Originally posted by kinwashi:There are many times...after end of the shift.
Most of those uncles at washing bay...wow...wow.. today not heng collection very low, all routes run alway no pax very quiet.
But some uncles said ...wow ...today seebei heng. all long and chiong and good connection.
So, my question. Luck or Experience count.
For me i think....Luck is important...Experience is another.
Just like Poolie so heng got Red Wish near his house, and now here he ...go again taxi driving. So is this heng (Luck) involved the whole senerio that he wanted and the new hirer and the taxi waited for him.
Just like last sunday... at about 10.30am a Tank Road indian temple this family of four, brother...Choa Chu Kang Cresent.
So upon reaching the fare about $21.80 at the block below and completed.... another connection trip family of four chinese waited just below the block , uncle Tampines Mall...end up $23.50 all within 1 hours.
So Mentor Poolie, the above is Luck or Experience can share your opinion about.
huh.
wat is u sayin.
can pls speek engrish.
u wan lucky, eberiday cm pik me lah.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
huh.
wat is u sayin.
can pls speek engrish.
u wan lucky, eberiday cm pik me lah.
knn...
well said .... day drivers has to depend on luck on the road , too many taxis rushing for the same bowl of rice , night drivers no need , night drivers just need to know which lobang can have waiting pax .
And it's all up to previous experience u can have to find lobangs .
finally...luck is mention.
huh.
wat is u sayin.
can pls speek engrish.
Ok Ok...Hello Kitty sori i forgot..u no understand???
So...this ok for you.
omae, hima sugite yaru koto
nai no ka ? ! himajin da ne!
haha you ask for it....#@%%^&))) blurr neh.
actually 4am onwards advance to airport is for those morning shift pple…. coincide with their start time and place…
guru.
for day shift anything like 3pm to 4pm...anywhere like in the north. especially any mo kio, yishun, bishan, toa payoh. this kinds those based in this region...advance call, if your finger is not fast within second someone may just taken it. Why? after secured ... job completed is about time to topup gas washing and end of the day. extra $5.20 plus the trip easy $20 or near that for the diesel bill. everytime i ( bio) this type but ...very less and many peoples figthing for this bowl of rice as what poolie mentioned before, that is correct. look like day shit got more begger cabbies...hahaha
Originally posted by Poolman:Luck ?
To achieve consistently $280-$300 per Friday night , u called it luck ?
Yeah i hit $310 today again , my first Friday of 2009 , after making a comeback , under this financial circumstances .
My buddy hit $320 .
Both started at 4.30pm .
Ends the same timing at car wash .
ALN was far far behind me .... he started at 6.30pm i think .
He was $70 behind me at 11pm .
Ok...mentor just for curiosity...on your running.
As you told started at 4.30pm... on your friday night shift.... Now 4.35am , i think he still on the road .
so how many hours actually you need to hit those $310 as mentioned.
with those 35% and 50% midnight charges and those CBD charges.
normal day shift just example like me $240 or $250 only morning peak hours surcharge. Why? only 50 to 60 dollars extra...can explain to us about this...and during night not so much taxis competition like day. so you should get more than us.
what about your two days morning that bonus added given by you hirer how much is your collection, no obligation just wanted to know more, with no on-call.
current running...are they the same like as before? before you took a rest break.
Now me really focus on the road , more challenging , i used to rely on booking for Comfort , now cannot .
Ok last Friday , started 4.30pm , ended 2am . Then told ALN i am heading home , paxes less liao , taxi coming in from all over S'pore liao .
ALN claimed i was lucky , well ..... i just know where's those lobangs .
I got a feeling , many people saw a Toyota Wish at midnight , they'll hop in , no second thoughts , cos midnights Wish very rare .
Originally posted by kinwashi:Ok...mentor just for curiosity...on your running.
As you told started at 4.30pm... on your friday night shift.... Now 4.35am , i think he still on the road .
so how many hours actually you need to hit those $310 as mentioned.
with those 35% and 50% midnight charges and those CBD charges.
normal day shift just example like me $240 or $250 only morning peak hours surcharge. Why? only 50 to 60 dollars extra...can explain to us about this...and during night not so much taxis competition like day. so you should get more than us.
what about your two days morning that bonus added given by you hirer how much is your collection, no obligation just wanted to know more, with no on-call.
current running...are they the same like as before? before you took a rest break.
Monday morning , 11+ ..... ends 4pm reached carpark , got if not wrong $70+ ....
Tuesday morning , started at near 9.30am officially , finished 12pm , ( badminton at cck ) , dunno if $75 or $80 , something like that .
At night 5pm start again , til 12am , collected whole day around $200 . including night .
i only enjoy 2 hours of 50% , unlike ALN , fully utilised the whole 6 hours .
Sounds very much to u 50% ?
If like day shift , one pax alight , one pax on board , that will be quicker .
At night , it's about cruising for at least 10 minutes to 15 minutes for the next pax , night is also about charging quickly into town .
At night shift , not much competitions ? Still got la .... depending how u cope .
At night shift , after 8pm , we still only $3 flag down ma .....
The most one hit into CBD , to take that $3 , maybe 1 to 3 trips .
to start at 4.30pm , and ends 2am , and collected $310 or $320 , it's oready a fantastic achievements , considering i only paid less than $35 in overall fuel .
As in rental $45 , fuel $33 , overheads $88 , i remember i took home $230 that night nett .
for just 9.5hours , from 1st meter pressed to last meter pressed , to earn that $$$ , i am contented .
yes tactically all spot on . If u don't wake up your idea by heading to town from Sin Ming , u will not get this Wisma pax . If u go cruising onto Wlands direction , u will get someone heading to Wlands .
I'll never say Luck for your case , it's quite normal to get short distance in town .
don't tell me luck for taxi , hahahaha . I trust you all as a hardworking professionals .
cannot say luck… must say strategy… hor pool?
wow tonight… me 8.45pm sin ming got a pax to wisma >wisma to shenton>robinson>flyer>merlion>jooseng
So this is LUCK .... can this happen everydays?
can... you try tomorrow again the same time the same place.
collection can never be the same like as today, those paxs can never be the same...could be empty cab today you do again.. i put beg.
can that be hardword, experience, silly right. it's LUCK.
can that be lobang as mentioned only, other season cabbies no ideal that? over here many penquins around. taxi drivers is just like sea pirates, very lighting fast they will end you just seconds like what poolie told going to battle on road.
win...it's luck. one gain.
poolie...pls say something.
yesterday morning just started shift, auto booking 200a sengkang east way. pressed the new duration time 3 minutes. upon reaching there is a pax with luggages could be airport.
no choice areally accepted this call...pax said xin min primary school.
so like this kind? it's strategy, experience, coincident...if this is not luck than what?
sure the luggages pax if airport the fare will be more.
saw this nasty incident at ang mo kio avenue 5 yesterday afternoon toward buangkok green. upon at the junction waiting for green light on the left a toyota red crown on the right a blue sonata. i was behind them. 100 meter away a potential pax too be.
once green light...the turbo blue sonata signal left and cut through the lane than pickup the pax...than behind the red crown came out and exchanged words and hand upon stopping behind...like this kind it's experience according to you. some may say it's luck..Why? turbo... So what comment about this.
late afternoon, at Victoria street, infront of me an estima light blue. At allson hotel 4 ah neh paxs blue estima turned left and i followed behind. Estima stopped infront the entrance...paxs not interested, came in to my sonata.
Could it be cashless pax..?
Sir where from...Maldives.
Why? infront the taxi you all not interested...O... we not going to airport and limousine, No for us.
So we are going to Chinatown.
My question if i never followed into Allson Hotel...this four paxs could not be taking my cab.
Luck again...hoh mentor.
Originally posted by kinwashi:cannot say luck… must say strategy… hor pool?
wow tonight… me 8.45pm sin ming got a pax to wisma >wisma to shenton>robinson>flyer>merlion>jooseng
.So this is LUCK .... can this happen everydays?
can... you try tomorrow again the same time the same place.
collection can never be the same like as today, those paxs can never be the same...could be empty cab today you do again.. i put beg.
can that be hardword, experience, silly right. it's LUCK.
can that be lobang as mentioned only, other season cabbies no ideal that? over here many penquins around. taxi drivers is just like sea pirates, very lighting fast they will end you just seconds like what poolie told going to battle on road.
win...it's luck. one gain.
Luck , i dunno , my daily collection except Friday , 12am , alwasy $180 . Lucky , no luck , got paxes , no paxes , same .
Even if this Wisma customer sent me to Wlands , i will still have that $180 , why ? Cos i'll sent myself down to CBD again ....
Even if i have no customer , from Sin Ming , i'll still have that $180 , why ?
1 hour i just need $25 .
I dun need luck , i need my meter running ....
One pax can sent me to Ulu place , one pax can sent me within town , as long as all paxes contribute $25 an hour for me , i'll be contented .
Well , i never tell myself i am lucky driving a taxi , cos i'll be upset if i haven't got one . And i'll be not happy if i got luck , cos i deserve to have paxes , cos i am a taxi driver .
If everything u said luck , then everyday Kin will be upset , cos he turn right , left got customer , sway !!!
He stopped traffic light , customer walk out , turned right taxi pick and go , sway again .
It's not luck , it's a normal phenomenon , part and parcel for a taxi's job .
Pax hop in , booking ting ! Booking to Airport , shirt distance pax , sway again .
It's part and parcel of driving a Comfort , with bookings , this is coidence , not luck .
But at the end of the day , one still achieve daily salary , right ???
With luck or no luck , how come one can maintain the same salary everyday ????
I am good that's why , i don't need luck , i am a realistic guy .
Originally posted by kinwashi:late afternoon, at Victoria street, infront of me an estima light blue. At allson hotel 4 ah neh paxs blue estima turned left and i followed behind. Estima stopped infront the entrance...paxs not interested, came in to my sonata.
Could it be cashless pax..?
Sir where from...Maldives.
Why? infront the taxi you all not interested...O... we not going to airport and limousine, No for us.
So we are going to Chinatown.
My question if i never followed into Allson Hotel...this four paxs could not be taking my cab.
Luck again...hoh mentor.
it's common to go into a taxi stand without taxis ... u are clever . U gave the Maldives different options . U are strategically , using the correct method , or dillema for the Maldives , cos u know , many Estima drivers might not want to take them , maybe this Estima is going to airport , cos u dunno , u had experience it before , and it is a possibility that this Estima guy has got a booking to airport , they are on group booking . Possible ... if u got luck , u certainly won't hit town . Cos u r a taxi driver , u go anywhere .
Originally posted by kinwashi:saw this nasty incident at ang mo kio avenue 5 yesterday afternoon toward buangkok green. upon at the junction waiting for green light on the left a toyota red crown on the right a blue sonata. i was behind them. 100 meter away a potential pax too be.
once green light...the turbo blue sonata signal left and cut through the lane than pickup the pax...than behind the red crown came out and exchanged words and hand upon stopping behind...like this kind it's experience according to you. some may say it's luck..Why? turbo... So what comment about this.
this has got nothing to do with luck .... it's about professionism .
It's cannot be happening in taxi , it's rude .
Originally posted by kinwashi:poolie...pls say something.
yesterday morning just started shift, auto booking 200a sengkang east way. pressed the new duration time 3 minutes. upon reaching there is a pax with luggages could be airport.
no choice areally accepted this call...pax said xin min primary school.
so like this kind? it's strategy, experience, coincident...if this is not luck than what?
sure the luggages pax if airport the fare will be more.
It's part of parcel of a cabby's life ..... as long as your meter is running , u don't blame luck .
U might be lost after airport , but after the school , 2 trips , same as airport trip .
As long as meter running , who cares they go where .
As long as my meter running , i dun matter go where , if u stop ur hardworking , seat coffeeshop , see got luck or not ?
One pax down , next pax pls .... but no pax in sight , how ? cruise lor ....cruise until have , it's a job to cruise , or it's a job to find taxi stand , it's a job to stop for paxes , it's a job to fulfill the demands .
It's a job .
dun give me example , u know me , i am not a " Philosopher of Luckiness " fella .
It's all in your head .
If base on those examples , for the last 8 years , i have been lucky , very lucky for the last 8 years , how to explain ?
If base on a quiet evening , like those after 911 , like SARS , and my collection is still roughly the same , maybe less by $4-$5 an hour , if no luck ,u'll be $0 / hr .
I used the most conventional way to find pax method - Crusing . And booking method , planning routes , to cover for those lost time . Cos of this methods , a standard wages was maintain .
If cruise on the way got pax , good , cos it's common to have pax on my routes , if dun have , it's ok , infront still will have ..... just have to go on , it's a long way .
As long as the timing allows u to cruise , keep on doing so .
Then once hit Xpressway , it's town 100% .
The most from Yishun SLE to Cairnhill CTE , 15 minutes ..... still got time ahead , not need luck , town surely got pax .
If u are solid , u are solid . Good drivers don't need luck .
Fortune teller told me to avoid red , i at first believe , but later on , i emphasis , many Transcab drivers will be like me , their life might not be suitable for red , but they still live their life on , why should like avoid red ?
So i place a gamble ..... instead of putting luck in front .
perhap...now you can tell.
cos you already go back on your normal pace on taxi driving like as before.
so... fortune teller could be wrong or right the first place?
Why? you need.
you already consulted him, so somehow or rather, you are checking whether you are lucky before you can go for the taxi driving...issit.
just curiosity...alway you are very sure, in you believes.
so why?