hmm... anyone encounter taxi drivers using GPS Navigator?
Say passenger board tax, tell the driver distination.
If the driver spent 1-3 mins keying in the address into GPS Navigator,
will the passenger get annoyed?
I am asking because I need to use the GPS thing for my furture taxi driver job,
as I am not familar with the jobs.
sorry. I mean not familar with the roads.
Hi there. I have a GPS unit which I use when I need to. I have a Holux with SLA and malsing maps that allows me to search by many parameters, including address, road name or postal code.
It doesnt take 1-3 minutes to key in your destination, especially if you are familiar with the controls of your GPS unit. You can also request for the postal code of the destination and its just a 6 digit number to key in (3 secs?). You can tap away at the traffic lights and not delay the journey unnecessarily, but please don't fiddle with the unit while driving, for safety sake.
I suggest you acquire the GPS unit early and get familiar with its functions, so you will not fumble when you are actually using it.
Hi Moh thanks for the advise. I just purchase a shinco gps.
If you want to get a GPS personal navigation device, get one that uses MapKing GPS software, this is the most updated with data licensed from Singapore Land Authourity.
The follwoing models uses MapKing software:
Holux GPSmile 55CL
Holux GPSmile 53CL
Shinco GM-3510
Shinco GM-3511
Shinco GM-4300
Shinco GM-5100
Originally posted by cizzeler:hmm... anyone encounter taxi drivers using GPS Navigator?
Say passenger board tax, tell the driver distination.
If the driver spent 1-3 mins keying in the address into GPS Navigator,
will the passenger get annoyed?
I am asking because I need to use the GPS thing for my furture taxi driver job,
as I am not familar with the jobs.
Do what most taxi driver does . Before start meter - they alway ask where you want to go , some place they will not go then customer get off immediately. Then not sure will look map or set gps first, once ready to go, then start meter ... that way all happy and fair.
GPS ?
2002 , i smell nothing about GPS .....
My advice , do our conventional way of becoming a good taxi driver , road directory !
I always think , to depend on technology to learn , might not be as good as learning thru the hard way .
What hard way ? Kena left right centre from customers la .
Ya la , of course , customers will be impressed .
I never need any GPS .... most cabbies never rely on GPS , yet they still can survive , why ?
Have u thought of that ?
To be honest , my old 39 years old brain might be slightly faster than GPS i think .
Story wolf is right .
Another conventional way .
In fact , please be focus on the road , not the GPS .
If i am the pax .... i'll be worried when i see a cabby relying on the GPS to take me home .
he can or not ??? Cannot sleep , actually i want to have a sleep , now cannot . LOL .
Less reliance of the GPS from the first 3 months ....
Learn thru customer's travelling habit .
Like from City to Bt Batok , customer prefer to go by PIE , or Bt Timah Road ?
Like from City to Hougang Sengkang and Punggol , customers prefer which route .
Then from there , when u pick another pax to the same area , u can asked them straight away , which route they want ?
Route A or route B ?
Dun give them too much options .
Like bedok to Geylang , u know well customer will never tell u to go by PIE , but the GPs will tell u PIE is the shortest , maybe .
Like clementi to orchard , no customer will chose to go by PIE > Stevens Road > Orchard Road .
They will go by Ulu Pandan > Holland Road , but GPS might hit them to PIE via Clementi Ave 6 .
Got what i mean ?
Hmm... I've boarded a few... I suppose its the front screen GPS that is already there that you are talking about. Usually the cabby will key in the destination on the screen once we hit the highway only, won't spend time at the origin keying it in. But I've never seen it "directing" the cabby like "in 500 meters, turn right." those kind of things. It's more of just a map and where your taxi is moving, with arrows indicating. Quite accurate actually.
But like what Poolman said, Street Directory is safer cause it looks like there are many buttons to press before getting the map out and that might be a bit distracting while driving.
Anyway , it's a good excuse to blame on if one has got into the wrong route .
" hey sorry hor , i following GPS hor , want to blame , blame LTA hor ."
Just saw a SMRT taxi driver with a GPS machine in front of him , looking damn blur , knn looked damn kang chiong type , aircon he still sweat . LOL .
His Crown the seat push very near steering ... his body jerk very near steering , like he can see the road infront .... late 40's fella , damn funny .
I turned my head and smile at him , he pie say pie say looked at his right mirror .
His female customer also look worry for him . Damn funny .
Guys , tell u all what ....save your money , join CityCab or Comfort . Already come with a GPS with map .
Same la , customer wanna go where , like Peninsula Shopping Centre , go search , key board , type : P S C , very fast will come out Peninsula Shopping centre location .
Then from the location , clicked " Set destination " , set .
Here u go !
But hor ..... they only show u the Singapore map , with an arrow , with a red straight line link with destination , the system never show me how to go leh . Damn sian .
Like from Tuas to Airport , just a straight red line from west to east .
I still need my experience to take me out of Tuas .
GPS is all over Taiwan....it's good and effective IF the driver knows how to use it effectively!
Configuration also important. Those with mini screen and no touch screens are a waste of money. Gotta really invest.
More crazy taxis on the road.