Learnt to cook in 3 years overseasOriginally posted by rainee:Recently starting to develop an interest for cooking...anyone else?
ah..I am making wanton soup tomorrow...any tips to make sure the wan ton won't "open" and let the meat comes out when the soup is boiling?Originally posted by Werewolf:Learnt to cook in 3 years overseas
Started with fried rice done in a rice cooker....
Then, got a wok in the 2nd year and practised on cooking several different dishes. Now 3rd year, add in other stuff like cream-based pasta, boiled chicken soup, fried oberguine, making wan ton, etc
mmmmm..looks tasty... *slurpz*Originally posted by rainee:Tonight's peanut soup is a great success
ugh..tho i tried bout 4 times in my life..still cant bring myself to enjoy eating chicken feetOriginally posted by rainee:Tonight's peanut soup is a great success
chicken feet is the best! But tonight I didn't use chicken feet...just chicken drumstickOriginally posted by alexkusu:ugh..tho i tried bout 4 times in my life..still cant bring myself to enjoy eating chicken feet
I assume you're making the wan ton yourself? I.e. buy the skin, then make the mince meat and put onto skin b4 folding.Originally posted by rainee:ah..I am making wanton soup tomorrow...any tips to make sure the wan ton won't "open" and let the meat comes out when the soup is boiling?
Hehe...I have another idea...let this thread be a place where we can share tips...Those who are good in cooking can help the novices like me
u shld hv taken a pic of the actual workOriginally posted by rainee:Tonight's peanut soup is a great success
yea hor...nvm, today i am making wanton soup, I will try to take picture before I eatOriginally posted by BabyLover:u shld hv taken a pic of the actual work
ooh then muz take pic b4 u eat hor..Originally posted by rainee:yea hor...nvm, today i am making wanton soup, I will try to take picture before I eat
Yesterday I make crispy potato wedges also...just put garlic on the wedges and a few more spices then put into oven to bake
The crispy wedges sound nice to eatOriginally posted by rainee:yea hor...nvm, today i am making wanton soup, I will try to take picture before I eat
Yesterday I make crispy potato wedges also...just put garlic on the wedges and a few more spices then put into oven to bake
wan ton soup lor..Originally posted by Lance_han:calling out for all those who cook
tis sounds stupid...but
anyone have any recipes for how to cook those kinds of soup tat u eat noodles wif???
lol..those are detailed steps mah...so that beginners would know exactly wat to do nextOriginally posted by Werewolf:I read liao feel very hungry!!!!!!!
Wah, so complicated steps one....
I make my 'wan ton' don't have so many steps one...Hmmmm ^^
Originally posted by The man who was death:My wan tons put in boiling water can liao, frozen ones
so many ingredients and steps i see also scared leOriginally posted by rainee:wan ton soup lor..
Wan Ton Soup
INGREDIENTS:
2 ounces shrimp, shelled and deveined
3/4 teaspoon minced celery
3/4 teaspoon minced green onion
1/4 egg white
1/8 teaspoon sesame oil
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cornstarch, divided
6 round wonton wrappers
1-1/2 teaspoons water
1/4 pound dry Chinese noodles
1 cup chicken stock
1 tablespoon minced green onion
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DIRECTIONS:
1. Place shrimp in a food processor and pulse a few times to coarsely chop. Combine celery, 1 tablespoon green onion, egg white, sesame oil, salt and 1 teaspoon cornstarch with shrimp and pulse a few more times to make a chunky paste. Transfer mixture to a bowl and stir briskly until it becomes elastic.
2. Lay the wonton wrappers on a flat surface and place a scant teaspoon of shrimp mixture in the center of each wrapper. Combine remaining 1 teaspoon cornstarch with 2 tablespoons water to form a paste. One at a time, brush some cornstarch paste around the edge of a wonton wrapper and fold the wrapper in half to make a semicircle, pressing edges together to seal. Then, holding the wonton with the curved edge facing away from you, bring the tips of the straight edge together and seal with more cornstarch paste. Repeat with remaining wontons.
3. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook the noodles in boiling water until al dente, 8 to 10 minutes. Drain and divide between 4 serving bowls.
Meanwhile, bring the chicken broth to a simmer over medium-low heat.
Bring another large pot of water to a boil and drop the wontons into the boiling water. When the wontons rise to the surface, continue to cook them one minute longer. Remove with a slotted spoon as they finish cooking and divide them among the 4 bowls.
4. Pour hot chicken broth over wontons and noodles in bowls and garnish with the remaining chopped green onions to serve.
Just buy from your nearest wanton mee stall lahOriginally posted by hisoka:so many ingredients and steps i see also scared le
Don't worry lah, actually it is very easy one...Originally posted by hisoka:so many ingredients and steps i see also scared le
not as satisfying as eating the one u made yourselfOriginally posted by The man who was death:Just buy from your nearest wanton mee stall lah
It also won't be satisfying when u found out the ones u made sucksOriginally posted by rainee:not as satisfying as eating the one u made yourself
keep improving on it until it tastes nice lor..Originally posted by The man who was death:It also won't be satisfying when u found out the ones u made sucks