I haven't read Discworld but I've heard people talking about it. I'll have to give it a look.Originally posted by starblue:Science of Discworld by Terry Prachet.
I will check it outOriginally posted by starblue:there's another multiple personality book. think it's called "the story of Billy Camaron" or something... this guy had 24 personalities... amazing story.. i've read sybil, but i think this other book is nicer... lolz...
Originally posted by rainee:isn't a geisha a jap guy who has to dress like a lady to perform some play thing for guys?? no meh??
The rags-to-riches story of Sayuri, the novelÂ’s heroine, is a first-person account, as if she is relating her life story to an American professor. The novel addresses themes such as freedom, beauty, metamorphosis, and gender relationships. Upon publication in 1997, Memoirs of a Geisha quickly became a bestseller, an impressive showing for a first-time author. Memoirs of a Geisha has been translated into more than twenty languages and has sold more than four million copies in English. Critics and readers alike have embraced the novel, and in the first few years after publication, it was a popular book club selection.
no, she is not a guy...she was sold to a "brothel" when she was very young...and then learn how to entertain men through dancing and singing...and when she was old enough, she was "sold" to the highest bidder...Originally posted by starblue:isn't a geisha a jap guy who has to dress like a lady to perform some play thing for guys?? no meh??
yup yup.. check this book out.. i simply love it!! but got a lot of biology stuff so non-bio people might not understand them lah... even i dun understand some terms...Originally posted by skid:I haven't read Discworld but I've heard people talking about it. I'll have to give it a look.
but i am sure a geisha refers to a young boy who, as a career, dresses like a woman and dance for men to see.... but i guess there are female geishas as well.. haha...Originally posted by rainee:no, she is not a guy...she was sold to a "brothel" when she was very young...and then learn how to entertain men through dancing and singing...and when she was old enough, she was "sold" to the highest bidder...
gei·sha ( P ) Pronunciation Key (gsh, g-)Originally posted by starblue:but i am sure a geisha refers to a young boy who, as a career, dresses like a woman and dance for men to see.... but i guess there are female geishas as well.. haha...
hmmm... then the boy one is called wad rainee jie know or not???Originally posted by rainee:gei·sha ( P ) Pronunciation Key (gsh, g-)
n. pl. geisha or gei·shas
One of a class of professional women in Japan trained from girlhood in conversation, dancing, and singing in order to entertain professional or social gatherings of men.
Hmm not sure...but found this sentence while googling for it..Originally posted by starblue:hmmm... then the boy one is called wad rainee jie know or not???
Is there a boy one in the first place?Originally posted by starblue:hmmm... then the boy one is called wad rainee jie know or not???
got lah...Originally posted by DriftingGuy:Is there a boy one in the first place?
yes yes!!! got books in kino about stories of such boys loh... how the cope with their career.. cos they are sold from young also de.. then must dress as women and dance for oogling men.... i rem they are called geishas de... but hell.. i must be wrong again.. haha...Originally posted by DriftingGuy:Is there a boy one in the first place?
read the first 3, they are good can relate to wat the book is abt, cos im like the main charac tooOriginally posted by rainee:My fave series
It makes for a good light reading...it definitely helps me to relax and laugh a lot, and most guys I know totally shun these Shopaholic series...but I love it, so sue me!
I read all 4 le, just read the fourth one a week agoOriginally posted by shinta:read the first 3, they are good can relate to wat the book is abt, cos im like the main charac too
wads FHM??Originally posted by crazy monkey:FHM