Originally posted by Teolk:i heard transcab will take away part of the monthly $700+ bonus once their toh tuck station starts operating,is it true?
I was there at defu last wk nearly sign up for the wish but hold back after 1 taxi uncle told me this info
My new hirer told me the benefit extended to another year , cos they would want to encourage new sign-up , they have 2000 piece of Wish commitment , that's why .
I hope u counter check with the HQ itself , rather than listening from those Uncle . I dun listen much of their stories , i never like oldies , good one i listen , bad one , like this , i will go to the proper channel .
Still CNG slightly cheaper . At least to compare to SMRT taxis .
Originally posted by RotaryEngine:teolk, getting personal leh..... that's what most taxi unker typical question while driving a pax leh.... i encounter many....
never mind tell you since i am also going to be taxi unker. Actually i deliberate since 1994 to take up part time taxi driving with many encouragement from my taxi circle friends those days. Now i go into it with 1001 reasons.
ONE main reason: FREEDOM -- freedom means you are not answerable to any boss except try to be nice to your PAX but don't kena complaint to LTA.
Recently i am very very free everyday... self employed and every damn thing is so slow. I need to get out on the road. I like driving and can drive on the otherside of the road for many hours without problem. I have always talk but no action to be a taxi driver. NOW the Action ! I know everyone is talking about the difficult situation with bad economy, bad time, not enough PAX etc..... but i am looking forward to it and taste it myself.
2nd Main Reason: Driving and enjoy the scenery and surroundings... discover new horizons......Take a breather......
quite similiar to mine version .
Rest since September last year , i have lost touch about the town developements ... i certainly missed those new infrastructures .
I missed the food , the shopping during my rest time , the freedom , the pretty ladies crossing the roads , missed those daily cold hard cash .
taxi driving for me , it's a fantastic profession .
Talking to expats and overseas business people is a good learning ladder to make you a better person .
Talking to them , certainly make me know alot about China , USA and Britians . They make me open my mind about what's going on around the world .
Also when they talked to me , i show them what is a Singapore taxi driver is all about .
More -- during weekday, take 20 minutes break to enjoy labrador park, pasir panjang hill to take a view. Admiring pretty babes on the road make you feel younger.
If you enjoy all this - than less stress. I am not a cabby yet but this applies in all walks of professions and business. Take a break.
Looks like i have to consider Transcab even i am phobia to be a pax. What about PRIME and Smart offer of the Cng taxi? Any big deposits? Any term contracts?
I saw Smart having the Toyota Camry. Is this diesel or CNG? SMRT has the Azera.
What about notice of terminations for Transcab, Prime, Smart and Premier?
Prime their vehicles all CNG , ranging from Toyota Wish , Toyota Felder , Honda Airwave etc .... They are popular for giving their hirer $5000 upon completion of the 5-year-contract .
Prime big deposit $5k .
Smart Camry is CNG .... same 5 years contract like Prime .
SMRT's Azera is a power-diesel vehicle , Comfort do have a few on trial during 2008 , to replace the aging Mercedes fleet , but they pull back the deal , as this Hyundai don't generate much interest in the market , unlike Sonata .
Any termination of vehicle from Smart and prime , means u tends to lose $1k per year depreciation . Eg , u drove a Felder for 2 years , and want to surrender , u will have to sell the existing 3 years balance contract to someone else ., and that will cost your money .
Like my friend , he "sold" his 2-years Felder for $1500 . The new hirer got his cab for another 3 years . My friend lost $1500 during the process .
Wow, this prime and smart are car traders background. 5K upfront is already like paying bank interest upfront. The commitment for 5 years is too long and the 5 K is like downpayment and interest. And will lose money if couldn't sell it out for your remainder book value. Of course you get it back after 5 years plus whatever bonus they promise you. But then you will slut on if you are not happy.
Don't think there is any benefit unless rental is super super low.
Taxi driver is the customer of Taxi Company.
Passenger is the Customer of Taxi Driver.
Pool, how is the Transcab meter work. Does it auto include ERP, airport surcharge, peak hour surcharge, call booking, CBD surcharge added up automatically to print to receipt?
Or you have to use your brain calculator?
The meter works the same la ...
ERP automatic detect one , this one LTA kia su , scared cabby using ERP to charge customers extra . Honestly i use to add up to $3 manually ( before auto) for $1 ERP to angmo ... they just pay whatever i clicked , they dunno one .
Only booking surcharge must press manually .
Meter flag down , peak hour surcharge , midnight surcharge all auto .
Airport surcharge also manually done
Wow pool, how nice to go back to manual click man.
Pool, let me know how much kg/ tank and $/tank for Toyota Wish. How many kilometre for full kilogram tank. Is there a Petrol tank to be switch over just in case run out of CNG?
Toyota Wish .... as what i heard from my hirer , it's a smooth machine , just like any other 1.8 saloon car .
It's guarantee better than Crown in terms of handling , less power compared to Sonata , fuel consumption the lowest in the taxi industries .
It's 12 km per litre for both fuel .
Originally posted by RotaryEngine:Pool, let me know how much kg/ tank and $/tank for Toyota Wish. How many kilometre for full kilogram tank. Is there a Petrol tank to be switch over just in case run out of CNG?
CNG Full tank : minimum 250km / maximum 270km .
Petrol nobody has got any idea , cos he don't use up all for petrol .
I would guessed at least 500km for full tank .
Pool, 250 km is okay considering Singapore road and moreover there is a North in Mandai, West in Jalan Buroh, and Mid-West in Toh Tuck and not to mentioned other places. Those who clock more than 250 need to fill up 2 times.
Me... looking into costing... for the long term....
Aln, you are super driver at night ha.. 480 km to 550 km - that is to ipoh and above....
i believe you make good money.
Let me guess on my simulation: Your productivity hourly rate is $28 to $30.
So i assume you mostly have a good nite.
I understand long endurance driving and taxi driving is totally different.
I agree that all your point (a) (b) & (c) ... even better point (a) to (g)....
that's why i say you are superb....driver.....
and that's why i am comparing...... CNG or diesel sonata (comfort)........
ALN, how many hours you drive at nite for 500 km?
My guess for 9 PRODUCTIVE HOURS? And you knock off or finished at around 1:30 a.m to 2:00 a.m.
Just curious to know.
wow Pool, finally you driving again… so Mon and tue day and Wed to Sat nite?
last Wed, me took a red wish to airport…. me purposely waited for a red wish…. haha…. me stay near serangoon nth… so got good chance…. ride was not bad lah….as a pax…. as a driver me not sure….
O guru Alvin, So finally you are back home in SG...so how is the taxi over there, some say the bluebird taxi over there are very good as like our blue comfort...any input on this.
13 hours --oosh...very tough guy.
Besides Blue bird, there is Silver bird and then Golden Bird.....Blue bird is discipline and you will know that silver and golden is superbly good.....same company.
Taxi over populated.....see yourself in HCM city.... haa....all kinds and many different taxi companies with JV with either the name Delgro or Comfort on the taxi body.....and of course many other local companies all circling the big city.
Originally posted by Poolman:Prime their vehicles all CNG , ranging from Toyota Wish , Toyota Felder , Honda Airwave etc .... They are popular for giving their hirer $5000 upon completion of the 5-year-contract .
Prime big deposit $5k .
Smart Camry is CNG .... same 5 years contract like Prime .
SMRT's Azera is a power-diesel vehicle , Comfort do have a few on trial during 2008 , to replace the aging Mercedes fleet , but they pull back the deal , as this Hyundai don't generate much interest in the market , unlike Sonata .
Any termination of vehicle from Smart and prime , means u tends to lose $1k per year depreciation . Eg , u drove a Felder for 2 years , and want to surrender , u will have to sell the existing 3 years balance contract to someone else ., and that will cost your money .
Like my friend , he "sold" his 2-years Felder for $1500 . The new hirer got his cab for another 3 years . My friend lost $1500 during the process .
bro Prime having Petrol taxi as well. Toyota Premio,Wish in blue colour 7seater ,Honda Freed,Toyota Axio etc rental starts from $70.90 nett.deposit $2k when collect car then $10 add to rental daily till bal $3k cleared.complete 5 years bonus $5k
SMRT Azera is CNG not diesel