Originally posted by Max888:Thanks ALN for your help,
I have not thought about driving a merc before... is it costly?
CH8 interview of cabby says cabbie income down by 20% recently. scary news for new starter...
the Mercedes-Benz E220 CDI rental is about $130 if I'm not wrong..
but then again its worth it in my opinion..
Wah pian just an interview can represent the whole industry. he who say 20% down.
So far so good, me still as per normal, my run and my collection. peak hour slot still about collecting the same, and whole shift . Maybe i just PT...and not a member of NATO (sitting coffee shop break for long hours and lunch). Run as you can.
Newbies can chiong la .... season campaigner , like those driving a decade , they sian liao ...always the case .
Me almost 8 years , by the 5th year , i sian liao ...
From the time of flag-down $2.40 , booking $3.20 , peak hour $1 time to the changes now ... too many changes , in favour to the Bus and MRT companies , not sian ?
New bird for Merc Limo ?
Not a good idea , sekali when good time , this hirer decided to go solo again , kick u out , then u'll find it very hard to accept a Sonata or even a Crown to drive .
Then u LL sign up a Merc as Solo , then the tragedy starts . LOL
i agree. newbies cheong.
old unker 80km/h still stay on lane 1. dont want to switch lane 2 even when clear. ![]()
Originally posted by Max888:Thanks ALN for your help,
I have not thought about driving a merc before... is it costly?
CH8 interview of cabby says cabbie income down by 20% recently. scary news for new starter...
A few months ago my wages down 20% liao .... i posted here on 24th November 2008 , that i forecast a 20% dropped , true right ???
And i actually forecast it during October time , when my wages dip bit by bit .
Take my word , next year , 2009 , compare to this year 2008 , i forecast maximum 35% dip for the next one year .
New cabby , those below 1 year experience , usually still fresh , anything also no impact to them .... at a later stage when they are a season player , a little bit demand drop , they frustrated easily .
That time ,i target each night is nett $100 from Mon-Thursday , targetted $250 nett on Friday , and $200 on saturday night if i drive .
As a Full Time , i expect nothing than 100% average to my target .... part-time different , part-time $50 also can , $100 even better , $120 is bonus , they still have a FT job to survive .
FT drivers has got different mentallity when they work .
Thanks to everyone for your helpful advice,
Kinwashi, good to know that business is usual for you.![]()
I can't find any hirer at clementi area for day or night shift, nearest is at jurong east. No choice, I rent a toyota crown from comfort to drive, then look for night relief in my area.
A 4yr old crown, rental in comfort should be cheaper?
thank you
few month back, many peoples forecast fuel may rise above US$150, but look today it below US$50. So for the drop of 20% as reported by cabby during interview or what other per cent, this are just prediction.
Just individual, you can plan you own time table how you wanted to run. Just at noon corporate and factory paxs go for lunch cabbies also go for lunch the same slot, just an example at Havelock food centre one battalion is there full of taxis in the carpark during lunch hour. So why you never re- schedule you lunch hour and not to crash with hour that can generate your income. In CDB or near factory areas.
Thanks ALN for your advice,
looks like scheduling plays an important part in generating income.
still no news from hirers in clementi...look for hirer in other places or rent a older crown from comfort...
thank you.
What is super relief? How to be one? Can get 5days a week driving as a super relief?
Thank you
Thanks ALN,
super relief or hirer? I have to find a relief in clementi if I am a hirer.
Thanks you
Hello.... look for my case and now running PT City cab four days per week..and with handsome sum collected... as what Guru ALN pm me before and the teaching, all those tips and the secret of this trade the advantage and disadvantage, within two weeks i already drivng only Sunday weekend for one month, without any hussle go to the market as a newbie. Than slowly increased to two days than three days than now four days with three taxis in hand to play...Go for Lah or there is another three days rental from City cab you may try it and see whether you can take it, than decide as a Hirer perhap..
Hi kinwashi,
I cant find any hirer in clementi, comfort or citycab. so its bo pian, try as a hirer then look out for relief in my area.
thank you
Thanks ALN,
you are right, its better to do part time. i am going to register as super relief and get a new list of hirers looking for relief.
thank you
Went to sin ming this morning, was told that i have to be a relief before i can "upgrade" to be a super relief...
now looking for hirer, maybe do relief for 1 or 2 days a week 1st. maybe later join as super relief.
hi
6.00am to 4.30pm for 6 days at $46 nett. what do you think of this arrangement?
hirer at farrer rd. thank you
thanks ALN
its a crown shc license. no need to wash. $3++ to $5 per hour when send to maintenance. if sick and not driving, have to pay him $20.
i drive 6 days. off on sunday. he wants me to drive full on saturday so he can full on sunday.
$46 too much for crown day shift from 6am to 4.50pm. please advice.
thank you
Hello for me i started with City Cab Toyota Crown without washing $47 and only one Sunday per week. Wrack for 2 months can already than look for weekday with another Hirer so two weekdays and one weekend. Wrack Wrack than now two weekdays and two weekend just only one Sonata ...divorced the other two.Toyota Crowns....ok liao.
As new... not much choice for you to choose, even the best deal you got on the hiring part.
What about the driving part and the routes and paxs you need to encounter.
There are still many ticks you need to master. What time must you go to the kiosk topup gas avoid congestion. etc etc.
If you are happy with it, the few one or two dollars, take that machine go to the road one or two weeks or many weeks get yourself use to it. Than by that time you can than choice the best out of it. Divorce him lah.
Thanks to ALN and kinwashi for sharing your experience,
going to sign up this afternoon and start learning on the roads next week,
good luck everyone.