Originally posted by Bangulzai:yup
i found the definition for li7-por7-chit4
二æ¥ä¸ƒ = æŸ�项知识或技术虽ä¸�足,但还是有点本事,多少å�¯ä»¥åº”付点局é�¢ã€‚
Good on you. Perhaps should put it at the other thread for SimL.
u copy n paste my definition paste there lor
it would be so fun, cos tis kind of disappearing words reappears again
Done!
how to make a sentence with bang ka li ? how come sounds so like sekali
added: my spoken version of "perhaps" is "bang k'ai" or "mang khai", for your info
Originally posted by Bangulzai:how to make a sentence with bang ka li ? how come sounds so like sekali
Bang ka li e bo teng. Perhaps he didn't come back. A borrow word?
Originally posted by Bangulzai:added: my spoken version of "perhaps" is "bang k'ai" or "mang khai", for your info
bang k'ai is a younger version of bang ka li circa 1950s onwards.
Smart!
I checked up my Malay dictionary and it is Barangkali !
Originally posted by Bangulzai:Smart!
I checked up my Malay dictionary and it is Barangkali !
Bingo!
la la la . i learnt bang ka li and li por chit today :-)
Originally posted by Bangulzai:la la la . i learnt bang ka li and li por chit today :-)
Always nice to share too.
Good nite. Ai koon liao.
therefore, the conclusion is barangkali was borrowed into Hokkien and barang (2 syllables) merged into one (bang), bang ka li evolved into bang khai due to the conglomeration of bang ka li and tai khai (大概) and became a true blue Singaporean term bang khai. later b is to nasalized again into native Hokkien into m to evolve into mang khai which sounds far away from the original barangkali
Just think of two more for you to ponder.
si nui ah kam kam = reluctant
sam liap = undecided
Good nite.
provide the tones if possible? if u haf the characters even better. haven't heard of these 2 before, and surprised at "nui" being used here (ChiangChiu vernacular). i'm gg out now, will discuss later.
ok.
without tones i cant guess or pronounce, cos one is a long phrase while the other is not listed in the dictionary. the characters sounds confusing without the tones for me, i wouldnt be able to guess sam1 , sam2 , sam3 or whether liap is really liap8 ç²’
Sorry, a bit of hold up by some relatives visiting.
it's ok leh, take ur time
Originally posted by Bangulzai:it's ok leh, take ur time
Can't get into nciku to write the characters.
i dunno abt nciku although once went to their website n was not so interested
i am now very interested in the Hinduism thread in Chit-Chat and i haf signed a petition
how abt u
Originally posted by Bangulzai:i dunno abt nciku although once went to their website n was not so interested
i am now very interested in the Hinduism thread in Chit-Chat and i haf signed a petition
how abt u
At least I can write the characters online with the mouse. Otherwise I don't have Chinese software to write you.
What Hindu post to petition?
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/369159
u just tell me what characters u tink roughly are and i will write for u
Originally posted by Bangulzai:http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/369159
u just tell me what characters u tink roughly are and i will write for u
sam liap = 三 and liap is one heart and 3 ears.