The point now is it doesn't really matter if she generalise or assume them (students) as Uni. students or not....y you take it so hard? Just becoz you're an Uni. student also??? The point made is that it's really disappointing to see how those students have reacted towards her......Originally posted by casshern:lotsa experience to share and think about.
quite sad how singaporeans still act in an indifferent manner despite behind a world class country etc etc
rmb the Singapore country club incident? disturbing. and now, the students referred to are really Uni students.
top echaleon people behaving selffishly. what happens when they have to take part in decision making for the country?
would they do it for the greater good? or would they do it for themselves?
nevertheless, from here we can see there at least there's a few bright spots in the darkness
I never care what ppl think about meOriginally posted by starblue:some of you here say things like "why do you bother about other people's stares when you do something good?"
dun tell me you wun loh... come on. its not hard to imagine yourself in those shoes, unless you've never been in them before (never given your seat before). lolz... personally, i do give my seats to pregnant ladies or young children. those people are more appreciative and then i feel less affected by the stares. but to some older people or mothers with children.... well... i only do so once in a while, after i have gotten over the past embarrassment.
seriously guys... it's not as easy as you think it is. if you think it is, why don't you all start showing this graciousness around. maybe you can start a gracious society with it.
ok loh.. go and give up your seats loh...Originally posted by Kenashi:I never care what ppl think about me
maybe it is my nature not give a hoot what ppl care.
my life is short enough, if i have to give consideration on what others think.
I might as well let them live my life
no, what i'm trying to put across in my above post is that the uni students are going to be in the top echaleon in the future. and their disgusting behaviour reflects well enough of our so-called "well-educated"Originally posted by dcx:The point now is it doesn't really matter if she generalise or assume them (students) as Uni. students or not....y you take it so hard? Just becoz you're an Uni. student also??? The point made is that it's really disappointing to see how those students have reacted towards her......
come to think of it... which MP doesnt eat their peanuts happily? lolz... wad has this got to do with uni or not?Originally posted by casshern:no, what i'm trying to put across in my above post is that the uni students are going to be in the top echaleon in the future. and their disgusting behaviour reflects well enough of our so-called "well-educated"
imagine them as MPs. i think they would be happily eating their peanuts
true, if you say so, but think hard and see if the environment changed you or you had changed the environment.Originally posted by Kenashi:I never care what ppl think about me
maybe it is my nature not give a hoot what ppl care.
my life is short enough, if i have to give consideration on what others think.
I might as well let them live my life
True.Originally posted by casshern:no, what i'm trying to put across in my above post is that the uni students are going to be in the top echaleon in the future. and their disgusting behaviour reflects well enough of our so-called "well-educated"
imagine them as MPs. i think they would be happily eating their peanuts
I definitely agree with this! Perhaps people think that students have the obligation to give up their seats? If not, it depends on your upbringing?Originally posted by ^HaRu^:can i ask a qn..? why must it always be students to give up their seats..? there are some adults who are freaking fit.. do they deserve the seats then..? why nobody wrote into ST Forums to scold e hell outta them..?
"Hey, i'm 25 yrs old.. my legs have weathered for 25 yrs.. you.. tt 14-yrs old nerd with the big schoolbag.. stand up and give up your seat!"
I give them blank stare since I am always in my own thoughts.Originally posted by casshern:true, if you say so, but think hard and see if the environment changed you or you had changed the environment.
alot of pple, including me proclaim that i dun give a hoot how pple think about me when i behave, wear, speak etc. but after sometime that sense of embrassement/awkardness sets in ....
of cos some pple are much bolder then others to actually lead life their way and our society would often outcast them. how sad, cause they are often the bright and creative ones
Originally posted by ^HaRu^:can i ask a qn..? why must it always be students to give up their seats..? there are some adults who are freaking fit.. do they deserve the seats then..? why nobody wrote into ST Forums to scold e hell outta them..?
"Hey, i'm 25 yrs old.. my legs have weathered for 25 yrs.. you.. tt 14-yrs old nerd with the big schoolbag.. stand up and give up your seat!"
there can be so many people, each are tired in their own ways or even sick or just plain selfish and have the right to chose to give. except the seats meant for needy.Originally posted by Kenashi:
like that oso can!!
the qn is not about who deserve the seat more, it is about who really need it.
oh yah hor.. last time i was standingf on the bus. then got this pregnant lady board.. of cos i alwas give my seats to pregnant ladies one, but cos i also standing mah, so no seats to give. then i see npbody giving.. i wanted to ask that **JC student to give, but then i also paiseh... haiz.. why am i so liddat ah??Originally posted by AF2005:there can be so many people, each are tired in their own ways or even sick or just plain selfish and have the right to chose to give. except the seats meant for needy.
i am sure if ask, someone who thinks these people needs the seat they will normally give.
i have seen a lady 5 seats away say " pls someone give a seat to the old lady" 4 to 5 young adults nearest to the old lady stand up and volunteer.
weak or persons unable to secure/stand themselves steadily need to be seated so as no to be easily injured in case of misfortune or sudden brake, even for short distance.
u can always ask!!Originally posted by starblue:oh yah hor.. last time i was standingf on the bus. then got this pregnant lady board.. of cos i alwas give my seats to pregnant ladies one, but cos i also standing mah, so no seats to give. then i see npbody giving.. i wanted to ask that **JC student to give, but then i also paiseh... haiz.. why am i so liddat ah??
Yep, it's indeed, why must students be the one who give the seats? Anyway, use your powerful "electric eye contact" to psycho him lah....Originally posted by starblue:oh yah hor.. last time i was standingf on the bus. then got this pregnant lady board.. of cos i alwas give my seats to pregnant ladies one, but cos i also standing mah, so no seats to give. then i see npbody giving.. i wanted to ask that **JC student to give, but then i also paiseh... haiz.. why am i so liddat ah??
For me i would, especially if my wife was in the same predicament.Originally posted by Kenashi:if it was u in the situation, would u ask someone to give up their seat to u???
think about it b4 u answer.
Too true.Originally posted by Kenashi:demand is too harsh a word.
wasn't morals taught to u during school or in yr life journey?
what is the use of being taught on something that u don't practise???
Put aside the sympathy clause for a moment.Originally posted by loudmonkey:On the bus, the woman did not get her seat right? She kept quiet, did she not? So she did not demand any courtesy orally. She "expected" courtesy in her mind - but who could tell? Is it even relevant that she "expected" or "demanded" courtesy? I doubt so.
But on the other hand, no kind-hearted soul offered her a seat. No one offering courtesy to her.
The gist of her letter is: why are people not giving help, when help is clearly appreciated? Surely you don't need people to tell you when help is appreciated, right? C'mon, you need to be TOLD to give up a seat for a woman who has a child in her hands?
I mean, so what if you have been snubbed before, without a word of thanks from the person who took the seat? You want something in return for the good deed? Is this becoming more like a moral transaction?
The writer of the letter has a good point to make. The students are not being magnanimous to her. And c'mon, don't tell me that the people may not be students - GOOD chance that they are, and let's not avoid the reality ya?
If on the other hand, if the woman orally demanded a seat, I would actually feel embarassed! Wouldn't you?
You need to be TOLD to give up a seat????
Where is the sense of a good heart, the sense of magnamity, the sense of courtesy?
scully he thinks i like him wor...Originally posted by CoolMyth:Yep, it's indeed, why must students be the one who give the seats? Anyway, use your powerful "electric eye contact" to psycho him lah....
First of all, u shudnt be doing those things in the bus anywayOriginally posted by The return:If you were busy rushing through your report (because you have to submit your report later) on the bus or MRT (esp.) , and you see those unfortunate one. Will you give up your seat to them in exchange for being fired/scolded for not finishing your report or you will just hack it and continue with you work?
We can don't talk about report. Some other more important thing to do lo. Cannot do while standing.