A few weeks ago, i almost fractured my hand, went to nuh for a x-ray.Originally posted by thoreldan:i once went to see a chinese sinseh to treat my sprained back, he used acupuncture and i'm ok in awhile. After which, i proceed to see a english doc to get a mc (my company wont recognize chinese doc's MC).
The english doc became very gan chiong and told me i shouldnt "anyhow" go to any chinese sinseh and labelled them as cheat , then want me to take an X-RAY asap for my back.
I told her i'm ok liao, just needed an MC
Originally posted by thoreldan:Thing is no one in medical profession would want to continue someone's work... in this case, your chinese sinseh has done what he can and he has got you cured, but to the western doctor, it is not safe for him and is not his justification to issue you an MC unless he has personally seen you and manage you or at least carry out a basic investigation such as an X ray... in this case, he is right... Sometimes manipulation of the back and insertion of the needles indirectly without using any viewing machines will cause damage to the nerves no matter how experience a practitioner is. It is always best to confirm... what you feel normal now, may not be normal 10-20 years down the road... this is safe practice of medicine...
i once went to see a chinese sinseh to treat my sprained back, he used acupuncture and i'm ok in awhile. After which, i proceed to see a english doc to get a mc (my company wont recognize chinese doc's MC).
The english doc became very gan chiong and told me i shouldnt "anyhow" go to any chinese sinseh and labelled them as cheat , then want me to take an X-RAY asap for my back.
I told her i'm ok liao, just needed an MC
Originally posted by seow:You probably have a sprain, because you said ALMOST fractured... if it is fractured, a simple closed manipulative reduction (CMR) can be carried out to realign the broken bones...
A few weeks ago, i almost fractured my hand, went to nuh for a x-ray.
The doc said it would take weeks to heal and i just had to wait.
Then, i went to the chinese doc, some light massaging and he drew a little "bad" blood and my hand felt better, i think it made the healing process faster too.
The english doc in your post damn _|_ one arh....
Fancy her labelling people as cheats just because they are chinese sinsehs....
My hand healed faster due to help from a chinese sinseh...
He is professor teaching med students.Originally posted by thoreldan:hi renorenal, u study medicine one right?
Of course, in alternative management, they will try to manipulate all they can because they do not believe in invasive therapy which western management does...Originally posted by seow:My friend and i once joked, "the difference is, in case of cancer, the chinese sinseh uses needles to try to solve the problem if the cancer is in the early stages and the english doctor just chops the particular part off...."
Wow!Originally posted by alexkusu:He is professor teaching med students.
studied... I'm practicing now...Originally posted by thoreldan:hi renorenal, u study medicine one right?
He's pulling your legOriginally posted by thoreldan:Wow!
You yan bu shi tai shan
In this case, I believe it is more towards individual?Originally posted by Rig:Bad practice or culture in Ang Mo doc-
a) say your illness is normal and for rest of your life you need to bear with it or taking pain killer will do .
b) wait and see if time can cure your body and mean while pain killer and MC. Most work but maybe 5% get worst and get incurable.
If that is the case if advisable to see Chinese doctor. Lot of illness which is incurable in the view of Ang Mo doc is actually a piece of cake for chinese doctor.
I'm not making any assumptions lah, just joking only.Originally posted by renorenal:Of course, in alternative management, they will try to manipulate all they can because they do not believe in invasive therapy which western management does...
Western management and its aim in cancer is to prevent SPREAD (metastasis) of the tumor to other region. All cancers are graded, the BETHSEDA classification for cancer of the cervix, DUKE's classification for colorectal cancer and the famous TNM staging and classification of most cancers...
Surgical intervention depends on which stage of tumor it is, the earlier the stage the better to intervene with surgery to prevent spread...
Other methods of managing cancer includes chemotherapy (with drugs) and radiotherapy (or better known as deep X ray therapy). These are used when the tumor has more than spread from its local region. Under these circumstances, the prognosis will be very poor...
One ought to understand the concept of both management, prior to making assumptions...
wow.. so which field do u specialise in? were u a CPT(DR) in ur NS days?Originally posted by renorenal:studied... I'm practicing now...
Your sugar levels will go up, way up, and you will suffer from a condition called DKA (Diabetic Ketoacidosis) or HONK (Hyperosmolar Non Ketotic Coma) where you will have symptoms of abdominal pain, vomiting, nausea, headache, dizziness and diarrhea...Originally posted by martin_lim85:aaa just here to ask what happened if i did not take my insulin for a period time?
I'm jsut a junior house officer... I have just begun my work not long ago... No, I'm not from Singapore, hence no NS, I am from Malaysia...Originally posted by monoslayer:wow.. so which field do u specialise in? were u a CPT(DR) in ur NS days?