Nurses gave me half a tablet of valium(!!!), to sooth nerves they said and a painkiller. After 1/2 hr, I went inside the op room. Lie on a bed. They used something to hold my head in place. Then I was pushed under a machine. Doc used tape to tape my eye lashes and then a metal prong pushed my eye lids out to expose my eye balls. A metal round thing was placed on my eye ball (to hold it in place i think) And the doc used water to clean the eye ball. Then he used a cotton wool to dry the eye ball. Yes, I could see this all happening. Surprisingly, there was no pain at all. Except the part where the metal thing was placed around the eye ball. I could feel some pressure.. and then I think the doc asked me to look at the red dot of the machine and concentrate. Don't move eyes, don't move head. I couldn't anyway, because eye was held in place. Couldn't even blink! Then they switched off the lights and the laser started. Lasted few seconds. After that, eyeball was washed again. Cotton wool to dry my eye ball. Then released it from the metal thingy and untape my eye lashes. They covered my right eye and then did the same thing with my left eye.
Whole procedure was done in 15 mins. Right after the surgery, I could see things quite clearly, except it felt like there was a film covering the eyes. I came out of the op room, put some eye drops, and closed my eyes to rest. After a while, doc came to check. He said ok and I went home. I opened my eyes to walk out of the clinic to the car and my tears keep flowing.. Quite difficult to open my eyes! When I went home, I immediately went to bed. Put eye drops again, put a protective eye goggle and went to sleep.
yaOriginally posted by turbo_drift:something amiss.![]()
i scared i scared i scared ...!Originally posted by monkeybusiness:aiyah...dun think so much lah
that time before i did mine, i oso worry alot
but no risk no gain mah
besides, the doc already highlighted that the only probably risk is due to infection. If you apply eyedrops and antibiotics as prescribed and avoid crowded and dusty environment for the first wk, you will be fine oredy
omg omg omgOriginally posted by bluejuice:My procedure...
i got no tears lehOriginally posted by bluejuice:My procedure...
did u watch the video link which i posted in the previous page?Originally posted by Ferret:i scared i scared i scared ...!![]()
now u want to do before CNY?Originally posted by Ferret:i was thinking of doing after cny de...
now neh ber mind le..![]()
pause start pause start ...now at 57 secs... omg omg omgOriginally posted by monkeybusiness:did u watch the video link which i posted in the previous page?![]()
u click pause firstOriginally posted by Ferret:pause start pause start ...now at 57 secs... omg omg omg![]()
is it ur eye?Originally posted by monkeybusiness:view at your own risk
warning is given...but if u still want to watch, go ahead![]()
http://youtube.com/watch?v=O4kDC4sZ5Jg
you tear because after laser, ur eyes very dry.. so u tear to hydrate it..Originally posted by monkeybusiness:i got no tears leh
mine was like normal like tat...no tears at all...just that the images are kinda hazy
but after i reach home, i ate the sleeping pill prescribed by the doc...and went to sleep after that(of course got apply eyedrop first)
then nxt day, when wake up, vision was quite clear liao...but still abit blur when i try to read newspapers...over the nxt few days, vision gradually improved and now, it's perfect.![]()
aiyah older than u la..Originally posted by monkeybusiness:bluejuice, may i ask how old were you when u did your surgery?
what do u think?Originally posted by turbo_drift:is it ur eye?![]()
it sounds scary..Originally posted by Ferret:omg omg omg![]()
must be.Originally posted by monkeybusiness:what do u think?
hmmm...weird...mine has no tears at allOriginally posted by bluejuice:you tear because after laser, ur eyes very dry.. so u tear to hydrate it..
but i have perfect vision next morning. I drove to the clinic myself actually.![]()
but next few days, need to keep putting eye drops..
i only got dry eyes like 1-2 weeks only. Plus looking at computers for too long also tire the eyes.. but its alright..
no side effects so far...
actually from the moment u walk out the ops room, u can see liao...just that it is hazy only...Originally posted by turbo_drift:must be.
how long does the eye fully recover?![]()
if ur eyes don't feel dry, then don't have to la..Originally posted by monkeybusiness:hmmm...weird...mine has no tears at all
i oso keep applying the eyedrops
actually by right, i oso should be applying the eyedrop now...but i only do it when i remember to
who's lexi?Originally posted by bluejuice:it sounds scary..
but don't worry.. its not
lexi also did hers already!
i did it on 21 dec...Originally posted by bluejuice:if ur eyes don't feel dry, then don't have to la..
when did u do it?
ok bed time. continue tomorrow..
icic. plan to do it somewhere when i'm in mid-20.. *dunno sgf still around boh*Originally posted by monkeybusiness:actually from the moment u walk out the ops room, u can see liao...just that it is hazy only...
the nxt day wen wake up, u can see almost perfect liao...just that u might have a bit of problem trying to read newspaper or something...
for it to recover, it take me about 1 wk