yah same experience. ulu pandan go SGH also use holland...kim seng..outram. ulu pandan pple go everywhere also use holland rd. early morning sure use poolman's route cos no erp and also very light traffic on orchard road.
savannah condo (simei) to camden medical, my route
simei rise > PIE > stevens > anderson > orange grove > orchard > cuscaden > orchard spring lane. anybody got shorter route? poolman's "favourite" race pax asked me why I take long detour. knn. IMHO this is the shortest route.
Originally posted by ALN:one pax nagged that i make wrong u turn… my fault… so i allow him to nag a bit… but he doesnt stop… so i ask ‘do you want me to drop you at same spot and you take next cab?’... then he became friendlier… give and take mah…
basket.
ur fault stil yaya simi.
gib & take den u waste ppl's time got refund him anot.
knn indiana & PRC always knn kao peh kao bu .... they actually can say : " Anywhere u think it's shortest "
But later they sure say : " You should go by XXX Road , not this road "
I knn bo ket kee one , i sure talk cock back : " U said it's shortest , this is shortest ! "
No no no , this is longer , tat route XXXXXXXX is shorter
" Then why u tell me anywhere shortest ? "
"U the driver u shoudl know ?"
"Yes , i am a driver , this is my shortest route , how ?"
" Then which route us short ? "
" I dun know the road name , but .... the driver last time took me the other way "
" So how much u pay ? "
They keep quiet upon reaching the destination . No need discount .
$10.10 , i also take the $0.10 .
Originally posted by kinwashi:Driving directions to Paterson Rd, Singapore, Total
19.2 km – about 16 mins Simei Rise Tampines.Head south on Jalan Segam toward Jalan Pelatok, Turn left at Upper Changi Rd E 0.3 km Take the ramp to PIE 0.3 km Merge onto Pan Island Expy/PIE 11.6 km Take the exit toward City/CTE 1.0 km Merge onto Central Expy/CTE 3.1 km Exit onto Cairnhill Cir 0.6 km Continue straight onto Cairnhill Rd 0.5 km Continue on Grange Rd 0.3 km Turn right to stay on Grange Rd 83 m Continue on Paterson Rd 0.2 kmPaterson Rd Camden Hospital SingaporeCan this be another shorter route recommended by Google.
hey kin, i think google routing useless. Savannah is at Simei Rise, totally no connection to Jln Pelatok & Jln Segam. that condo is Sunhaven lah. not sure about distance, but need to go in and then out of CBD. sure kenna f one. only in ok. camden not in CBD somemore. grange rd leads directly to camden already, why still need to turn into paterson rd? so not so accurate distance after all. thanks 4 the input anyway.
hey alvin, the knn pax is right, got shorter route, just that he din know it either. i posted it myself in the shortcuts topic earlier...basically same but ..... > PIE > thomson > whitley > dyson > chancery hill > chancery lane > balmoral > anderson > ...
no traffic, very few traffic lights, no ERP. but many turns as u mentioned so very easily misunderstood. this one should be the shortest & fastest.
good pax..so far for me malays best (more than 90%) easy going, not calculative, friendly esp the older generation.
Yeah, Dyson Rd and Chancery Lane...bring back many fond memories during younger days....
Used to catch spiders there with all my kakis back then...
And even get chased by, of all creatures, doberman... not one, my friend... but three of them...shit.
IMO...i will just go PIE-->whitley rd-->stevens rd-->scotts rd-->orchard bvld-->camden med ctr...least-hassle for me.
Hi,
dunno if you wanna update my status, since I've gone for the excursion and will be sitting for my first attempt at the exam on 12/8/08 morning.
Mebbe I can be "waiting for test" instead of "applying".....the latter sounds so...amateurish. hehe.
Wish me luck for the exam. My main concern is still the routes part in Section 2. Not much help on this section from the "tour guide" this morning.
Originally posted by Drive:Hi,
dunno if you wanna update my status, since I've gone for the excursion and will be sitting for my first attempt at the exam on 12/8/08 morning.
Mebbe I can be "waiting for test" instead of "applying".....the latter sounds so...amateurish. hehe.
Wish me luck for the exam. My main concern is still the routes part in Section 2. Not much help on this section from the "tour guide" this morning.
Hey there, wishing you all the best for your test/exams & do update here again on how you fared..![]()
y dis kinwashi so grumpy one.
in wat language do u converse wif ur passengers?
Hello,
took my TVL exam this morning: failed section 2 (Routes & Landmarks 21/30).
Retook at about 2:45pm. 29/30 :)
Hope I won't need to wait too long for my VL.
Originally posted by Drive:Hello,
took my TVL exam this morning: failed section 2 (Routes & Landmarks 21/30).
Retook at about 2:45pm. 29/30 :)
Hope I won't need to wait too long for my VL.
congrats..![]()
Thanks, guys.
Btw, for those interested in taking up a VL or just wanna know, I'll list down the procedure and how long and how much it costs for each "phase".
6 Jun 08 - Submitted TVL application form at a Comfort/Citicab roadshow. Paid $40 and provided a passport sized photograph.
Received approval letter from LTA around end of June/start of July. Sorry no exact date cos I don't have the approval letter.
3 Jul - Went for medical checkup at a clinic nearby home ($25++) and X-ray at an X-ray clinic(?) ($12+). Note that X-ray results can only be collected the following day.
4 Jul - Collected X-ray results and applied for online TVL course at ComfortDelgro, Sin Ming. Paid $267.50.
11 Jul - Attended online training orientation at Sin Ming's Citycab Training Centre. Provided another passport sized photo here. Started my "e-learning" this nite and managed to book an excursion on 3 Aug, the earliest date available.
3 Aug - Excursion day. Issued exam schedule on this day. Spent $3.20 on kaya toast, eggs and coffee during the break.
12 Aug - Receive TVL certificate after passing the tests. Retook one module that cost me $15 more. Btw, parking charges at the S'pore Taxi Academy is $1.20 per hr.
3-4 weeks later - Should be issued my TVL.
So, if I tentatively receive my VL by 6 Sept, the whole process will have taken me 3 months and $362+ (including the eggs).
Since the initial application can be made through post, the only necessary "contact time" would be the 1)medical checkup and X-ray, 2) the application for the TVL course at Sin Ming, 3) the orientation (after office hours), 4) the excursion (sunday) and 5) the exam. I'd also expect the collection of the VL to be during office hours as well.
Sorry if I bored anyone with my long post.
I write a lot when I'm happy.