Day,
Every one hour is precious. 7.00am to 9.30am this slot, if you can do more try to do it, your rental and fuel of the day will be from here.
Every other hours it all depend how you cover it, there are market pax market areas, medical appointment pax medical center or hospital, corporate pax industrial areas or financial districts, shopping pax shopping centre, student pax to school, college, campus, etc. many up for you to choose your catch.
Upon this you still need many skill how to run with other competitor you face the same route for your prey, cause every route you run there is other taxis around.
Good Luck.
Guru ALN,
Only Night shift encounter this group.
What is Merlion paxs for night shift ? code word.
i bet it's passengers who vomit! ![]()
Thanks to ALN and kinwashi for yuor precious advice,
I will keep that in mind. what about night shift? to ply in town and shopping areas?
if no morning shift to do relief, I have to drive as night relief...
thank you
Max ..... according to my old kaki , now night shift quite stiff ....
He started at 5pm , he actually fully charge during peak hours n hopefully can fetch $80-$100 collections , then he also hope after 8pm , dun kena ulu housing estate like Bt Pj , CCK , Wland especially , Yishun , Sembawang etc .... He mentioned after 8pm , town simply is the only place where the demand is , but it turned out that all cabbies think the same thing , so as in the taxis all saturated inside town , esp. CBD area , everywhere taxis .
I personally felt that the cbd city charge $3 has to be taken out , at least for the time being . Until the economy and the financial situation gets better . The CBD charge are actually meant for the demand to curb taxi shortage for the 2 IRs , but now since the 2 IR delay it's construction dateline , until further notive , this surcharge should be taken out until the IR dateline is finalise .
I'd oready foreseen as early as last year that the situation is not any good for taxis when i am driving , worst when rumour that global economy will be in recession , and it did really hit us , earlier as they'd forecast .
I left , even if i dun go , i expect my wages to go down 20% at least .
$3000 , off $600 away , balance $2400 .
Rising cost on food , grocery and the rest , i dun think driving a cab can do me any good .
But one thing i actually dun expect , the diesel cost went down so much , i expect the diesel cost to remain .
Good luck to u people .
To look for morning shift ?
Hard .... cos due to retrenchments , many off to drive taxis , u see la , many ... will drive a taxi after 2008 , when 2009 come , u see la .
Many cannot find day , will no choice hirer one from taxi coy , then they will start looking for night relief .
This cycle i encounter a few times .
My first is when Singapore was hit by major facelife of many companies - Retrenchment !
then the greedy taxi company will bang in lots of indent for new fleet of taxis , then when the economy gets better , those new drivers will find a new job again , then the taxi company eventually will stuck with many taxis .
When economy good , taxi companies suffer .
when economy bad , taxi companies bloom .
Now best time to buy ComfortDelgro blue chips .
New players must expect to lower their demand of salary when first they drive a cab .
Be like me , set yourself , like first month , $1500 enough , then 2nd month , $1800 , then 3 rd month , $2000 ...slowly adjust to the environment of taxi line , then see where u stand , from there do an average each day from the fourth month , obviously , as days go by , u get better as a driver , in terms of how to find pax , and where to get lobans etc ...
There'll be a time , when u will get an average monthly salary of like $2500-$3000 . Depending of the total days u work .
Work 24 days , average like $2500 , 31 days will be like $3000 .
Year end , will get 20% extra , i dunno about this year , but from my last 8 years , each November and December , is my bonus month .
Averagely like $3600 ..... this year ? I dunno know .
December 24th and December 31st , this 2 days anytime , the salary will be like $600 for 2 days ... that's why !
poolman now must be enjoying life..![]()
merlion means vomitting pax? that makes sense…haha…
i kena 6 b4. Only 1 spilled inside cab a bit but he cleaned up… terrible experience
So What is Merlion now you know ha. maybe this you only encounter on night shift, but last Saturday kenna one at 1pm noon, japanese kindergarden student at West Coast. also lan lan went to petrol kiosk cleaned up.
yah taxi biz getting bad in recession….(everywhere, plant Chilli than one kilo $6.00)
so if your job still good, should keep it….(what is consider good job at this situation, there is not time to keep anytime you are out of job)
part-time cabbing always the best… like me…. not too stressed over either of 2 jobs…. best of both world… haha…(OIC)
in fact, if i can crave out a 3rd job, that would be better… diversify mah… haha…(what about the 3.04 million dollars job higher than the President of USA are you interested, you are potential lah) just joking ha.
Thanks to Poolman for sharing your experience,
Anything above $70 would be a bonus for me, I prefer to drive as relief for 9 hrs per day. I heard hirers have to drive 12 to 14 hrs per day to be profitable.
If I still cant find morning shift, then I have to opt for night shift relief...
thanks to everyone for all your advice.
Thanks ALN,
now I try.
what does day shift driver pay to hirer? $47?
Still cant find any hirer in clementi....
If can find day shift , $50 also pay also nvrmind , sure can make up the diff .
Can find or not ?
Cant find in clementi, even night shift also dont have...
maybe have to rent a cab myself then look for a relief to drive at night.
Thanks ALN for your help,
I have not thought about driving a merc before... is it costly?
CH8 interview of cabby says cabbie income down by 20% recently. scary news for new starter...