going to sign up this afternoon and start learning on the roads next week,
Sound good.
OK, just kenna today share with you here.
From Beach Road, Purvish street. This wonderful lady Vietnamese Pax on board, Uncle Fort Avenue, so i confirmed with her one more time, Fort Avenue East Coast, yes yes.
After at destination Fort Road, you know what happen. No no No uncle no, than where Fort Avenue at Fort Road. Knn how? so you say Fort Road East Coast... yes yes. I...no... no.
There is another Foch Road. you know sound the same. ya
So with the help of my street directory, there is one situated Leedon at Holland name under Ford Avenue....this is how it go about and you learn from here.
Another contribution and today kenna again.
This Thai lady pax at Lucky Plaza, on board Jalan Hitam Manis. Ok Balestier Road knn yes yes again. this time lagi best upon reaching ok Jalan Manis.... no no....Knn what happen again. Wrong. same trick took my street directory knn at Holland Road. One hitam really kenna hantum. what Hitam what Manis.
Jalan Ampas, Jalan Empat, Jalan Ampang, Jalan Angklong...this kind of Malay road names no probelm for Guru ALN but will be probelm for beginner. yo
Thank U 4 SIC Bros Kin, at least U know the small rd name, 4 me Hitam Manis, I will Ar... near where ? nearer landmark ? go from where nearer ? hahaaa........... some time must use army techtic mah......act blur. hehee.......... but I really dont know lar, Hi kin U signed up as new hirer, can share the proceduce, may b am keen. Thank U in advance.
thank you for sharing,
so many roads, stop and look street directory before moving off? can a newbie driver Q in taxi stand. later jam the Q to search directory.... paiseh to other cabbies behind
(hirer charging $1.14 per km for topping up fuel. is this market rate?) 6am to 4.45pm at $46/-
thanks
thank you for sharing,
so many roads, stop and look street directory before moving off? can a newbie driver Q in taxi stand. later jam the Q to search directory.... paiseh to other cabbies behind
Simple just ask the pax if he or she can guide you. If not just tell them you need to look at the directory just drive out from the Q, just park at convenient place a few seconds answer will be there.
Wah pian, talking about paiseh, you know how many newbies when Bustop got some potential pax some not, some show hand sign some newbies really zoom in to take them but those are not actually flagging for the taxi but is for the bus...haha seeing is believing. As you go along you see.
(hirer charging $1.14 per km for topping up fuel. is this market rate?) 6am to 4.45pm at $46/-
I, teach you go the nearest Comfort kiok topup you fuel at about 3pm until full the maximun, than proceed with your round until you handover to him at 4.45pm. Show him you receipt and the litres is stated there than the balance you pay him.
$1.14 is not correct there is still rebate.
Originally posted by Vee4317l:Thank U 4 SIC Bros Kin, at least U know the small rd name, 4 me Hitam Manis, I will Ar... near where ? nearer landmark ? go from where nearer ? hahaaa........... some time must use army techtic mah......act blur. hehee.......... but I really dont know lar, Hi kin U signed up as new hirer, can share the proceduce, may b am keen. Thank U in advance.
Small road like Jalan Manis in Balestier Road i took call there before so i know. But Jalan Hitam Manis i think maybe there but this time i am wrong. So now I know and you also know.
Another Kg Kayu and the other is Jalan Kayu.
Originally posted by ALN:when pax say some small road name, usually they will say off which main road… cos many other cabbies will already have asked them b4… e.g. pax usually say flower rd near kovan MRT or off upper serangoon…
if they dont say, u ask loh…
but it is your job to master all the main roads and expressway exit… no excuse…
Mega road e.g. all expressways, serangoon, dunearn, river valley, bt merah – if dont know, should quit liao… haha
2nd tier road e.g. boon keng, balmoral, cavenagh road, henderson, haig, joo chiat, corporation, dover… must pick up quickly
3rd tier road – e.g. flora, kovan, anderson, unity… if you know, pax more impressed and comfortable
4th tier e.g. those road that guru kin listed… no horse run liao…
To me, if you know 1st to 3rd tier roads plus you can connect them and short cut very well, damn solid liao… more important than knowing more of 4th tier roads…
Hi Highway Guru Alvin, can U tell me where is flora n unity..... the rest I knew it. Thank u.
Thanks kinwashi and ALN,
having problems logging on these few days...
I'll be asking pax for guildance and to master major roads and expressways 1st.
thank you
Originally posted by ALN:flora is off loyang ave where many condos are. u stay tamp so should know right?
unity is where double o or robertson walk is… intercept with mohammud sultan…
Ya la......... flora ?? I recall liao near Pasir Ris. unity oso seem like saw it in some where, now I RMB liao, how to RMB all the small roads, actually after driving taxi then i started look at the road signboard, hehee....... i think this is all abt experiences that U encounter, after driving tis few mths, I knew abt many funny road n many short cut. Thank U Hghway Guru Alvin.
oi people, last time oredy some shortcuts/alternate route mentioned mah.
see here http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1802/topics/323166
thomson/orchard alternate route...see nos.2
time to revive this topic, everybody contribute so we can share the shortcuts.
after 2 days of relief, I find that pax from hdb areas are more helpful when I am not sure of the way.
city area foreigners expects us to know any road, buildings and take the shortest way to get there. a headache for me.
still have lots to learn...most pax are helpful
After your two days as relief, what you encounter and how you manage it solo on your own, can share it with us.