It's good to share opinion , it broaden everyone's view .... I love sharing what my thoughts , my experiences , my strategies , tactics and mentallity .
It doesn't matter to me if u will be better than me , cos u are good that's all , if u are good , then i really have to buck up to be better .
but first , i think kin should , start to have more self-belief in himself , instead of achieving good results by sheer hardwork , and summed up his achievements by the word luck .
Either kin is modest , about what he had achieved , or .... he has no self beliefs that he can achieve that amount each day , and had to depend on luck to achieve that .
I start work , everyday , and i say to myself : " Today can !!! "
In fact everyday can , but end day , cannot !!! Hhahahahahah
i am not arguing , i want future taxi drivers , to put their perspective in place , what is right , what is wrong , start to analyse things etc ....
I think my proposition is , it's wrong to put luck infront of sheer hardwork inorder to survive in taxi driving .
I hope up to here , today it's the 31st July , everyone do read up the whole thread , it's little bit meaningful . A small guide in building up stronger mentallity between luck , hardwork with modern metallity .
In football , hahahah , U try telling Ian Rush he was lucky to score a few hundred goals for liverpool .
Yes Liverpool were lucky to have Ian Rush , and Ian Rush is lucky to be playing for Liverpool .
Ian Rush was just a genius in scoring goals , he don't need luck .
A genius don't need luck . Luck will go to him , hahahahaha .
I like analysing ...
Maybe i am wrong ...
Perhaps if one is more experience in the trade , he might not need luck afterall .
Eg , driving pattern .
U cultivate a driving pattern , u are at which area , u hit your next target in the quickest way , but of course u must have experience to know which time which area , at which spot , got the next quickest pax .
At AMK , i surely hit St.65 , tech point , motorola or NCS , from 6pm onwards , just Q outside , within 10 minutes , u are off !!! Until 10pm , Tech Point & NCS boleh jalan .
At Tampines , at 10pm , no need to think , Terminal 3 . Pax Tampines or Pasir Ris also nevermind , even better , 10.30pm i can shoot back terminal 3 . That sort of experiences .
If Friday , if Expo got lobang chop chop even better at 9pm onwards til 10pm .
At Jurong , like near Jurong East , dun tell me IMM no people , i guarantee 5 minutes off from IMM !!!
U are @ Hougang , dun think , go Serangoon North Ave 5 / 6 , or Seagate , or even go back AMK St 65 also can , dun think , 10 minutes u are off from AMK .
Go where later than say , meter running more important !!!! U hit the destination , then go to the next quickest target according to your driving pattern .
Remember i said taxi for me is a routine , tat's what i am saying . Quite standard routine .
That spot that time got people means got people , and it's will be a surprise for me if on the way i got no paxes .
Singapore all places , after 11pm , all town !!! Dun think .
Do you think luck is needed ? I certainly dun need , cos my time and spaces all occupied , hahahah , where got time ?
KNN today 4.30pm to 12am , knn why still $180 only ????
But i accept it , cos my routine quite standard .
Hi to all bros and sis in this forum. I just passed my TDVL last
month. Am now waiting to get my Licence. Got a few quests to ask all
seniors here.
Currently, i am still working full time. If i want to try to drive part time as a relief during weekends, How shd i go about it?
Many like this alway coming into this forum... home of taxi drivers.
question frequent asked.
so by reading this...peoples like us aready in this field, no need to answer each and every, all you wanted to know already here.
that is the whole ideal.
so to all those, who are not or show any interest, please put on a sunglass like what the blindman do, like like ah bick...nothing much we can do, correct you or stop because of your comments, or those participating members in this topic can do either.
thank...your patronising making it a hot.
anyway without our reown Taxi God Poolie present, thing will not be the same cause his input keep coming as many as possible and with fine detail, on each and every question on him.
so what is wrong? by doing it...to whom it may concern. yo.
we are doing all on taxi related matters...not what To -ma- sick, how sick is the establishment now, inside the small cabin like in the taxi fequent this subject is being brought out discusssion with us everday or the modern monk or any others
Originally posted by Poolman:KNN today 4.30pm to 12am , knn why still $180 only ????
But i accept it , cos my routine quite standard .
you must be lucky...on today paper headline Cab firms try to draw commuters.
Comfort, SMRT hope to reverse falling ridership with prizes, promotions
Latest figures for may saw patronage decelerated fyrther with numbers droping to 836,535 compared to 923,494 at the same time last year,
you are still safe and sound as like before, is a good sign.
another luck guy is guru Aln...500km still going strong with his olympic record, nobody still can hit him with his personal best at the moment. hoh guru.
Originally posted by kinwashi:you must be lucky...on today paper headline Cab firms try to draw commuters.
Comfort, SMRT hope to reverse falling ridership with prizes, promotions
Latest figures for may saw patronage decelerated fyrther with numbers droping to 836,535 compared to 923,494 at the same time last year,
you are still safe and sound as like before, is a good sign.
another luck guy is guru Aln...500km still going strong with his olympic record, nobody still can hit him with his personal best at the moment. hoh guru.
i am good ..... still as good as ever . One advantage , freshness is the key . One year break , good thing .
my own take is our own mindset...if u feel gd then things will turn out well
i was facing a very bad evening last tue from 5pm to 1am only do $120plus,thinking to give up or head empty to airport from the dead town area
eventually chose airport & pick up pax from T1 at 150am "uncle NTU go in by Pioneer nth" wow I told myself luck start to come liao:)
reach NTU $40plus then suddenly MDT beep - NTU to Sengkang Rivervale :) off I go
that's not the end,reach Sengkang cruise only 3mins pick up 1 pretty china woman say" uncle wo yao qu clark quay"
I was smiling all the way till 6am from then,managed to hit $340 by 6am.
so u call this luck or wat I really don't know,just know I really enjoyed the night
Originally posted by Teolk:my own take is our own mindset...if u feel gd then things will turn out well
i was facing a very bad evening last tue from 5pm to 1am only do $120plus,thinking to give up or head empty to airport from the dead town area
eventually chose airport & pick up pax from T1 at 150am "uncle NTU go in by Pioneer nth" wow I told myself luck start to come liao:)
reach NTU $40plus then suddenly MDT beep - NTU to Sengkang Rivervale :) off I go
that's not the end,reach Sengkang cruise only 3mins pick up 1 pretty china woman say" uncle wo yao qu clark quay"
so u call this luck or wat I really don't know,just know I really enjoyed the night
Teolk, at least you never give up... if you think "suay" and pack up to go home, then you never enjoy that sweet moment. never say die to try....again i also don't know it it is luck or determination and perseverance.. but i know one decisions lead to another results and the chain keeps going......
Originally posted by Teolk:my own take is our own mindset...if u feel gd then things will turn out well
This is an example of mental strength to survive in the biz .
He can chose to fuck off and sleep , like many would have to , or already did , like me .
But persistent kept him in , it's rewarded to Q at T1 and get a Jurong .....
Many , including me , had already sent packing in . Lazy people like me will never Q up at T1 , here u go , lazy , afterall , is lazy , u'll get bad luck all the time . Hahahahah
Hardworking people will have luck , got what i mean ? God give or self creation ?
Latter , any opinion ?
Originally posted by ALN:knn… T1 to NTU and then NTU to seng and then seng to clark quay?... got time must teach me…. haha
i estimate 3 trips takes 70min and $90…. steam…. dun need to bother whether luck or wat….
It's true ALN has a lot to catch up .
To me , ALN still a baby stage of a cabby profession .
One reason might be his part-time basis , and also his kakis might not provide him with ample support , except Airport trips , well , his kakis did sms him , other than cbd and town area , ALN must brush them his skills at HDB office areas , and industrial estates like Tuas and Jurong .
Or ALN will not have any break thru .... so his condo just have to wait , hahahahah
I did farely well today , a vast improvement compared to last week , which i still adjusting to life using CNG at Mandai , at least for the time being . if not , if on diesel , i could have break the $400 barriers , i just nearly clocked it , damn !!!!
Well i had to say , today it does broke my 8 years all time Friday evening record , never , if i can remember , anything near $400 . Only a holiday eve can provide me with this kind of figures .
I was surprised a toyota wish , one from transcab , one that does not provide me with any booking support , can break my all time comfort record , so it somehow proven , the new fare structure , to pick and go , can be as good as taking bookings , if not better .
Considering first pax 4.58pm , last pax 3.45am , and it's on CNG , refill twice , without bookings , without cashless payment , i can collect exceeding my Comfort's 8 time record , just funny .
Since returning to the biz , my lowest collection is $178 , average about $180 , all maximum 8 hours job . 2 Fridays are well above my very own expectations of over $300 .
aln, still alive, still alive. dayshift drivers very busy, cos consistency usually means consistent work, holiday eve for us usually makes little difference. i don't like holidays cos usually, early mornings are "waste bullet". on holidays, no point to start work early, sometimes average $5 or $10 per hour. knn.
pool, my records usually happen when i have fewer bookings and connections are very good. cos don't have to waste time and diesel rushing to the pickup point and then wait another few minutes for pax. 6 or 7 bookings easily 1 hour lost. pick and go is much better. for me i target efficiency as well ie. collection against mileage. as close to 100% as possible, more than 100% means fantastic day. only twice happened before, collection higher than mileage. (something like $250 collection for 230km, 8 hours) works for me cos i don't queue much, i like to cruise around rather than wait.
orh kctk… good to hear u still competing with kin…. haha…
Wow..Alvin,
Quote:
Pool the taxi god.
this pharse.
Be realistic , never say never .
I always say , after i start my engine , i am a warrior fighting war , mind you , the war is within myself .
A war so as to satisfy your family , ur needs , the customer service , your safety , both inside the car and also on the road .
so...If a man does his best...what else is there?
remember by hard...
the machine is in your hand and knn turbo somemore, you are still better than the others.
never say Luck or Lucky from now on.
we must say... skill, initiative, vagilant, now part two.
never say you never know.
like today at sim drive...job offer, knn Geylang Serai market taxi stand.
so...initiative.
sure there must be paxs waiting with no taxis around, with our lastest duration time of arrival pressed 3 minutes. For me just tikam tikam with this pax (ms agnes). if happen if she backoff sure there will be others there.
Knn msg..please never proceed. So damn care headed there...So pickup the first in Q Woodland st 42...$19.90 not back right. We can't say Luck we must say intiative.
What small town mentality?
Knn...Singapore history only going to 44 years.. even country .Knn Ha b b named us the Little Red Dot.
how big actually his mentality by saying knn...hey.
u c u c!
my new pic cute anot?

it's about each and anyone's comfort to think what they want , like what my friend always say : " I song ma " .
U must be happy at what u want to do , dun worry about what others say .....
I being a taxi driver for the last 8 years , would never tell my fellow juniors that luck is the most important thing u need to drive a cab .
Whichever angle u see , in whichever job , job is not a gamble , u need brain storming , need changes , need no luck .
Eg , like a coffee shop , the business no good , cos it's old and requires rennovations .
Do u think with a massive facelift , or rennovation , the business will gets better ? It will , cos people like changes , like new environment , and it's pretty clear , needs changes , not luck to pursue a better business opportunity .
Eg 2 , a handphone shop , business and display same for the last 5m years , customer are so stale about the shop , business drop .
But , by changing the merchandised display , make some changes in the sale personel , improve sales promotion , do u think the business will go up a bit , then current status ? yes it will .
In business , i always motivate my salesman , remember the 3 letters , A-S-K , to succceed , for better comm and pay .
A = Aggressiveness , in sales approach , sales talks and sales technics .
S = Skills . Customer service skills , convincing skills , closing skills .
K = Knowlegde , Knowledge of products , knowledge of market demand and supply , knowledge of price differences .
In sales , we never emphasis luck to our salesman .
No Management teams and directors will want their subordinates to wait for the rabbit to hit the tree all the time .
There'll will be one careless rabbit to did that , not all rabbits .
Hardwork is the key to successful salesmanship .
On a Friday night , when i hit $379 with tippings , at 4.30am while refilling .... i start to ask : " wow , so lucky ?" Hahahahahah ALN will know .
ALN , me lucky guy ? The way i run the show , lucky ?
U called me Lao Gui for what ?
but i am lucky to have a damage meter , jump very fast , hahahahaha .
haha.
Ha...late paramount leader Deng from China...Quote: Whether it is Black cat or White cat... cute cat ugly cat...only cats with knowledge or capable to catch mouse that is good cat.
t's true ALN has a lot to catch up .
To me , ALN still a baby stage of a cabby profession .
One reason might be his part-time basis , and also his kakis might not provide him with ample support , except Airport trips , well , his kakis did sms him , other than cbd and town area , ALN must brush them his skills at HDB office areas , and industrial estates like Tuas and Jurong .
Or ALN will not have any break thru .... so his condo just have to wait , hahahahah
objection:
the above statement.
talking about cat...Geyland Serai temporary market. that food poisoning saga.
what happen? to those cats...the rodents are bigger than the cats. Now thing got the other way round...when th cats is around the mouse also play...haha.
so you know what i mean? cute ar pretty no use ones.
Ok ...lah.
but he just gone for holiday came back from Bali, What?
so that is incentive of his harkwork (can't say Luck). better than nothing...