Wah, now GrabTaxi really heating up and strategizing to take on Comfort and Uber. Comfort has 16000 taxis, Grabtaxi 10000 losely registered taxis drivers, Easytaxi ???? and Uber around 2000 drivers. Saw on the internet that Uber and Grabtaxi are offering huge cash incentives to attract taxi drivers and ordinary drivers. Taking short term losses for longer term profits.
Hi
I am interested to become a uber driver. I am just wondering how much roughly is the yearly insurance if you are driving a Honda Fit 1.5 ?
Thanks.
This question you need to ask directly at Uber website; this forum chatted mostly by taxi drivers who would not switch to Uber unless LTA revoke taxi vocational license.
Yesday saw one lady pte taxi driver at harbourfront area
Think she dunno the location drive also no confident
Never signal not sure whether wanna turn or not slow slow brake brake
hog center lane kena horn left right center fm all the vehicles behind
Jialat la gd luck to her pax....lol
This lady new and most likely GPS-driver.....cannot recognize roads and only listen to instructions by GPS apps.
New drivers take at least 6 months to know the roads.
For licensed taxi drivers, Comfort's probation period is also 6 months.
Originally posted by Neutral-Thinker:New drivers take at least 6 months to know the roads.
For licensed taxi drivers, Comfort's probation period is also 6 months.
After 1 year, I still don't know a lot of places. Just not enough time to know so many and many times, keep going to same places. Just yesterday went to Countryside Road, first time heard of this place. The other day, Lengkok Merak, also first time...lol
Sure got some minor roads never know where one mah. That is why in the taxi course they made us ensure got street directory in the taxi for this kinds of scenarios.
So check from street directory to find out where it roughly is within 15 seconds and head off. 30 years experience cabbies sure also got small roads never been to.
Originally posted by luckycabby:After 1 year, I still don't know a lot of places. Just not enough time to know so many and many times, keep going to same places. Just yesterday went to Countryside Road, first time heard of this place. The other day, Lengkok Merak, also first time...lol
I also many yrs liao still dunno leh
town area lagi blur
Some buildings in town I never been b4 till now
Even b4 I become a TD I never been to many places in town
Tat day 1st time send someone to The Gateway can u believe?
I also dunno where till pax told me it's at beach rd
I hv passby tis building many times but never knew its name n never go in b4
Wen i ask the pax gateway or bestway buliding? Near where ah?
She told me at beach rd n gave me a "wtf tis also u dunno ah look"
Wahahaha
This type of situation customer would say "you go Beach Road first then I guide you from there".
Originally posted by getcarter:I also many yrs liao still dunno leh
town area lagi blur
Some buildings in town I never been b4 till now
Even b4 I become a TD I never been to many places in town
Tat day 1st time send someone to The Gateway can u believe?
I also dunno where till pax told me it's at beach rd
I hv passby tis building many times but never knew its name n never go in b4
Wen i ask the pax gateway or bestway buliding? Near where ah?
She told me at beach rd n gave me a "wtf tis also u dunno ah look"
Wahahaha
Lol, I know town area quite well but still can get wrong, especially the way to the drop off point or taxi stand. The other day, also first time go Concourse for call, don't know where is the pick up point. Luckily pax is a nice lady, guide me by phone. It is behind the concourse skyline entrance.
So many buildings especially in shenton way, raffles place area, sipeh jialat. Only very familiar with the more popular ones like MBFC, Asia Sq, 1 Raffles Place, OMB, etc.
Then the many polis polis in North-One lagi blur lah.
I encountered quite a number of such situations. What I normally do is look at the map when traffic light red or reached that road then look at the map after I stopped the taxi at somewhere safe. 15 seconds is all it takes.
Originally posted by luckycabby:Lol, I know town area quite well but still can get wrong, especially the way to the drop off point or taxi stand. The other day, also first time go Concourse for call, don't know where is the pick up point. Luckily pax is a nice lady, guide me by phone. It is behind the concourse skyline entrance.
So many buildings especially in shenton way, raffles place area, sipeh jialat. Only very familiar with the more popular ones like MBFC, Asia Sq, 1 Raffles Place, OMB, etc.
Then the many polis polis in North-One lagi blur lah.

Originally posted by Reliefdriver4u:
Wah 1st day drive within few hrs nia make $140...steady
This one not accurate one....must observe for a few months then know really can make how much. Cannot be charge lower and still make more than regular cabbies. We all know fully occupied taxi drivers do not make $140 in 2 hours. If a lot more expensive than taxi, customer would not call one.
Because on first day, his rating is 5 stars, so get priority in pings. But later, ratings sure drop so pings less. But still not bad if got incentives. If no incentives, die liao.
Incentive would not last one....which company can take making a loss for a long time when competitor profit-making and in very good financial situation?
They are just trying to lure experienced taxi drivers away. Once they have enough drivers and customers, incentive would stop.
Hailo Relief,
What is the take-home pay after fuel, UberX fee, and how many km he took to collect the $140?
If you need 200km to collect this amount before fuel and uber fee, then got problem liao.
But there is a difference.....taxi drive drive living people....casket drivers drive dead people..... and seems like not everyday got business. A lot of taxi drivers also don't like to go cemetery. Come back time, mood sure not as good.... if everyday like that, then whole person would change from happy type to sad type....