Hi to all, hope all of you are in good health. I am a newbie in this industry and still learning more on this trade. Prior being relief about 2 mths ago, it took me awhile to go thorugh all the forums about taxi industry before I made the decisions to be a TD relief. One of the advices, which i took from here is to drive part time and see if the market is good for me to plunge in as a full time. However, having driven taxi for a couple of months now, I decided to make this as a part time relief job instead ($30 nett) credit to bowah and endure my full time job due to its CPF, welfare and benefits. I really appreaciate every discussions and advises being shared by everyone here. Therefore, I would like to state that being a TD full time is a good contigency solution as a last resort.
Good to hear your experience though it is quite discouraging to me.
Can share more of your driving experience as a newbie?
Hi Jason, not sure if I am able to share the experience here as we all know 10 TD, 10 asshxxx. The best is newbie should go for a hands on experience. First of all be mentally prepared to get scolding, unnecessay remarks, give discounts for mistakes done, stay alert and drive safe, learn routes as much as you can. Best person to guide you on road knowledge apart from map and gps areactually the coorperative passengers. I might missed out a few points but so far thats all i can share, veterans here can enlighten me.
Originally posted by Charade8930:Hi Jason, not sure if I am able to share the experience here as we all know 10 TD, 10 asshxxx. The best is newbie should go for a hands on experience. First of all be mentally prepared to get scolding, unnecessay remarks, give discounts for mistakes done, stay alert and drive safe, learn routes as much as you can. Best person to guide you on road knowledge apart from map and gps areactually the coorperative passengers. I might missed out a few points but so far thats all i can share, veterans here can enlighten me.
Thanks for sharing! Must learn not to lose my cool for first few months. Fortunately is a one time short business for every pax.
Jason you might want to consider this and try.
Taxi drivers can rent cabs from SMRT by the hour under new sharing scheme http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/taxi-drivers-can-rent-cabs-from-smrt-by-the-hour-under-new-sharing-scheme?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1485405088&utm_source=whatsapp&utm_medium=social-media&utm_campaign=addtoany
Originally posted by Charade8930:Jason you might want to consider this and try.
Taxi drivers can rent cabs from SMRT by the hour under new sharing scheme http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/taxi-drivers-can-rent-cabs-from-smrt-by-the-hour-under-new-sharing-scheme?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1485405088&utm_source=whatsapp&utm_medium=social-media&utm_campaign=addtoany
Thanks again for sharing! Quite good becos less commitment. Just need to find out more abt car collection and return locations.
Now taxi companies alot of new schemes. Not only td wannabe like me blur, i think maybe veterans also don't fully understand their schemes.
Things that you may wish to consider before becoming a TD:
a. accident: when your taxi is involved in an accident and send to work shop, you continue to pay rent. you can recover the rent later. if you are the party at fault, you pay $2000 to the taxi company
b. witnessing a crime inside the taxi. when you are called to be a witness in court, you are there at your own time and money
c. when you are sick and have no relief, you continue to pay rent daily
Originally posted by Pandanchen:Things that you may wish to consider before becoming a TD:
a. accident: when your taxi is involved in an accident and send to work shop, you continue to pay rent. you can recover the rent later. if you are the party at fault, you pay $2000 to the taxi company
b. witnessing a crime inside the taxi. when you are called to be a witness in court, you are there at your own time and money
c. when you are sick and have no relief, you continue to pay rent daily
B is very rare. Accidents and falling sick are not common too but bound to happen. Must be mentally and financially prepare for these difficult times. Traffic fines and car broke down are also things that tds dread for
crime
the case of shankar aiyah. taxi driver became prosecution star witness
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vidya_Shankar_Aiyar
Besides income, are there any other stress that tds may face?
Originally posted by Jasonlkl:Besides income, are there any other stress that tds may face?
Traffic stress esp encountering those kuku, idiotic high ego drivers on the road.
Pax who complain or mumble throughout.
Pax who are late and ask you to hurry. Although I won't speed or rush, still hope to get him/her to destination on time and hope dun take wrong turn.
On Call and hope the pax dun fly aeroplane.
Traffic jam on e'way with pax and need to go toilet urgently.
Drunk pax.
etc..etc...
Noted thks! can i say that night pax usually less rushing for time compared to day pax?
have u guys ever request to go toilet while pax waits inside the cab?
Originally posted by bowah:There are stress in every trade lah,
However, stress can be of many types, and some stress are good stress.
Typically speaking, everyone of us got stress, taxi go drive to earn a living and support family will have stress, but this are normal stress in all working people, these at times are also good stress when you manage to get appreciated or huat in your work, it keeps a body and mind going.
On the other hand, there is another stress that is bad, and that is mostly related to self inflicted stress, stress that you ask for it, like gambling, having affair, doing illegal stuff…and so on. It give a person, no matter how strong he is, a guilt in him + the time put in + the effort + pressure and frustration, it all add up to bad stresses.
Therefore be wise, if today, you are driving, that is normal stress, dun go play around with other thing, a person must factually know his limitation and his position inorder to execute his way of living morally and correctly.
Be Inspired
Td has alot of freedom so may tends to drift away. Self disciplined is extremely important! Don't abuse the freedom.
Originally posted by Jasonlkl:Td has alot of freedom so may tends to drift away. Self disciplined is extremely important! Don't abuse the freedom.
go geylang eat chicken
Originally posted by Pandanchen:go geylang eat chicken
Too much chicken very heaty.
Besides waze and google map, can anyone advise me what other apps that are useful for tds?
Originally posted by Jasonlkl:Besides waze and google map, can anyone advise me what other apps that are useful for tds?
I use one map. But only to find the exact location of the block or house (e.g. 23 Upper Serangoon Road, Blk 512 Ang Mo Kio etc etc). One map is not for navigation but to find exact location only.
I seldom use google or wase to navigate although I have the apps. Cos I know my routes quite well.
Originally posted by Taxilim88:I use one map. But only to find the exact location of the block or house (e.g. 23 Upper Serangoon Road, Blk 512 Ang Mo Kio etc etc). One map is not for navigation but to find exact location only.
I seldom use google or wase to navigate although I have the apps. Cos I know my routes quite well.
Very useful app. Thanks alot for recommending!
Originally posted by Jasonlkl:Td has alot of freedom so may tends to drift away. Self disciplined is extremely important! Don't abuse the freedom.