Originally posted by Bangulzai:三懾
i checked on my Minnan dict and it showed liap4 懾 = 害怕;�惧;胆怯
therefore i guess it has something related to three worries (too much worries), which makes one “undecided”
Ok. Now for the si nui kam kam = 四两甘甘
aiyo so it is "niu" not "nui" leh.. "nui" when i jus not saw it i tot was � = egg (in ChiangChiu vernacular)
anyway i haf not heard of si3-niu2-kam1-kam1 and i dunno how it means that way
Originally posted by Bangulzai:aiyo so it is "niu" not "nui" leh.. "nui" when i jus not saw it i tot was � = egg (in ChiangChiu vernacular)
anyway i haf not heard of si3-niu2-kam1-kam1 and i dunno how it means that way
Sorry, spelling error. Refer to reluctant to part with something.
Originally posted by Bangulzai:all these are so cheem, really. i have not heard of them even once in my life, from bang ka li to li por chit to sam liap to si niu kam kam
i wonder why
how to make a sentence with sam liap and si niu kam kam
kio yi ki cho kang, yi na hi tau sam liap. When ask him to work, he just worry and do nothing.
yi an ni chuay, kio he hor chi chia, si nui kam kam. He have so many ask him for one, he is so reluctant.
Another.
Kio yi chit to, yi tui san tui si, na hit tau sam liap. Ask him out to play, give so many excuses, he's so reluctant.
These phrases are passed down by my elders from Amoy.
The first one would be better if you used tun tuiN é “è¹Ž istead of sam liap.
Sam liap have a negativity in meaning.
wa khao. now even tun tuiN is new to me. and all i can't find in my dictionaries. think i haf to throw them away liao lah
the nearest match in my dictionary to tun tuiN is tiuN5-tu5 踌躇
Originally posted by Bangulzai:wa khao. now even tun tuiN is new to me. and all i can't find in my dictionaries. think i haf to throw them away liao lah
Ok lar , better than nothing.
I learn from chek tock 尺 - 片賣 (letter writing) in Hokkien from an old teacher.
Originally posted by Bangulzai:the nearest match in my dictionary to tun tuiN is tiuN5-tu5 踌躇
踌躇 is borrow from north.
actually is interesting when you mentioned tun-tuiN. if your elders are from Amoy, how come your pronunciation has tuiN? because the vowel combination of -uiN only exist in Amoy with articulatory position of k- family, otherwise your pronunciation is indicative of ChuanChiu vernacular specifically
Originally posted by Bangulzai:actually is interesting when you mentioned tun-tuiN. if your elders are from Amoy, how come your pronunciation has tuiN? because the vowel combination of -uiN only exist in Amoy with articulatory position of k- family, otherwise your pronunciation is indicative of ChuanChiu vernacular specifically
Could be Chuanchiu too. I can't verify.
ya 尺� or 尺牘 chik4-tok8 is used to refer to letter writing in the olden days. i wonder how old ur vocabulary are
Originally posted by Bangulzai:ya 尺� or 尺牘 chik4-tok8 is used to refer to letter writing in the olden days. i wonder how old ur vocabulary are
Me my Chinese is learn in Hokkien not Mandarin. Very ancient I suppose. Hope I did not confuse you too much.
it's not too confusing, fortunately. i had been wondering how come today i can't find the entries for sam liap, si niu kam kam and tun tuiN / or tun ting (Amoy correspondence of ChuanChiu tuiN / or tun teng (Singapore Hokkien correspondence of ChuanChiu tuiN)
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Me my Chinese is learn in Hokkien not Mandarin. Very ancient I suppose. Hope I did not confuse you too much.
If I remember correctly the book I learned from was 秋水軒.
Originally posted by Bangulzai:it's not too confusing, fortunately. i had been wondering how come today i can't find the entries for sam liap, si niu kam kam and tun tuiN / or tun ting (Amoy correspondence of ChuanChiu tuiN / or tun teng (Singapore Hokkien correspondence of ChuanChiu tuiN)
Probably only old chap like me still know, completely unheard nowadays even my kids don't speak those.
old old book sia. gotta find time to read it when it's time for it.
now for me to provide you with rare Hokkien usage that i know of too:
戽斗 hO3-tau2 (pronounced "hor-tau") : used to refer to long faced person with elongated chin
Originally posted by Bangulzai:old old book sia. gotta find time to read it when it's time for it.
now for me to provide you with rare Hokkien usage that i know of too:
戽斗 hO3-tau2 (pronounced "hor-tau") : used to refer to long faced person with elongated chin
戽斗 = longchin, slang to refer Ming tai zhu.
Hmmm.....are you referring to my old pal from YMB Longchin John. haha.
Originally posted by Bangulzai:so coincidence. never tot of Longchin John aka Angel7030 when i was typing the above post. wat is YMB
The old Yahoo Message Board.
Hard to find kaki to talk a bit Cheem Hokkien.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:The old Yahoo Message Board.
Hard to find kaki to talk a bit Cheem Hokkien.
Better go to sleep. I think you got to work/study tomorrow.
ok next time