You won't see that happening cause you can't get guns here easily in Singapore.Originally posted by rainee:I think XiaXue mentioned sth abt this in her latest entry...agreed with some of the stuff she pointed out, like if students are not allowed to have a safe outlet to pour out their feelings, then they will bottle up their feelings until one day you will hear abt some kinda unfortunate events such as gunning incident in school by students, etc...
suppressed anger can lead to depression and depression not so easily detected. they may already be this type of prob happening to students in sch already.Originally posted by rainee:I think XiaXue mentioned sth abt this in her latest entry...agreed with some of the stuff she pointed out, like if students are not allowed to have a safe outlet to pour out their feelings, then they will bottle up their feelings until one day you will hear abt some kinda unfortunate events such as gunning incident in school by students, etc...
Well anything lor...that will cause more horrible and big scale disaster than just having the student writing on the blog to vent his/her frustration...Originally posted by CoolMyth:You won't see that happening cause you can't get guns here easily in Singapore.
Maybe someone will take a butter knife and stab the teacher....
Well, I guess it is all abt the freedom of speech. We are entitled to voice out our opinions, and there will definitely be ppl who dun like wat we say all the time. So I dun see why some teachers are so sensitive abt this issue. I mean, why dun they look into the comments and try to reflect about what they have done to have provoked such reaction from the student? Instead of just abusing their power and punish the student directly? At most just have a talk with the student and find out why they write like that, there has to be sth that causes it...Originally posted by starblue:hmmm.... i still think students should show public respect to their teachers. it is really tough enough as it is to teach a bunch of 40 monkeys. Bitching about them on blogs isnt helping with teacher's attitudes towards students right? why promote the vicious cycle?
personally, i feel that students need to reflect on their own behavior. you wanna Bitch about teachers, do so in front of friends, or parents. but not to the whole world. just imagine yourself in a teacher's shoes will you? i have seen the students nowadays. simply atrocious. you all should try relief teaching sometime... then you'll know.
it is inappropriate for the teachers to go read the blogs and punish students for it. but if the students didnt write that in the first place, would all this sht have happened??
it takes two to clap. instead of pointing fingers solely at readers (teachers), look to the writers (students).
prob is.. sometimes wad the teacher did is bad in the eyes of students. it's just because they dun like wad the teacher did. but they never think about why teachers do it. sometimes its a matter of school policy. sometimes its got to do with discipline. BUT students these days dun like discipline. u make them sit down quietly in class they also can kbkb.Originally posted by rainee:Well, I guess it is all abt the freedom of speech. We are entitled to voice out our opinions, and there will definitely be ppl who dun like wat we say all the time. So I dun see why some teachers are so sensitive abt this issue. I mean, why dun they look into the comments and try to reflect about what they have done to have provoked such reaction from the student? Instead of just abusing their power and punish the student directly? At most just have a talk with the student and find out why they write like that, there has to be sth that causes it...
but like this most ppl wun dare to voice out their opinions le...Originally posted by starblue:prob is.. sometimes wad the teacher did is bad in the eyes of students. it's just because they dun like wad the teacher did. but they never think about why teachers do it. sometimes its a matter of school policy. sometimes its got to do with discipline. BUT students these days dun like discipline. u make them sit down quietly in class they also can kbkb.
it is this that i am referring to. you think teachers like to impose rules on students? do they even NEED to if students themselves behave properly?
and believe me. talking to the student does not help much.
that is a diary and that is telling your friends?Originally posted by dragg:youths thinking nowadays are really very different.
if you need to speak out why put it in a public domain. you can tell your friends or write it in the diary.
dun worry i bet the kids wont write blogs to complain about you cos they scared you bite them and kick them in the groinOriginally posted by starblue:haiz.... it always pays to be polite to teachers. it's not easy for the teacher lah. you've got to be one to know how it feels. sure, blogging will help u vent your frustrations. but some people are just lacking in the considerate department.
i just pity the teachers nowadays. i hope i wun have to pity myself if i can help it.