almost all shop allow u to fel the camera what...go to harvey norman or best denki....Originally posted by pure_lotus:Any recommendation of shops that I can take a look and feel the camera before I buy it..![]()
very singaporeanOriginally posted by pqr:almost all shop allow u to fel the camera what...go to harvey norman or best denki....
can feel and test til u drop...
then buy at other shops lor
is it?Originally posted by de_middle:very singaporean![]()
you gota be kidding about trying for size. would you sacrifice a 5fps D2X or a full-frame 15mp CMOS 1Ds Mk2 for a more comfortable 4/3 CCD Olym E-300? function/control wise pretty similar to the D70s, no more stupid D70 shutter release button stiffness. If you have been using Nikon F(or N) and D series, and lenses, fatihfully D80 should be very easy to pickup. may consider getting a 70s though. no need for such high pixel count. hd very big isit? everyday wana print A0 size isit? people blackhead wana inspect isit? haha... anywaya i personally prefer one with a high shutter rate. smt above 2.5fps is great.Originally posted by Farmerseed:I feel that it is all right to want to test the camera before you buy it. If you are going to spend more money to buy a piece of sophisticated hardware testing the camera before buying it is wise. Of course i will usually do that if i have intention of buying at the shop when the price is reasonable.
Different people have different hand sizes so you have to get a camera with a body and grip that you at least can feel comfortable with.
Actually high MP not only for big printouts. It's for editing purposes aka Photoshop. And do u think everyone can afford to buy a D2X? And hor, if u're using the DSLR juz for hobby purposes, most pple can't handle the weight of a D2X. Imagine walking ard with a D2X with a 18-200 VR lens. It will be too heavy by juz hanging it on ur neck. When the camera is too heavy for usage, it is hard for the user to control, which might result in blur images etc. D70s is currently being replaced by D80. The sharpness in D80 is much better than the 70s and 80 has more focal points.Originally posted by amortifiedpenguin:you gota be kidding about trying for size. would you sacrifice a 5fps D2X or a full-frame 15mp CMOS 1Ds Mk2 for a more comfortable 4/3 CCD Olym E-300? function/control wise pretty similar to the D70s, no more stupid D70 shutter release button stiffness. If you have been using Nikon F(or N) and D series, and lenses, fatihfully D80 should be very easy to pickup. may consider getting a 70s though. no need for such high pixel count. hd very big isit? everyday wana print A0 size isit? people blackhead wana inspect isit? haha... anywaya i personally prefer one with a high shutter rate. smt above 2.5fps is great.
Nah personally i will not. But i would if i cannot afford to pay for them.Originally posted by amortifiedpenguin:you gota be kidding about trying for size. would you sacrifice a 5fps D2X or a full-frame 15mp CMOS 1Ds Mk2 for a more comfortable 4/3 CCD Olym E-300? function/control wise pretty similar to the D70s, no more stupid D70 shutter release button stiffness. If you have been using Nikon F(or N) and D series, and lenses, fatihfully D80 should be very easy to pickup. may consider getting a 70s though. no need for such high pixel count. hd very big isit? everyday wana print A0 size isit? people blackhead wana inspect isit? haha... anywaya i personally prefer one with a high shutter rate. smt above 2.5fps is great.
Its sad that we have to discuss techically in a Marketplace Forum. If only this thread surfaces in Photographers and Writer's Haven. Hope we can meet there and discuss constructively often.Originally posted by Haoz30:Actually high MP not only for big printouts. It's for editing purposes aka Photoshop. And do u think everyone can afford to buy a D2X? And hor, if u're using the DSLR juz for hobby purposes, most pple can't handle the weight of a D2X. Imagine walking ard with a D2X with a 18-200 VR lens. It will be too heavy by juz hanging it on ur neck. When the camera is too heavy for usage, it is hard for the user to control, which might result in blur images etc. D70s is currently being replaced by D80. The sharpness in D80 is much better than the 70s and 80 has more focal points.
OP might wanna hold back ur purchase. Xmas is coming, might have better deals. And D40 is rumoured to be coming out at that period.![]()
You say one ah, why not we organize an outing for photographers only?Originally posted by Farmerseed:Its sad that we have to discuss techically in a Marketplace Forum. If only this thread surfaces in Photographers and Writer's Haven. Hope we can meet there and discuss constructively often.![]()
I do not call myself a photographer..i am just someone who has interest in shooting beginner level photos.Originally posted by PointBlue:You say one ah, why not we organize an outing for photographers only?
u bet, i had a friend who previously worked for best denki, many customers come in ask question, touch here touch there end up buy from elsewhere. Somemore dare to say out loudly say SLS cheaperOriginally posted by pqr:is it?
smart shopper ?Originally posted by de_middle:u bet, i had a friend who previously worked for best denki, many customers come in ask question, touch here touch there end up buy from elsewhere. Somemore dare to say out loudly say SLS cheaper![]()
it`s much better than my 3.2 mp IXUS leh....Originally posted by Farmerseed:I do not call myself a photographer..i am just someone who has interest in shooting beginner level photos.
I do not call myself an artist..i am just someone who used to like to sketch.
As compared to the many photographers here, i feel very out of place because i can only take photos with a sony DSC-P73 which i can afford at sgd499![]()
Hehehe... i also dun call myself a photographer.. YETOriginally posted by Farmerseed:I do not call myself a photographer..i am just someone who has interest in shooting beginner level photos.
I do not call myself an artist..i am just someone who used to like to sketch.
As compared to the many photographers here, i feel very out of place because i can only take photos with a sony DSC-P73 which i can afford at sgd499![]()
I believe it's here:Originally posted by Haoz30:Hehehe... i also dun call myself a photographer.. YETWhat I know abt photography is peanuts, still a long long way to go. What I know is what I learnt in my course of work... so yea.. plenty more to learn.
Currently, I'm using IXUS 60. But I have access to a film SLR that my gf is using.
BTW, I have nothing against Sony. But hor, I BTH their sales personel leh! All no product knowledge 1. End up I teach them about cameras instead.
p/s: I didn't know sgforums got photography 1 leh. Care to link this sgforum newbie to it? thx in advance![]()
heavier/longer lens (even with VR!!!) = harder to control? shakier images?Originally posted by Haoz30:most pple can't handle the weight of a D2X. Imagine walking ard with a D2X with a 18-200 VR lens. It will be too heavy by juz hanging it on ur neck. When the camera is too heavy for usage, it is hard for the user to control, which might result in blur images etc.
OP might wanna hold back ur purchase. Xmas is coming, might have better deals. And D40 is rumoured to be coming out at that period.![]()
I used to have a D2X and the neckstrap is a lifesaver. It's much more risky slinging it over the shoulder. With a camera as large as the D2X, there's a bigger chance of it slipping out of the hand and onto the floor.Originally posted by amortifiedpenguin:heavier/longer lens (even with VR!!!) = harder to control? shakier images?
SURE? with proper holding technique it should be even easier to get a perfectly still shot. Anyway, I was trained NEVER to hang cameras on necks for 3 reasons. 1. Hunchedback alert.
2. Friends brand new F100 (few years back) fell down grand canyon that way.
3. My photography instrutor almost got hanged by camera strap when photographing the nicol highway incindent by a metal rod that caught onto it when his company rushed him down onsite just minutes after it happened.
so please, over shoulde4r and grab with right hand. most of the time i dont even sling. like when using a D2H. haha...
Every one into photography has their own style and preference. Unless you are going the professional road or doing photograpgy for money (that is to sell and make people satisfied with parting their money for your photos), every photographer can should not be limited to what the book or the instructor says. Some people tends to have shaky hands and that explains why a fraction of a second's difference in the shutter speed can result in one guy taking a photo with some blurs while the other will not at the same shutter speed. Not only in photography, in game and shooting competitions too. You need a stable hand as part of the theory to achieve an accurate and steady shot on the target. Perhaps if you are trained professionally please quote the course or manual dictating that. If its just grumble or a thing the instructor had in his mind then trainees like you (as we all here know by now) should dismiss that and observe safety as the top first priority before you can even tinkle with photography.Originally posted by amortifiedpenguin:heavier/longer lens (even with VR!!!) = harder to control? shakier images?
SURE? with proper holding technique it should be even easier to get a perfectly still shot. Anyway, I was trained NEVER to hang cameras on necks for 3 reasons. 1. Hunchedback alert.
2. Friends brand new F100 (few years back) fell down grand canyon that way.
3. My photography instrutor almost got hanged by camera strap when photographing the nicol highway incindent by a metal rod that caught onto it when his company rushed him down onsite just minutes after it happened.
so please, over shoulde4r and grab with right hand. most of the time i dont even sling. like when using a D2H. haha...