Originally posted by bowah:
You must understand why people drives taxis or want to become taxi drivers, main reason is freedom of life, if you talk about money and working, taxi drivers are actually working much more than many other jobs and earn peanut, but the freedom of life, expression and engagement is one thing that attract many to join, especially men. Many do not like a boss on top of them.
Drive for freedom. Only chance to run own business without capital.
Must be mentally prepared for traffic fines and minor repair costs.
Btw, is there a recommended driving/ sitting posture to avoid neck and back pain?
I tends to have neck pain when driving for long hours.
Will adjusting side mirrors or getting a bigger rear mirror helps?
Should the driver seat be adjusted nearer or further from the steering wheel?
Taxi lau spend time on the roads to make money. Small stress lah. Cannot make it, only you and maybe immediate family suffer.
Uber, grab bosses need to fly around the world to attract investment money. You think easy ar? Try talking to the VCs. Cannot make it, thousands will suffer. That kind of stress and risk will bring huge rewards if successful.
The grass is always greener on the other side.
if you suffer 24 demerit points and have signed 1 year contract
then very good luck to you
always see TD rushed to airport at 140 km per hour
Originally posted by Pandanchen:if you suffer 24 demerit points and have signed 1 year contract
then very good luck to you
always see TD rushed to airport at 140 km per hour
Any possibility to return car during the contract period and pay a penalty fee?
CDG new hirer 6mths contract. No downtime. If suay suay kena accident then car need weeks or month to repair then eat grass liao.
Also if si bei suay kena one career ending accident but still under taxi contact. Then how?
Originally posted by bowah:Got down time lah, 2 hrs max, if after 2 hrs, they will reduce one CJ for you, meaning left with 24CJ instead of 25CJ…anyway, it is a LJ scheme.
Accident is accident, not breakdown, if not your fault, still can earn $80 per day while taxi is under repair, if it is your fault or 50/50, then LL lor, rest or drive for others as relief lor, still expect income meh??
Many TD I see, after getting a big accident, give up driving taxis, most important in all accident is your health and injuries, hope you are still alive and not handicapped or died.
LJ= Lan Jiao
LL= Lan Lan
Cos one of my frd got into a not so major accident and it took 45 days before he got back his vehicle. I wonder if accident repair for taxis will also take similarly long
There is an new cab company called Ethozcab from Ethozgroup whom claimed to be one of the cheapest private hire rentals of BRAND NEW vehicles in the industry, anyone from old big boys' cab companies that switched to Ethozcab? http://www.ethozgroup.com/automotive/ethozcab
Originally posted by Jasonlkl:Cos one of my frd got into a not so major accident and it took 45 days before he got back his vehicle. I wonder if accident repair for taxis will also take similarly long
Festive seasons more trips so probably higher chances of accident. Must save up money for such unforeseen circumstances.
Nasty pax, pax vomitting, road planning, poor business are not as stressful as getting into an accident.
Just briefly overheard ch 8 news talking abt poor taxi business due to stiff competition. Dunno who was suggesting taxi operators to assist elderly tds to upgrade themselves so that they can find other jobs. Feel so sad and discouraging to hear that.
Originally posted by Jasonlkl:Just briefly overheard ch 8 news talking abt poor taxi business due to stiff competition. Dunno who was suggesting taxi operators to assist elderly tds to upgrade themselves so that they can find other jobs. Feel so sad and discouraging to hear that.
Why would taxi operators want to upgrade elderly TDs so they can quit taxi biz and find other jobs? They are shooting themselves in the foot. Whoever suggested that must be an idiot.
Originally posted by Taxilim88:Why would taxi operators want to upgrade elderly TDs so they can quit taxi biz and find other jobs? They are shooting themselves in the foot. Whoever suggested that must be an idiot.
True. Probably i misheard. They coild be referring to some other organizations and not taxi companies themselves.
Originally posted by bowah:There are other jobs for elderly, just that when one do not want to choose to believe, there is nothing can change him or her to accept.
Water taxi driver
Boat driver
Casket driver
Hearse coordinator
AP marshals supervisor
Private Bus hirer
Tour guides cert licensing
Horticulturist
Hawker
Singapore pool license operator
Class 4 licensing
Foot massage cert therapist
Private cruise cert licensing
NEA officers
LTA officer on motorist scootering and bicycle
etcAll these can be learn at CC, with skilfuture credit and even earn as you learn programme from relevant organization.
But sadly, many elderly already brain dead
Fear of getting out comfort zone unless really bo bian
Originally posted by bowah:Either way, there is hardly a comfort zone in Singapore, it either work or died.
Just like ex hirer, Mr Andy, after getting train and pay by WDA+CC for 3 months, he is now boss of a mee pok stall, running for more than a year, the last time I visited him near CNY, Q was good, his stall even show his certificate, already 59 years old, but married a 43 years old beautiful thai women, ....see already limpek also jealous, asked him why so old still open business
he said , it was his dream, but never know how to go about it, and do not have to gut to start it, then MP told him to do it… so now with his wife, 2 sons from his ex wife, seng li might expand
Keep working but never stop dreaming!
How do you guys keep your coins and small notes for convenience?
available for relief driving
FROM 16 MARCH 2017, ANY TAXI COMPANY EXCEPT SMRT
cck north 6
Originally posted by Jasonlkl:Keep working but never stop dreaming!