Originally posted by Poolman:
Limo ? How many Limo can support a A380 ?U haven't try a Chinese New Year Eve , 5pm , Airport in trouble .
Zoo also ....
Yes, unfortunately most of the taxi driver are of this race...So Chinese New Year Eve is acceptable, only once a year.
But there are still other alternative, like as below link.
For Zoo...that nothing much we could help.
| Top |
Airport Shuttle
The
Airport Shuttle service serves all hotels in Singapore with the
exception of Changi Village Hotel and hotels on the Sentosa Island. The
service leaves every 15 minutes from 0600hr to midnight and 30 minutes
at other hours. Chartering is available. Please approach the Airport
Shuttle Counter on the arrivals level.
Fare (Please pay at the Airport Shuttle Counter)
Contact Information
|
Train (MRT)
The
Changi Airport MRT Station is located under Terminals 2 and 3, and is
linked to the arrivals and departures by escalators and lifts. The
first train arrives at around 0530hr and the last leaves at 2318hr.
A single fare to the city costs about S$2.70 (inclusive of S$1.00 refundable deposit) and takes approximately 27 minutes. Tickets are available at the station. For more information, please visit Singapore Mass Rapid Transit.
|
Public Bus
Public
bus service 36 goes to the city. The first bus arrives at around 0600hr
and the last leaves at midnight. A single fare costs below S$2.00 and
takes about an hour. Bus stops are located under Terminals 1, 2 or 3.
Please prepare the exact fare as no change will be given.
| Top |
Bus 36, unless SBS decides w/ a 36X direct w/o entering Marine Parade for e tourist then bad
If evening shift those demands can be as powerful as day shifts , then day shift no match for evening shift , cos basically we car one up one down , non-stop .
So Poolie,
But... another question, i am still love to know,
Most of the taxi companies those hirers sigup the rental...most are driving only day shift and not night, but only a portion are driving night. Sourcing day shift relief chances is slim.
And according to your experience, look like night is so powerful...and why? hirers are not taking it. All are leasing it out to taker.
Without airport surcharge , will u charge to airport if your MDT messsage says : " Terminal 1 needs taxis , members nearby can try ."
U will say : Where got time ?
That's why the $3 was implemented .
Will LTA do the surcharge considering they have LImo service ?
Got think of it ?
So what is your opinion... $3 airport surcharges can really generate more income of the taxi intake of the day, i will go... but just empty cab chiong to airport, and waiting for your turn and the time involve, i find it not logical. So that why? today i never even want to try it.
For example...waiting 30 minutes the Q at airport...with $3...with 35%...with the fare.
The $3 dollars is just helping you to pay the rental... for the 30 minutes the rental is about $2.12. How this is calculate using $51 divided into 12 hours, so per hour is $4.25...so 30 minutes is $2.12. Cos taxi rental go by hour, every hours and minutes count.
This Kind of formula is one of my kaki guru teaching, Please correct if you think it wrong.
over e Airport issue, flat fare surcharge is really needed esp e location of airport
Originally posted by kinwashi:If evening shift those demands can be as powerful as day shifts , then day shift no match for evening shift , cos basically we car one up one down , non-stop .
So Poolie,
But... another question, i am still love to know,
Most of the taxi companies those hirers sigup the rental...most are driving only day shift and not night, but only a portion are driving night. Sourcing day shift relief chances is slim.
And according to your experience, look like night is so powerful...and why? hirers are not taking it. All are leasing it out to taker.
Day shift taker they want normal life ... over money .
Family above money , most men do it specifically for that reason . Which men want a reverse lifestyle with their spouse ? & kids ?
Don't ask me why i take night shift , i just chose the way of life i like . My spouse respect what i decided , as I love watching midnight soccer , Champion's League , if i am to chose day shift , i must forgo the soccer matches i love , over occupation , which somehow , against my interest .
How many oldies can tahan night shift where their eyes strained alot ?
Originally posted by kinwashi:Without airport surcharge , will u charge to airport if your MDT messsage says : " Terminal 1 needs taxis , members nearby can try ."
U will say : Where got time ?
That's why the $3 was implemented .
Will LTA do the surcharge considering they have LImo service ?
Got think of it ?
So what is your opinion... $3 airport surcharges can really generate more income of the taxi intake of the day, i will go... but just empty cab chiong to airport, and waiting for your turn and the time involve, i find it not logical. So that why? today i never even want to try it.
For example...waiting 30 minutes the Q at airport...with $3...with 35%...with the fare.
The $3 dollars is just helping you to pay the rental... for the 30 minutes the rental is about $2.12. How this is calculate using $51 divided into 12 hours, so per hour is $4.25...so 30 minutes is $2.12. Cos taxi rental go by hour, every hours and minutes count.
This Kind of formula is one of my kaki guru teaching, Please correct if you think it wrong.
That again , the major diff with day and night shift .
I once link a webpage to indicate the arrival timing of CIA . Night shift , if the timing is right , plus the surcharges , i would say 90% near CIA will chiong to Airport , where "Pick&Go" situation , u will see the diff ...
If airport is on "Pick & Go " situation , without the $3 or $5 surcharge , no way drivers will charge all the way up CIA .
Again , Airport in trouble .
The main reason the $3 airport surcharge was implemented , was to lure drivers in . They already saw the problem , then they react . No problems , they won't react .
Imagine , without those surcharge , one at Tampines St.33 , saw the message : " Terminal One need taxis , members nearby .
He chiong , pick and go one pax , " Uncle , sorry nearby , Tampines St.45 only "
KNN $6.50 nett ..... wasted diesels and time , still stuck at Tampines St 45 , for the whole 30 minutes .
With surcharge , Airport kena Tampines already damn sway liao .... without surcharge ????
Originally posted by kinwashi:Yes, unfortunately most of the taxi driver are of this race...So Chinese New Year Eve is acceptable, only once a year.
But there are still other alternative, like as below link.
For Zoo...that nothing much we could help.
Airport Shuttle
The Airport Shuttle service serves all hotels in Singapore with the exception of Changi Village Hotel and hotels on the Sentosa Island. The service leaves every 15 minutes from 0600hr to midnight and 30 minutes at other hours. Chartering is available. Please approach the Airport Shuttle Counter on the arrivals level.Fare (Please pay at the Airport Shuttle Counter)
- S$9.00 per Adult
- S$6.00 per Child
- S$50.00 for per way charter of the entire vehicle
Contact Information
- Terminal 1 : (65) 6546 1646
- Terminal 2 : (65) 6543 1985
- Terminal 3 : (65) 6241 3818
Train (MRT)
The Changi Airport MRT Station is located under Terminals 2 and 3, and is linked to the arrivals and departures by escalators and lifts. The first train arrives at around 0530hr and the last leaves at 2318hr.A single fare to the city costs about S$2.70 (inclusive of S$1.00 refundable deposit) and takes approximately 27 minutes. Tickets are available at the station. For more information, please visit Singapore Mass Rapid Transit.
Public Bus
Public bus service 36 goes to the city. The first bus arrives at around 0600hr and the last leaves at midnight. A single fare costs below S$2.00 and takes about an hour. Bus stops are located under Terminals 1, 2 or 3. Please prepare the exact fare as no change will be given.
i am talking about Airport tourist taking a cab .
Taxi still the main transport over Limo at Airpt . Even i thought taxi beat MRT and buses .
For Zoo .... i stay at CCK , i was despatch a job at CCK Cresent , from Zoo , that's why for 8 years , i knew Zoo in deep shit , call also no cab .
Looks like Poolie is right, all other surcharges stays. Except $3CBD should go back to $1 and peak hour can be reduced to 20% or back to the old $2. But maybe tweak the waiting time and distance travelled slightly higher.
Lion...
In Tokyo, there are limited parking.
Many Japanese takes the train to work and use their cars during the weekend.
And rent parking space near their homes because usually their house do
not have space for own garage.
There is alway a solution...the situation here they want fast buck. everything you need i provide.... but you just pay.
yesterday i was at causeway point, saw a normal flow of people taking taxi. the taxis dont have to wait too long for pax.
so for day shift shopping malls are good business.
dayt shift everywhere got people , causeway point lagi no need say ...
one problem , many short distance , if can connect , short distance good .
Originally posted by ALN:last time sat if after 440pm in town…. me surely go toilet break… cos 5pm many pax… maybe got call…$3 CBD + surcharge + call…. and more importantly you are assured of a peak hour trip….
if you take pax at 440pm orchard to say yishun… reach yishun 510pm… sure no pax… zoom to orchard… 530pm liao… taxi q longer than your eyes can see….
that y cabbies must play a bit of “trick”... only millionaire cabby can be good samaritan….
haha
millionaire cabby lagi play trick , or else how to millionaire ?
Originally posted by sbst275:over e Airport issue, flat fare surcharge is really needed esp e location of airport
I'd suggest eg Min flat fare of say $10.00 from CIA or the metered fare + current surcharges; whichever is higher.
one issue of surcharge still puzzles me ...
see...
if city has got a $3 surcharge from 5pm up to 12am , then places which is near the border of the city has got massive supply problems .
What puzzled me , is LTA well aware of it ? They are professionals , they should know the problem will arise ...
eg ... Tekka area , just outside , thousands of people waiting for a cab , but got cab , either dun stop, or BUSY .
LTA stupid to implement a city surcharge , right ?
Not only Tekka ....
SGH ?
Havelock Road ?
Scotts Road ( the worst i thought ) ?
River Valley Road ... ?
Beach Road ( Gateway Towers ) ?
North Bridge road ?
Harbourfront ?
So many brain cannot think of a way out ?
So am i fair to say LTA simply useless in this issue ?
LTA , got hear me or not ? Got too much $$$ , dun know how to think ? CEo know how to implement , the rest dunno how ?
Also Mr Raymond , our Transport chief , do something !!! U are paid to do something ...
Anyone , pls forward this message for me , thanks . ATTN : MR RAYMOND .
civil servants thinking and businessman thinking not the same. so must be patient with them.
I suppose only the ground people (ie cabbies) know of the problems in the taxi industry.
Maybe should form taxi association to work together with the authorities to improve?
or LTA should visit this forum to take note of our views? ![]()