Originally posted by CM840_2009:hope you are ready to pass in one sitting, no need to bring calculator or blank paper, they will provide you.
must bring the text book just in case... okay, good luck to you
Thanks for the wishes CM840_2009. I failed. Not able to pass in 1 sitting.
WTF , u failed ???
Nevermind , try again ..... so tough meh taxi course ?
Go and analyse where is those mistakes .
must be silly mistakes .
Ok , tell us your weakest subject ? Landmark ? Or buildings ? Road name ?
Hello Unker Pool, you think so easy har, you go and take the test, see can get 100/100 or not :) , seriously i feel it is tough too. but i lucky or got study hard, then can pass in 1 sitting. if i dont pass in one sitting very pai seh.
AxelC: which paper did you fail, ai yo, i really worry you fail then you really fail, please dont be upset, take again lor
Originally posted by Poolman:must be silly mistakes .
Ok , tell us your weakest subject ? Landmark ? Or buildings ? Road name ?
I failed section 2 and section 5.
Section 2: Routes and Landmark
Section 5: Name & Location of Buildings
Seriously and honestly, I put in alot of effort studying and I only got 1 incorrect mistake but I failed. Just failed by 1 mark only. Each time also like that. Horrible!
By the way, not only did I failed, alot of other people failed too. None of them managed to pass by 1 single attempt. Those in the morning came back in the afternoon. Failed same section with me. 2 and 5. An uncle failed section 5 3 times and paid $45 in total.
2 of my friends I got to know from Excursion failed Section 2. Another one failed Section 2, 3 and 5. So I think I didn't do so badly after all.
The questions are still lingering in my head, questions like:
- Which Road is Israel Embassy located at?
- Where is Norwegian Embassy?
Many many questions about Embassy until I crazy....
I studied about Embassy in Napier Road, The British Council,
- Embassies at Nassim Road, Japan, Turkey, Phillipines, Russian and Saudi Arabia
- Embassies at Orchard Road, Peru, Netherlands, Germany Thai and New Zealand High Comm
Also did ask about which road is Canossian School for the Hearing Impaired (This is not mentioned during Excursion)
Suddenly asked about Hotel Windsor also which I got it right cos I always take bus 62 and knew it is located at Macpherson but not many of the other candidates knew about this. Sijori Resort, alot of them got it wrong as well. Garden Hotel too, at Balmoral Road confused many of us.
Got this question, "Where is Villa Delle Rose located?" also for "Astrid Meadows" and many more...
Originally posted by CM840_2009:Hello Unker Pool, you think so easy har, you go and take the test, see can get 100/100 or not :) , seriously i feel it is tough too. but i lucky or got study hard, then can pass in 1 sitting. if i dont pass in one sitting very pai seh.
AxelC: which paper did you fail, ai yo, i really worry you fail then you really fail, please dont be upset, take again lor
I got study hard too CM840_2009, I can't accept failure in myself as I'm a perfectionist. I passed my Basic Theory 1st attempt, passed my Final Theory 1st attempt, TP 1st attempt and when my online taxi course, I passed all 1st attempt. I should say, the online quiz really doesn't help at all! Must study the book! WTF sia??!!!
But I won't give up, will carry on taking it. My exam started 9am, end up I retake my exam so many times till 5pm... so malu~~~
paper 2 and 5 - alot of people seems to fail these two papers,
when i took the test, it seems i was the only one who collected the certificate then got two more persons still doing the test but the rest who finished faster than me - all sitting outside when i came out they said they failed and had to re-sit in the afternoon. i quickly took the certificate and left. i really very lucky. i dont think i was good at all.
i remember i check all my answers before i submit and some of the answers i managed to correct myself.
i failed class 2B TP test 6 times and Class 3 TP test 2 times. my class 2b and class 3 licences were given to me by spf, haha.
AxelC - i did tell you about the embassy, how come you didnt study those embassy?
so when is your next test? so far - total how many times you take paper 2 and 5?
Originally posted by CM840_2009:paper 2 and 5 - alot of people seems to fail these two papers,
when i took the test, it seems i was the only one who collected the certificate then got two more persons still doing the test but the rest who finished faster than me - all sitting outside when i came out they said they failed and had to re-sit in the afternoon. i quickly took the certificate and left. i really very lucky. i dont think i was good at all.
i remember i check all my answers before i submit and some of the answers i managed to correct myself.
i failed class 2B TP test 6 times and Class 3 TP test 2 times. my class 2b and class 3 licences were given to me by spf, haha.
AxelC - i did tell you about the embassy, how come you didnt study those embassy?
so when is your next test?
Haha bro CM840_2009, I did study on the Embassies, but I did not study ALL of it. I only study those normal ones at Tanglin, Orchard, Nassim, Napier, Chatsworth etc. Did pay attention to even Poland Embassy which appear on and off... Horrible sia..
I learnt my mistake... Next test date still unknown. The little girl Ah Lee San told me that I will need to walk-in to go sit for my test and it's base on how fast the test candidates took their test lay. If those pre-scheduled candidates take too long, then I got to wait long long lor.... zzzzzzz
So far retook 2 times Section 2 and 5.
Failed by 1 mistake 22/30, 40/50. Passing is 23/30, 41/50. :S
Embassy only cover less than 5 questions , right ?
Then Embassies is not the only one killing you , must be Routes and Landmark , plus buildings .
If die die cannot remember embassies , forgo , concentrate on routes and landmarks , which is more direct i would say , And gain points from routes and landmarks .
Maybe my time , to pass you it's what they wanted ... they need cabbies .
Now too many cabbies , to fail and get generate more profits , maybe .
ya man , condo like Astrid Meadows can really kill u , cos not many people even know where's Coronation Road , now talking about Coronation Road West .
Originally posted by Poolman:Embassy only cover less than 5 questions , right ?
Then Embassies is not the only one killing you , must be Routes and Landmark , plus buildings .
If die die cannot remember embassies , forgo , concentrate on routes and landmarks , which is more direct i would say , And gain points from routes and landmarks .
Maybe my time , to pass you it's what they wanted ... they need cabbies .
Now too many cabbies , to fail and get generate more profits , maybe .
Hmmm, u're right bro Pool, I would say that it's 5 or less questions but these 5 are critical also. 3 wrong = contributed 10% of the failure rate + 3 from here and there, then + another 2 = 8 wrong = contributed to my 8 wrong answers which resulted in 22/30 which is a failure and need to resit for my exam again.
So far I've seen some many people took also failed these 2 sections. Someone did pass by chance of "guessing" but then failed at Rules and Regulations, so suay sia!!! I did so well for Rules and Regulations, 50 questions!
wa. looks like i very lucky:
my result was like this
Section 1: 44/50 Rules and regulation
Section 2: 26/30 Routes & landmark
Section 3: 8/10 General Paper
Section 4: 17/20 Defensive Driving
Section 5: 42/50 Names and Location of Bldg
why you call the girl Ah Lee San? haha, she is cute
Originally posted by CM840_2009:wa. looks like i very lucky:
my result was like this
Section 1: 44/50 Rules and regulation
Section 2: 26/30 Routes & landmark
Section 3: 8/10 General Paper
Section 4: 17/20 Defensive Driving
Section 5: 42/50 Names and Location of Bldg
why you call the girl Ah Lee San? haha, she is cute
My results totally the same as yours bro CM840_2009.
- Section 1: 44/50 Rules and regulation
- Section 3: 8/10 General Paper
- Section 4: 17/20 Defensive Driving
All the above totally same as yours. I call the girl Ah Lee San cos don't want to put her real name here la.... she got privacy mah, but she's really cute la... Haha.. small built, petite size and cute looking. =)
By the way, I've sent you a PM. (^_^)
Originally posted by AxelC:My results totally the same as yours bro CM840_2009.
- Section 1: 44/50 Rules and regulation
- Section 3: 8/10 General Paper
- Section 4: 17/20 Defensive Driving
All the above totally same as yours. I call the girl Ah Lee San cos don't want to put her real name here la.... she got privacy mah, but she's really cute la... Haha.. small built, petite size and cute looking. =)
By the way, I've sent you a PM. (^_^)
Share with you Axel, i just passed my TVDL this morning. Excel in every sections except section passed by 1 question. I found out that i've to develop a strategy 2 days ago on how to study routing which is my weakest.
I cannot study by hard or rote learning with memorising. So i study the fundamentals like the flow of traffic in certain areas i am unfamiliar.
Eg: paya lebar connect up north to Upper paya lebar. Rochor connect to Rochor canal and is a one way traffic. If the alternative answer is Rochor rd-sungei rd- bukit timah rd..
Then it is wrong - you have to eliminate errors and narrow down to only one choice.
I celebrate today.
Hope you are doing well with your retest.
Originally posted by RotaryEngine:Share with you Axel, i just passed my TVDL this morning. Excel in every sections except section passed by 1 question. I found out that i've to develop a strategy 2 days ago on how to study routing which is my weakest.
I cannot study by hard or rote learning with memorising. So i study the fundamentals like the flow of traffic in certain areas i am unfamiliar.
Eg: paya lebar connect up north to Upper paya lebar. Rochor connect to Rochor canal and is a one way traffic. If the alternative answer is Rochor rd-sungei rd- bukit timah rd..
Then it is wrong - you have to eliminate errors and narrow down to only one choice.
I celebrate today.
Hope you are doing well with your retest.
This morning, many failed their section 2 and 5... my section 2 is borderline and thanks to my realization of where is my weak point in this section.
My weak point is to understand the logic flow of traffic. Certain road is one way and this is part of the tricks in multiple choice. Also spelling error like Anderson or Henderson, misleading names like Paya lebar Road and Paya Lebar Way.....
Haa.haa.. if you study by memorizing -- then you cannot outsmart LTA... they design the roads and maps.....they can change the standard 3 choices to another 3 sets of alternative answers.....so if you memorize the former standard 3 choices...then wantang liao...
Originally posted by ALN:congrats rotary! and welcome another competitor….haha
Aln, thanks and maybe we cross path one of this night....and i wave at you......
so RotaryEngine passed in one sitting! congrats, more taxi drivers on the road
Originally posted by CM840_2009:so RotaryEngine passed in one sitting! congrats, more taxi drivers on the road
thanks. competitions is good to make life better. Actually i don't have confidence but just develop some study strategy 2 days ago just for section 2 - routing...my weakest...
CM - did you already start driving? which cab?
i got some personal problem to attend to, so havent start driving. you go ahead first, later when you become more confident then you can become hirer - got more benefits.
Tan... welcome on board,
finally you are graduated from the school of taxi academy… remember...must be original graduation certificate not duplicated like those scandal recently happen in SGP... haha.
good luck...sorry, never say luck...it's hardword....heheh
wa. got scandal some more can share with me? i also got some scandal to share. hehee
Originally posted by kinwashi:Tan... welcome on board,
finally you are graduated from the school of taxi academy… remember...must be original graduation certificate not duplicated like those scandal recently happen in SGP... haha.
good luck...sorry, never say luck...it's hardword....heheh
Kin...thanks very much....to join your boat...very original cert leh...i have never take any test or exams for so long.... this is not hardwork but study smart...
maybe i will say fortunate and bless....
aiyah,,,,,kin, never mind lah....sometime i also shoot out from my mouth "luck" man....
Originally posted by RotaryEngine:Aln, thanks and maybe we cross path one of this night....and i wave at you......
This ALN follow me wherever i go tonight , spying on me .
He was just infront of me at T3 ..... Then behind me at Cineleisure .
First time i saw ALN , a decent guy , small size fella , when u looked at him , u really don't feels like bullying him . Such a decent chap . With the spectacles , he looked more like a doctor than a cabby to me , hahahahahaha .....
AxelC this morning sms me , he also passed liao , but took far too many retest , that the $$$ he spent , quite a large sum .