Originally posted by Gsviang:hi , i plan to start driving taxi,hope to get some tips from you guys
wat tips ?
Just get any taxi , and start whacking around in Spore .
Then sometime get whacked by customers , very common , then u learnt .
Big Tip : Taxi Stand is the best place to get a customer if u go round and round without one .
Good luck to those looking for Day shift .... hard to come by unless u Full Time 7 days .
tks poolman, is a helpful sugguest for me (i.e. taxi stand). btw will gps system solve my problem of being unfamiliar with road network
hmz.. i think gps won't help much cos you need to spend what 15secs setting destination? if at taxi stand, already many horns blaring at you. sometimes customer oso dun know destination name.."just go straight, hill something". knn, from coronation plaza, lucky uncle little bit knowledge, hillview lor. if dun know anyhow input gps sure kena L/R/C. if u kena "seraya something" how? Ave/Road - Jurong Isle ; Cres - Upper Thomson ; Lane/Road - off Haig Road (got 2 Seraya Roads in S'pore). Maybe gps helpful, but main issue is the time required to select destination, other road users won't give u the time. cos s'pore drivers all very impatient one.
very simple one...Springleaf Tower in Anson Road. GPS won't tell you you must go by Prince Edward Road because the drop off point is inside the building (up a ramp leading to the carpark). If you come by Anson Road, may God bless you. cos can only drop your pax at International Plaza. GPS?
best way is pool's way .... the hard way, kena L/R/C from customer. most pax know better than us which route to use at what time of the day cos they are likely to be taking taxis daily. I always ask which route they want to use. any jam not my problem. hey, i didn't suggest the route. this method, 2 months guaranteed all the important places/roads you'll know. many pax will teach shortcuts which they discovered. GPS will never give shortcuts. see this link on shorcuts http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1802/topics/323166
Originally posted by kinwashi:Just like last Sunday from Harbourfront taxi stand, one handsome teenager. Uncle Gopeng street…fast. There is one condo overthere, going there for my tennis game.
Like this kind of destination, what shall you do. GPS or Street directory too late. Already on board.
Just simply ask them back cause he know where he is going Gopeng street and the destination for sure.
So Sir where is the right location, btw M hotel and Amara hotel. So easy Tanjong Pagar road here we go. Sometime in this kind of senerio, open your golden mouth nothing is wrong anyway.
The condo is named Icons ....something like that .
Ya lor , open the mouth asked , wrong wouldn't get fuck . Don't asked got fucked must lan lan .
No need to ask unless you are so sure the place , like me , i seldom asked nowadays , cos heng heng i know those places , and i always got reasons for travelling my route .
Like at Esplanade Mall a few Saturday ago ..... pax wanna go to Tampines St.72 .
I haven't asked , he said : " Please go by Nicholl Highway . "
I replied : " Sir , are you sure ? Due to Fireworks Display , Guillemard Road very jam , all rushing back ... i came down from there ! " ( although i didn't )
I hate Guillemard Road , traffic lights damn sian ...
He love this route , cos save $$$ , shorter . Typical Tampines resident , must go by Nicholl Highway > Guillemard Road > Paya Lebar > PIE .
To sound convincing , i added : " It's up to you , if u're rushing home , go by KPE > PIE > Bedok Reservoir > Tampines 10 , cannot be that much of a difference ."
Ok he finalised ..... that is not finish .
After moving out of Esplanade Mall , i quickly go left into Esplanade Drive , he quickly asked : " where u going ? "
" ECP via One Raffles Quay , less traffic ! "
Add : " Wow , if want to go by ECP via Suntec , very jam , if go by Beach Road worst .
he then say : " Ok ! "
The story is , if u sounds confident , pax usually dun doubt you .
Originally posted by KCTK:hmz.. i think gps won't help much cos you need to spend what 15secs setting destination? if at taxi stand, already many horns blaring at you. sometimes customer oso dun know destination name.."just go straight, hill something". knn, from coronation plaza, lucky uncle little bit knowledge, hillview lor. if dun know anyhow input gps sure kena L/R/C. if u kena "seraya something" how? Ave/Road - Jurong Isle ; Cres - Upper Thomson ; Lane/Road - off Haig Road (got 2 Seraya Roads in S'pore). Maybe gps helpful, but main issue is the time required to select destination, other road users won't give u the time. cos s'pore drivers all very impatient one.
very simple one...Springleaf Tower in Anson Road. GPS won't tell you you must go by Prince Edward Road because the drop off point is inside the building (up a ramp leading to the carpark). If you come by Anson Road, may God bless you. cos can only drop your pax at International Plaza. GPS?
best way is pool's way .... the hard way, kena L/R/C from customer. most pax know better than us which route to use at what time of the day cos they are likely to be taking taxis daily. I always ask which route they want to use. any jam not my problem. hey, i didn't suggest the route. this method, 2 months guaranteed all the important places/roads you'll know. many pax will teach shortcuts which they discovered. GPS will never give shortcuts. see this link on shorcuts http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1802/topics/323166
I use a GPS unit when i drive, as i am not totally confident esp when it comes to the newer housing estates. However i do not depend entirely on it. I will still ask passenger for preferred route, and use the GPS as a supplementary guide. Before a major turn, I will ask passenger to confirm if its correct. Even if the pax is wrong and the GPS actually shows a better route, i do not question the pax; i will just follow the instructions.
I do not need to sit still and key in destination once the pax comes onboard. Proceed in the general direction first, then find an opportunity to do keying in when stopped at traffic lights etc. Its impt to know ur GPS's functions well so you wont fumble. Takes me less than 10secs usually.
If kenna "Seraya something" situation, just key in Seraya and all the various possibilities will appear, with the region (eg Jurong, Thomson, Katong) and you can then confirm with the pax which one is the intended destination.
It also comes into good use when the pax has no idea where the place is, but only have the address and expects you to take him there. And its an obscure road that you have not heard of. GPS is priceless in that kinda situation.
Of cos its impt to have a general feel of Spore roads, and have a good directional sense. If not, no GPS can help, sure kenna LRC from pax. Also impt to use a reliable GPS unit with a good and updated map. For me its a Holux with Mapking's SLA maps.
Hi guy need your advise since drive toyota crown for 3 month with every day $100 take home from monday to Sat, Sunday break even, with working hour from 7am to 8pm, OMO. What you guy think should I need to have a relief ?
yo zonc,
with relief, you can still take home $100 everyday except that you can stop picking up pax at 4pm. 4-5pm slowly relax top up diesel & clean taxi. same income. which better? but sat. & sun. of course slightly less.
unless u want to earn more than $150/day than omo.
wif relief and 9 hr driving take home $100-$150 easy. of course got good days & bad days.
Hi Moh Toh Leng,
I am not familiar with many roads/buildings. So, I am thinking of getting gps to start as relief driver, can you tell me what model holux you bought, price and place. Thank you.
I found one GM4320 gps at eastgear. $499.
Where to go on saturdays and sunday day relief? thank you.
Originally posted by Max888:Hi Moh Toh Leng,
I am not familiar with many roads/buildings. So, I am thinking of getting gps to start as relief driver, can you tell me what model holux you bought, price and place. Thank you.
I found one GM4320 gps at eastgear. $499.
Where to go on saturdays and sunday day relief? thank you.
I got my Holux 53CL 9mths ago at $499. I believe its should be alot less now cos i saw that the larger 55CL is going for $499 now. Got it from Perfect Watch in Sim Lim Square, but Eastgear is actually the distributor. I decided against Garmin cos of it relies on Malsingmaps which are not really up-to-date unless you are a contributor. I rather Mapking/SLA where mapking will send you regular updates. So far its 95% accurate. Eastgear gives good and prompt service.
I am a PT and dont drive on Sat/Sun, so cant help you there.
Cheers!
Thanks Moh Toh Leng.
How long does Holux acquire signal after you key in destination? does the cab have to stop to get signal? can get signal in changi airport pickup point?
That Gm4320 gps that i saw is also from eastgear. they put it in front of their counters, say its the latest chipset n faster in acquiring signals. And it also uses Mapking like Holux.
I want to do relief day. either 5 or 7days.
I just return from surveying people taking cabs in my area this deepavali morning.
For every hired taxi, there are 4 empty taxis driving around empty....![]()
is this oversupply of taxis on the road or reccession times???
Originally posted by Max888:Thanks Moh Toh Leng.
How long does Holux acquire signal after you key in destination? does the cab have to stop to get signal? can get signal in changi airport pickup point?
That Gm4320 gps that i saw is also from eastgear. they put it in front of their counters, say its the latest chipset n faster in acquiring signals. And it also uses Mapking like Holux.
I want to do relief day. either 5 or 7days.
If you are driving around with the GPS unit turned on, then you are already locked in on the grid and it knows exactly where you are liao. There is no question about getting signal. After keying in destination it takes about 2 secs for the GPS to compute the route. If there is no direct line of sight to the sky (under any kind of overhead structure) then there is no signal.
Thanks for your reply.
I guess then I can't get any signal while in changi airport pickup point as they are covered.
which cab company are you driving with? auto or manual?
thanks
Originally posted by Max888:Thanks for your reply.
I guess then I can't get any signal while in changi airport pickup point as they are covered.
which cab company are you driving with? auto or manual?
thanks
You can always key in your destination while in the airport pick up area, then once your cab is back on the road, the GPS will lock on almost immediately and compute your route..not a problem.
I am driving citycab sonata - PT.
Have you got your vocational DL? Got around to looking for a cab? Where do you stay?
Originally posted by Max888:I just return from surveying people taking cabs in my area this deepavali morning.
For every hired taxi, there are 4 empty taxis driving around empty....
is this oversupply of taxis on the road or reccession times???
Whether or not recession , or economy boomed , Deepavali is the worst PH for taxi drivers ..... and you actually chose the worst day of the year to perform a survey .
why not u chose any Friday evening in town , to survey whether or not it's recession ? Or over supply of taxis ?
Let me emphasis .... my GPS in my head , always is , technologies can never takeover my head , in terms of route and driving .
It's a disgrace for a cabby , to rely on GPS to any location .
All's in the finger tips people .
Originally posted by Poolman:Let me emphasis .... my GPS in my head , always is , technologies can never takeover my head , in terms of route and driving .
It's a disgrace for a cabby , to rely on GPS to any location .
All's in the finger tips people .
Wahlau you are saying im a disgraceful cabby ![]()
Must give new drivers some time to get acquainted with roads mah. Cannot expect new drivers to be instantly familiar with all Spore roads from Day 1 mah. GPS will help give a certain degree of confidence in the early days, then as experience sets in, then rely less on GPS lor.
I only drive occasionally, so I am not familiar with many roads and buildings.
I just got my VL. what is your daily rental for relief? how to look for hirer?
I am staying in clementi.