Originally posted by ALN:so kin, how’s ur strategy for day shift? share some secret leh…. dun worry, KCTK no time to read forum liao….haha
So uncle day shift the pasture is not green either, circle links is our enemy, swine flu is another, and many loss their job became taxi drivers all taxis are out at anytime, so more taxis so more competition, many others.
Anywhere you go... not pax but more empty cabs, for me PT not a big issue, no ikan besar. ikan billies pun boleh...haha.
Those day when you started your engine just logged MDT...many ting ting sound keep coming.
But now not hectic and stressful like before.
Street job... taxi beggars are more, don't know what is catapult are for. here they wack there they wack, here they turn there they turn, all roads became a racing circuit for them to practise. For me take it easy your is your not your dun chase for it, like what you told safety are more inportant than those few singapore notes.
thanks for all the tips and advices...
so for day shift, got street job just take, else go Q at taxi stands rite?
how about CBD area? it is good place for picking up pax there during office hr?
Unlce Alvin..wanna try day ha...no probelm, just tinkle me at your service. Lobang and tips will provided free no obligation. Where and where, which time at which place potential chances of getting prey all the data i got now.
5am or 6am or 7am you started your journey from which estate, sure you will encounter many kind of taxis already on road infront of you or behind you. What shall you do... follow them or bump to other route. You must make your decision, if lucky the first prey heading west like tuas if he or she are in the hurry no chance for our competitor MRT, O-break free from them liao. Upon reaching tuas after pax alighted, now this is your decision again, where you shall you go, if jurong point you decided, than you must prepare the next few hours shuttle service at tuas industrial for sure. If you decided to head Taman Jurong not too happy also tuas industrial potential. So where, now Jurong west or Jurong east thinking maybe heading town than break free. This area also potential tuas you go, or the most longer journey they offer is to MRT station. They will go MRT to town after alighted you cab maybe 1 or 2 will go by cab to town. stay tune on day shift.
Originally posted by ALN:so kin, how’s ur strategy for day shift? share some secret leh…. dun worry, KCTK no time to read forum liao….haha
oi alvin, who say i no time to read forum. still follow. got nothing new to say so keep quiet. day shift strategy very simple. morning peak hours hdb towns for street hire, condo areas for bookings. after that go until where queue until where by finding nearest shopping centre/polyclinic/office/...actually cruise also can get pax. but must know which hdb town which street. as i mentioned some time ago, morning peak in the west, after 8.30am everywhere. after 9, north/northwest gold mine. anyway, what we know already all other uncles also know. it's how to get that competitive advantage. cos now it's 0.5sec between you and the next taxi. personally, i never queue at airport cos shift time is limited. 5km out from airport. sure got pax. within 15mins. airport queue at least 30mins. unless pick n go at airport. last time got, nowadays no more already.
pool, omo can hit average 4.5k pm. my friend driving 15yrs this amount he says can get. he drives 6am-8pm 6 days. sunday off. got 2 relief, 1 daily nite shift 8pm-6am rental $20. sunday whole day 2nd relief. so his rental only $83, diesel about $50, running cost about $130-$140 per day. 6am-8pm can collect ave. $350. BUT NO LIFE!!!
Originally posted by acidjc:wow. this is really informatives, and very helpful to newbie like me.
if I driving for 5am to 6pm day time, any recommedation of routes where I can pick up pax during the day?? I stay in Woodlands.
woodlands early morning no need think, checkpoint queue or mrt station queue. after 8am maybe ok. 9-11am gold mine. everywhere pax and not many cabs cos many already headed to town with pax. same situatution cck/yishun/semb. ave. 3 & 7 don't need to see. woodlands ring/circle die earlier cos near admiralty mrt. go to the 'leng-meng' drs which are away from mrt. more pax take cab. actually it's the same in every hdb town. however all the old birds already know this, so it's 0.5sec timing again. afternoon, woodlands very quiet and many cabs already returned and just hoping to pick 1 or 2 more nearby destination b4 changing shift. very very slim chance going to town unless u head to park E or senoko and wait for call. goodluck
Originally posted by acidjc:thanks for all the tips and advices...
so for day shift, got street job just take, else go Q at taxi stands rite?
how about CBD area? it is good place for picking up pax there during office hr?
street jobs i never choose, 5cents 10cents also take. u never know this pax bring u luck - arrive destination another pax waiting to take your cab, maybe solid one.
cbd after someone brings u in, dun go out empty. can queue at offices or hotels, but i think at least from 9am onwards for offices cos pple just got to work, not many will leave immediately for meetings, etc. be prepared for long queues. lunchtime raffles place any taxi stand good. if u suay, one 5cent/10cent pax bring u out of cbd. ex. UE Square. LL
Originally posted by kinwashi:Unlce Alvin..wanna try day ha...no probelm, just tinkle me at your service. Lobang and tips will provided free no obligation. Where and where, which time at which place potential chances of getting prey all the data i got now.
5am or 6am or 7am you started your journey from which estate, sure you will encounter many kind of taxis already on road infront of you or behind you. What shall you do... follow them or bump to other route. You must make your decision, if lucky the first prey heading west like tuas if he or she are in the hurry no chance for our competitor MRT, O-break free from them liao. Upon reaching tuas after pax alighted, now this is your decision again, where you shall you go, if jurong point you decided, than you must prepare the next few hours shuttle service at tuas industrial for sure. If you decided to head Taman Jurong not too happy also tuas industrial potential. So where, now Jurong west or Jurong east thinking maybe heading town than break free. This area also potential tuas you go, or the most longer journey they offer is to MRT station. They will go MRT to town after alighted you cab maybe 1 or 2 will go by cab to town. stay tune on day shift.
JW if got booking (usually b4 7am) see male or female. Male very high chance Tuas/Jurong Island. knn. if female very high chance town. take your pick, cos 7am hit town also no pax. if i kena tuas, never go back to JW cos all the cabs sending pax to tuas will go there. i min. 10km away. better chance and less competitors.
Originally posted by Poolman:
day shift ?Simple day shift theory ..... go towards the nearest taxi stand available ....
Like at CCK , go Lot-1 .
Like at Bt Batok , go westmall .
Jurong east , go Entertainment centre .
Tampines go Tampines Mall .
Simple ???
I saw many day shift drivers do it quite well that way .
simple strategy that worked...problem is now no chance to join the taxi queue cos no space...already too many taxis in the queue. see tiong bahru plaza..knn blocked the whole lane yet still want to queue. now many shopping centres the security guards don't let u queue beyong the allotted numbers. oh yah IMM after lunch, right entrance on JE st.21 usually almost blocked by queuing taxis.
So night shift many taxi drivers returning early home as early as at 1 am or 2am, Only one uncle alvin still not back home at 4 am.
Hospital...
Good contribution on your daily collection..hey newbies you can consider, pax offer easy job back to housing estates ones or some office area.
But at recent less taxi are there. all gone those Q.
Shopping Centre...
Now shopping Q at taxi stand, just like centrepoint or lucky plaza how many taxis Q even bus lane full day sometime one or two or three are there already beat the rule. Wow limousine are there too, not offen they are there but now it is common, a few time saw even the black limonsine from SMRT are there joining the Q, so how bad is now taxi driving.
Originally posted by KCTK:simple strategy that worked...problem is now no chance to join the taxi queue cos no space...already too many taxis in the queue. see tiong bahru plaza..knn blocked the whole lane yet still want to queue. now many shopping centres the security guards don't let u queue beyong the allotted numbers. oh yah IMM after lunch, right entrance on JE st.21 usually almost blocked by queuing taxis.
Yes, me based mostly on the north, east, south. West me try not to cover there 1 or 2 times no choice got to go if pax requested. But alway try to headed back to my base as fast as possible. Like those industrial area, just last sunday kenna from buangkok to tuas naval base, cos this sailor going for swine injection back camp at 2pm. Whole industrial area look like war torn not much soul. Empty cab lan lan head back AYE to vivo city more potential.
Originally posted by KCTK:street jobs i never choose, 5cents 10cents also take. u never know this pax bring u luck - arrive destination another pax waiting to take your cab, maybe solid one.
cbd after someone brings u in, dun go out empty. can queue at offices or hotels, but i think at least from 9am onwards for offices cos pple just got to work, not many will leave immediately for meetings, etc. be prepared for long queues. lunchtime raffles place any taxi stand good. if u suay, one 5cent/10cent pax bring u out of cbd. ex. UE Square. LL
Thanks KCTK, really good advise, I will rememeber what you say and practise. Thanks thanks
all tricks inside our pockets can be written into a book :" How to drive a taxi ? "
Originally posted by ALN:so KCTK, your relief still going strong? still you send him, he send you?.... haha
david...knn changed tastes again lor. actually finally we found it too troublesome to 'i send u, u send me'. he still driving sonata though. david, care to shed some light on yr new partner?
Originally posted by acidjc:Thanks KCTK, really good advise, I will rememeber what you say and practise. Thanks thanks
good man. tell u example. bus stop along upper east coast road esso station (next to casafina condo) around 7.30am. middle aged lady hail my cab. uncle jalan remis end. piang eh. it's just 50m from the bus stop then turn left into jalan remis. 2 min. job $4.05. why cannot take? more importantly, i was actually on the way to bayshore road taxi stand to queue. but at this time, guarantee white mice watching the taxi stand (only 5 cabs). this 5cent/10cent pax bring me luck cos after she alighted, "ting"...booking from bayshore park! knn turn into bayshore road, white mouse just left, but oredy 10 (yes 10) taxis queueing at the taxi stand. want to join the queue oso no space. sb heng ar.
Originally posted by KCTK:good man. tell u example. bus stop along upper east coast road esso station (next to casafina condo) around 7.30am. middle aged lady hail my cab. uncle jalan remis end. piang eh. it's just 50m from the bus stop then turn left into jalan remis. 2 min. job $4.05. why cannot take? more importantly, i was actually on the way to bayshore road taxi stand to queue. but at this time, guarantee white mice watching the taxi stand (only 5 cabs). this 5cent/10cent pax bring me luck cos after she alighted, "ting"...booking from bayshore park! knn turn into bayshore road, white mouse just left, but oredy 10 (yes 10) taxis queueing at the taxi stand. want to join the queue oso no space. sb heng ar.
Haha...bro.
That not short...this afternoon aiyo heavy rain, very heavy..pino ladies just opposite Hotel Royal bus stop.
Put up their hands two of them, waving...me looked at the mirror at the rear no bus..leh.
Ha..so zoom and picked them up... Uncle Hotel Royal. puzzle are you sure Yes..uncle.
Hey just opposite of you...what.
Yes..rain probelm, send me I pay money..than signal my right waited traffic to clear.
Ha..there you are Hotel Royal..$3.00.
Originally posted by kinwashi:Haha...bro.
That not short...this afternoon aiyo heavy rain, very heavy..pino ladies just opposite Hotel Royal bus stop.
Put up their hands two of them, waving...me looked at the mirror at the rear no bus..leh.
Ha..so zoom and picked them up... Uncle Hotel Royal. puzzle are you sure Yes..uncle.
Hey just opposite of you...what.
Yes..rain probelm, send me I pay money..than signal my right waited traffic to clear.
Ha..there you are Hotel Royal..$3.00.
good one kin. some of my shortest...
1. clementi ave.4 end (near canal) to clementi mrt. (worst..after pax boarded booking came, ...kena rejected 1 job)
2. telok blangah heights/henderson road junction to telok blangah heights end (circle)
3. best one....international plaza taxi stand to GB building taxi stand (2 ladies)
4. Lucky Plaza taxi stand to Paragon Medical taxi stand. (healthy young man)
above ones all not raining.
Originally posted by ALN:orh… david change hirer liao? then u found another nice guy relief? sure can find wan lah… david and you stay a bit far apart lah…
yah found another one staying nearby. this guy quite good. every week at least got 3 days collection above $250. experienced guy.
Originally posted by ALN:orh… david change hirer liao? then u found another nice guy relief? sure can find wan lah… david and you stay a bit far apart lah…
funny la David Chong this decent chap , stay near Telok Blangah , but chose a taxi at Clementi .....
Hi newguy32,
any experiences to share after you starting driving 3 weeks ago? esp to new would-be cabbies like me?
thx