sight..your dad is a pastor? Then why force you to marry within your church?Originally posted by starblue:lolz.. u dunno my dad. if i read in front of him, he will get super angry, say i dun respect him blah blah.. and get violent even.. even when i just let him scold.. lolz...
and yes.. he keeps saying next time must find a guy in church to marry.. thing is, my church majority are indians. -_-"
i'm 20 for God's sake. and still i dun dun even have the freedom of choosing wad i want to do with my life... i used to go for doctrine classes, but i stopped. cos my dad's like forcing me to become a sunday school teacher the moment i finish my doctrine classes. kaoz... he always wants to decide my life for me, without asking for my feelings...
how pathetic.
i can't stay out after 9pm without calling home. can't read my books. can't even lie in bed doing nothing (yes!! even this he got something to say.)
and all i wan is to live my life for myself....
hmm... mayb u gonna show tat ur dad tat u have grown up n can take care of urself n u ned to have some private space n time for urself. mayb ur dad is worried abt u. have a talk with ur dad? but in a polite but confident way.Originally posted by starblue:lolz.. u dunno my dad. if i read in front of him, he will get super angry, say i dun respect him blah blah.. and get violent even.. even when i just let him scold.. lolz...
and yes.. he keeps saying next time must find a guy in church to marry.. thing is, my church majority are indians. -_-"
i'm 20 for God's sake. and still i dun dun even have the freedom of choosing wad i want to do with my life... i used to go for doctrine classes, but i stopped. cos my dad's like forcing me to become a sunday school teacher the moment i finish my doctrine classes. kaoz... he always wants to decide my life for me, without asking for my feelings...
how pathetic.
i can't stay out after 9pm without calling home. can't read my books. can't even lie in bed doing nothing (yes!! even this he got something to say.)
yes. it is pathetic. i cannot imagine.Originally posted by starblue:lolz.. u dunno my dad. if i read in front of him, he will get super angry, say i dun respect him blah blah.. and get violent even.. even when i just let him scold.. lolz...
how pathetic.
i tried to communicate with him before. but he doesn't get the point. dun wanna say more about him le, lest i start to *#&%^#@*%^#@* him.. lolz...Originally posted by Ito_^:yes. it is pathetic. i cannot imagine.
like ratty seems to said, stand up to your dad with confidence. maybe its becuz u dun dare (or seem to dare) they worry you are the type that cannot make yr own decisions.
some times imo really need to argue back.
sounds like my momOriginally posted by starblue:i tried to communicate with him before. but he doesn't get the point. dun wanna say more about him le, lest i start to *#&%^#@*%^#@* him.. lolz...
he's no where in my life... but he wants to have a control over me. i suspect cos he scared next time i will not feed him when he's old. and that if he controls me, my brothers will also be under his control. -_-"""
think u ned to prove with ur actions tat u r grown up n take care of urself in a positive way.Originally posted by starblue:i tried to communicate with him before. but he doesn't get the point. dun wanna say more about him le, lest i start to *#&%^#@*%^#@* him.. lolz...
he's no where in my life... but he wants to have a control over me. i suspect cos he scared next time i will not feed him when he's old. and that if he controls me, my brothers will also be under his control. -_-"""
if you are working le then just ignore him or tell him to shut up lor if not too bad have to renOriginally posted by starblue:i tried to communicate with him before. but he doesn't get the point. dun wanna say more about him le, lest i start to *#&%^#@*%^#@* him.. lolz...
if i were you...Originally posted by starblue:i tried to communicate with him before. but he doesn't get the point. dun wanna say more about him le, lest i start to *#&%^#@*%^#@* him.. lolz...
haha what if work already they still bug you? Esp when you know you cant leave them alone...it is a responsibility...Originally posted by hyuuga neji:if i were you...
i'd rebelled and ran away from home liao...
but no... i'm not telling/encouraging you to run away from home...
now you still studying... so have to ren a bit...
when you start work... you'll get freedom you crave for so much...
den ^%#%$#%$#%$ to him lor. but dun run away from home la. if he scared next time u will not feed him or want to keep yr bros under his control, ii think he will shut up and back off, cuz it seems bad for his impression to yr bros oso. wait they learn from u, he L.L.Originally posted by starblue:i tried to communicate with him before. but he doesn't get the point. dun wanna say more about him le, lest i start to *#&%^#@*%^#@* him.. lolz...
responsibility is one thing...Originally posted by rainee:haha what if work already they still bug you? Esp when you know you cant leave them alone...it is a responsibility...
following liao.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:responsibility is one thing...
but financial independence allows you to do as you please...
nobody say tat once start work have to ignore or dun care your parents wat...
but it allows you to disregard watever unreasonable thing they want you to do...
dun wan to go church... then dun go lor...
father/mother cannot threaten to cut your pocket money wat...
but this is my opinion...
little kids out there... dun follow hor...
yarz, wanna go exploring..Originally posted by starblue:there is so much more to life than just working and studying and giving tuition. that there is so much in this world i haven't explored and i'm just trapped here, in a mediocre life. anyone share the same sentiments?
i have been financially independent for one and half years liao... but i guess it's my upbringing... my brothers and i have never talked back (even gently, with respect) to our father. i gave him all the respect i could by not arguing with him, just let him scold, he still not happy.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:responsibility is one thing...
but financial independence allows you to do as you please...
nobody say tat once start work have to ignore or dun care your parents wat...
but it allows you to disregard watever unreasonable thing they want you to do...
dun wan to go church... then dun go lor...
father/mother cannot threaten to cut your pocket money wat...
but this is my opinion...
little kids out there... dun follow hor...
I also ren my bro very long liao, the worst thing is that i still have to put up with him for at least 6 months before he goes to the army. He also quite violent also. Try to tolerate him lor better then upsetting anyoneOriginally posted by starblue:i have been financially independent for one and half years liao... but i guess it's my upbringing... my brothers and i have never talked back (even gently, with respect) to our father. i gave him all the respect i could by not arguing with him, just let him scold, he still not happy.
of cos i can do as i please, since i am independent liao... but i cannot not go to church. or do anything too drastic. cos i am scared he will get violent and hurt my mum.. -_-"
i hate violent guys...
you still need someone to pay your uni school fees rite???Originally posted by starblue:i have been financially independent for one and half years liao... but i guess it's my upbringing... my brothers and i have never talked back (even gently, with respect) to our father. i gave him all the respect i could by not arguing with him, just let him scold, he still not happy.
of cos i can do as i please, since i am independent liao... but i cannot not go to church. or do anything too drastic. cos i am scared he will get violent and hurt my mum.. -_-"
i hate violent guys...
why the hell wld he wanna hurt yr mom?Originally posted by starblue:i have been financially independent for one and half years liao... but i guess it's my upbringing... my brothers and i have never talked back (even gently, with respect) to our father. i gave him all the respect i could by not arguing with him, just let him scold, he still not happy.
i hate violent guys...
i'm on tuition fee loan, next time i earn money will pay back myself... if i kena kicked out of house can stay at friend's house. she's ready to let me move in anytime. lolz...Originally posted by hyuuga neji:you still need someone to pay your uni school fees rite???
if get kicked out of the hse... won't have enuff $$$ to pay new hse rite...
then not called financially independent liao...
when he gets angry, he gets violent. when he gets violent, he needs to hit something. just the other day, he broke the whole piece of glass covering the table. -_-" this kinda guy, wo si dou bu jia.Originally posted by Ito_^:why the hell wld he wanna hurt yr mom?
where are you? sounds like ya in a dark tunnel or a well lidat...Originally posted by the.raven:yes, I feel very hollow everyday, my life sux, I should have accomplished much more than this.
Its so hollow....so empty....so dark.....so cold..................
Hmmz, for my case, I feel that it doesnt really matter if you spend the whole day slping or eating etc, as long as you feel like it and njoy it without regrets, then there's no probz with it... coz ya'd feel happy, so the main thg is 'try to enjoy the thgs tt u do' although they may seem monotonous but hey, tink you will learn something new each and every dae, or let's say if you feel that your life is sianz then ya not being appreciated for what u've done, try to draw a clear line between u and them, then always remember to take time to urself, e.g let's say if u enjoys going for leisure walks, watch movies etc, dun deprive urself of them.. go do the thgs u njoy.. aft work, on wkends etc.. no problemo, tis ur life, true, we have committments, but we still hafta tek care of ourselves, our needs when we'r done with the committments thgy.. so do the thgs u njoy to clear ur mind, will tink better, tek up yoga, go for slow walks, go eat ur fave desserts etc... tek time for urself... do the thgs tt u njoy among the other committments.. tis ur life bahz.. live well...Originally posted by rainee:hmm...i agree partly and also disagree partly. Whether you can lead a meaningful life or not, it depends on what you choose to do with your life. If you choose to spend every waking hour just sleeping, eating and going to work, of course you will feel like your life is meaningless cos it has become sort like a routine. But if you choose to set aside some time to pursue your own interest, then maybe your life will change for the better
den go learn karate la. u no matter how well tempered oso cannot take all things in yr stride all the time. i think he oso dun wan u to marry someone like himself, dats y wan u to marry someone from church? juz a guess.Originally posted by starblue:when he gets angry, he gets violent. when he gets violent, he needs to hit something. just the other day, he broke the whole piece of glass covering the table. -_-" this kinda guy, wo si dou bu jia.
his dad is juz plain psychotic la.Originally posted by mercu:where are you? sounds like ya in a dark tunnel or a well lidat...
nope.. he just believes that non-christians are less of a human. that if i marry non-christian (or christian not from my church) next time, sure will have bad marriage.. or maybe he just wans to control my marriage life also.. -_-"""Originally posted by Ito_^:den go learn karate la. u no matter how well tempered oso cannot take all things in yr stride all the time. i think he oso dun wan u to marry someone like himself, dats y wan u to marry someone from church? juz a guess.
my dad completely opposite de, dun shout dun get angry, guai guai let my mom scold. last time he got pissed off by me was couple years ago, but he still didn't raise his voice.
or maybe he's too bored? encourage him to go for evening walks, haha, then ya'd have time to urself lerz...Originally posted by starblue:i read chinese novels, non-fiction science books loh... especially my dad.. he hates to see me read the novels.. always threaten that if i continue to indulge myself in them, one day he will tear all the books apart whether or not they are mine, or a friend's or the library's. -_-"
whenever i dun have work i got do housework de loh.. when it's term time, and i got my tuitions after school, i still got go home do housework de loh... but now is really very tiring mah.. work for 10 to 12 hours a day leh....