long way to go to reach your level of experience on the road.
cheers and thanks
I, think the best near your homeground and the neighbouring towns near Clementi you start to learn first, Dover, Bukit Panjang, Hillview, Sunset, these kind very potential. Morning On-Call plenty. Sometime me also head toward there.
Thanks kinwashi,
I have lots n lots to learn. looking at maps about the roads, places and most importantly.....where to pickup pax in the morning and afternoon.
I am only managing rental, fuel and not much else. not sure of which direction and where to pickup pax. just going around and join taxi Q whenever possible. Asking pax to guide me to where they want to go.
currently I go to commonwealth, clementi, jurong and boonlay to Q. sometime one way then come back empty to Q again....
Any guidance is much appreciated...thank you
OK Dun Worry,
I, think waiting in Q at Taxi stand for newbie is a bit difficult, wait for On-Call jobs is much better. Any Job offer just press 10 mins...( any probelm encounter pls Msg me i will guide u on this)... In the morning roam near the places that you know more, pickup any street job along you go. If the job completed like in town, better head back... staying in town nothing much you can fight with those Old Birds and there are to many over there, just an example from my experience if job completed at Shenton Way, head to Beach Road to Geylang or toward Marine Parade or East Coast, Bedok or Pasir Ris there is more chance of getting pax along. Or you can head toward Telok Blangah, Alexandra, Tanglin Halt, Ghim Moh, North Buona Vista Road or near the MRT many paxs this spot... than back your homeground. This is how i started from a newbie before using this formula. Today not a probelm for me. you name it... i will take it and fullfil you... just pay the meter fares haha.
Thanks kinwashi for sharing,
Happy New Year!
I m trying to pick more around my area, mostly short trips. the Q is longer time. so not much to make after rental and fuel. unless pax goes to longer distances. then i try to head back to west side again, sometimes have pax going this direction. thanks for your guidiance.
good luck in 2009
You too Happy New Year.
Making is not an important issue, just as a newbie, you are lucky your rental and fuel are all there.
Just an example last night my hirer said everywhere in town all are congested. You know how he run his night all at housing estates. Everywhere along he go pax flag him heading toward town, he politely told than the situation about the jam, but ferry them to the nearest MRT stations. Wau Pian he make a handsome sums out of this moves and many. So not all like him, other my just chiong to the destination and got struck and just singing song with the pax in the jam.
I think Guru ALN may got his own way, maybe he can update us on his part, Happy New Year Guru...Night Shift.
Today day shift also good many after lunch along the routes many ATM around,
Ahhh...seems like Bro ALN made a million on the streets on NY Eve! Must buy all of us a round of kopi wor!
No wonder he got so much energy full shift until 6.am,... that why he telling me Red Bull really help him await the whole night... Max than you must follow his formula it may work there is another Chinese Year eve waiting you to hit the bull eyes as like him...ya.
Me driving Sun and Tue morning. this slot look good. Sun last minute shopping paxs abundant for sure, Tue more on house call visiting paxs. Will update you till the days come. For me Red Bull no need at all...haha.
Just looking forward the Golden Bull whether it can chiong with it power to 2000 points again, wait and see than more business and more paxs taking Taxi...ya
Thanks kinwashi and ALN,
Looks like a Good start to new year for you guys. :)
I drive mon to sat day shifts only. need to study more of my area before venturing to other estates and city area. how to go from vivo to cte? is it go lower delta road then turn right?
How many hours do you drive before taking a break?
I bring pax there then turn back to west again... still have tons to learn...
thank you
Max...as what Guru Aln said..but then some pax prefers kampong bahru – bukit merah – CTE … maybe more to avoid at certain hours... CTE many exit you can do... kampong bahru toward outram on left and CTE, kampong bahru toward Eu Tong Seng at OG also CTE. which CTE.
Just remember at Vivo. on right ECP on left AYE now the about CTE. you can never get wrong on direction.
Orchard for those Hotels, when pax asked to go Airport chances are more so now you study well, where is the exit to Airport from Orchard. Get ready yourself for future need.
Orchard to Tourist Attraction where they go venture themself by taxi. Like example Zoo, Science Centre, Bird Park etc. you must know where is your direction, cause they are tourists cannot render to you or guide you, they are as poor as you on road knowledge.
Orchard road..where is CTE, AYE, ECP, PIE. you must know.
Just like Clementi your homeground, this four major highways you should know by now. where is the exit and those TPE, KPE,SLE,KJE this are not to be miss also, whichever towns you are in.
The rest, those small roads to destination pax can help you on this.
Let us know from Vivo back to the west like Clementi, Teban Garden. Ulu Pandan how you go by your own way. let share something over here.
Thanks ALN and kinwashi,
I take toilet breaks and a lunch break only.
I go to bukit merah to commonwealth avenue towards clementi, trying to pick up any pax on the way, depends on luck, sometimes have, sometimes not. afternoons are harder to get pax, varies from making $20 to $60 daily. dunno how some can average 80/100++???
i know the four major highways and SLE, others not much experience yet. how to go ecp from orchard and shenton way???
http://maps.singaporeexpats.com/
Like this kind of link... above practice it yourself at home when you are free. each and every roads are all there in Singapore.
When you encounter some probelm on route the same day use your computer... surf to this kind of link and clear your probelm is more practical and gain more on it.... do it yourself.
how to go ecp from orchard and shenton way???
get pax, varies from making $20 to $60 daily. dunno how some can average 80/100++???
How... the more you go the more experience you get...don't panic time will come...even more. For the $20 to $60 daily...average... how much you paid for your diesel and how many km you run, let us know???
Thanks kinwashi for sharing
my diesel is from $16 to $20. running 150 to 203km today. $46 rental from 5am to 5pm. but i reach the hirer place after 7am most of the time.
i make less than my rental most of the time...
is erp off from 11am to 12pm?
thank you
I go to bukit merah ( i notice along this route not very interesting cause the refuelling depot is there, many comfort taxis is running too heavy over here) to commonwealth avenue( i notice better only at MRT station) to Ghim Moh also difficult cause a taxi kiosk is there many old birds station there) towards clementi ( old birds from Ghim Moh will also round there),
For bukit merah you can avoid... go to other route like from Tiong Bahru,Bukit merah view, Henderson Road, Redhill, Lengkok Bahru, Tanglin Halt... also can connect to Commonwealth avenue west. why? more HDB blocks more chances. You can play around with all this choice or others. Never alway go back the same way.
If 150 to 203 km is OK but collection is a bit low. maybe your routes you run there is not much paxs around, try the above an see what is the different.
Just like fisherman out for their catch, does he know which spot below the water got more school of fishes, all depend on experience, If there is many seagull flying above below must got plenty. This formula...ya
thanks kinwashi for your help
no wonder i run empty along bukit merah. I'll take other routes as you say.
I reach my hirers place after 7am, so its 7+ to 5pm to handover.
normally I run around 150km, 203km only once. got $60 only once on my 1st day driving, after that....have not reach that since..
thank you