Just took a GT taxi home after trying many times to book a Grabcar without success. Grab15 gives first time riders $15 off... not bad lah
Originally posted by bowah:You may call it embalm, but in funneral business, we call it bao shan bao hai…bao ka liao.
Since the turn of the century, I hv never being a Hirer, alway a relief, relief allow me to take other jobs like new cars unloading at PSA west coast, Marine engine contractors, etc etc including casket handling as an apprentice and taxi super relief.
Now, age has catching up with me, childrens all grow up and working, just sit back abit, work/drive less abit.
Life is not abt driving Driving all day and end up no life.
If can bao ka liao, means can keep all the monies to himself. I read that a freelance embalmer also became a funeral boss later.
I saw that 25 out of 30 registered undertakers in Singapore are family-run businesses. So its a good business that descendants are keen to takeover unlike provision shops, etc.
My kids are still very young and I have a long way to go...
How do you commit your time to do casket handling since it is always on-call? If you need to collect the body, you travel back to the casketeer and drive their car to the hospital to fetch the body?
Originally posted by luckycabby:Just took a GT taxi home after trying many times to book a Grabcar without success. Grab15 gives first time riders $15 off... not bad lah
Support the poor TDs lah...
Originally posted by Autorespond:If can bao ka liao, means can keep all the monies to himself. I read that a freelance embalmer also became a funeral boss later.
I saw that 25 out of 30 registered undertakers in Singapore are family-run businesses. So its a good business that descendants are keen to takeover unlike provision shops, etc.
My kids are still very young and I have a long way to go...
How do you commit your time to do casket handling since it is always on-call? If you need to collect the body, you travel back to the casketeer and drive their car to the hospital to fetch the body?
Originally posted by bowah:
Not all are successful, most who run the business are sai kong, priest, monks and iman themselves, they will do the ritual on the final day only, the rest done by their assistant, and yes, it is a lucrative job with high markup prices with no market control nor rejection, it is all about services.
Are you able to do body collection only? Embalming services I noted that Australia and New Zealand have courses but its too far to learn and expensive.
Can intro me into this line? I'm staying near Outram Park only. I can work in the weekends and after office hours only.
Originally posted by bowah:Then learn how to carry casket, wha, first time i carry, I fell down, the casket also fall one side, tio sai kong farked until jialat jialat, so heavy the dead person, that is why, pple like hammer or my CT fat fat one…I siam far far away
Oic... ok noted. I want to try embalming as a freelancer to see if I'm meant for this trade. If successful, I can start learning the trade and hopefully can form a business that can pass down to my kids.
Originally posted by bowah:Brother, casket business is not driving taxi hor, it is still very much a monopoly business, without much contact or relation, pple will not teach you one lah, that is why I ask you to go to a more well organised registered funneral parlour like Singapore or fairprice casket Pte LTD,...oh by the way, fairprice is not under NTUC fairprice supermarket hor
Fairprice casket is family-run with a pretty daughter. NTUC fairprice also has one... good biz mah...
Go to a more well organised registered funneral parlour like Singapore or fairprice casket Pte Ltd and say join as part time hearse driver 1st?
Wahlau, uberx thread became casket thread? Use Uberx to fetch dead people?
Originally posted by luckycabby:Wahlau, uberx thread became casket thread? Use Uberx to fetch dead people?
Wa lau, luckycabby, it's actually a good thinker man. Why not? Use UberX or GrabCar to book a bus, motorcycle, hearse, etc. very creative actually.. no additional overheads for UberX mah... just add more categories of vehicles only mah.
At hospitals, alot of family members blur cos loved ones suddenly passed away. At a loss of what to do, UberX or GrabCar could educate the customers first so that they could remember that they can also book a hearse to do the necessary fetching of the body from the morgue to the undertaker.
I can never get a cab with UBER or any cab app hahahaha
I saw a casket co. looking for staff in facebook and I contacted him. He asked if I drive and have class 3 or 4 licence. I said yes and I have class 3 licence. He asked me to go for an interview as a funeral director. I have not met him yet.
I researched and noted that his young daughter is helping in his business. I will ask how much is the pay but do you know roughly how much does an employee funeral director earns?
Originally posted by bowah:Congratulation, welcome to the funeral Business.
Coordinator is call director
Casket carrier is call service officer
Casket driver is call Executive Transport officer
Sai Kong, priest and so on is call Chief Operating Officer
Er hu player, trumpet blower and other ching tong ching player are call Musical Art Director...
All very high ranking officers!!! Just like security guards!!! But pay wise donno how much.
Originally posted by bowah:Aiya, all go by contract one lah, one job how much like this lor. Nowaday, job are more of a contractual.
Since you drive by shift, what happens if casket co. calls you to do a job in the middle of your shift?
Originally posted by bowah:Tell them bo eng lah
If after driving, you want to rest, and they call you. You enough sleep boh? Or only work for them on weekend if you don't drive?
Originally posted by luckycabby:Wahlau, uberx thread became casket thread? Use Uberx to fetch dead people?

Check out the Sg taxis cabby No Uber No Grab Nta channel on
Zello
http://zello.me/k/dBFzy