No not yet, but your pathophysiology is not really correctOriginally posted by starblue:erm... but wad i said will cause the patient to have dark thoughts??? ermz... if u havent noticed, the symptoms i describe are far less daunting than yours leh... the patient (starpuppy) can just do a simple test to see if his symptoms are same as mine simply by drinking water... unless drinking water will cause harm for the REAL angina.... then my bad...
hmm..Originally posted by renorenal:What do you mean in particular?
Originally posted by renorenal:No not yet, but your pathophysiology is not really correct![]()
This is called dermatographism (the block of ice thing)...Originally posted by alexkusu:hmm..
actually wen i was bout 18, i got it... accordin to the doctor. Quite strange since been living overseas 5 years then gettin it. Find it hard to breathe, kinda ashmatic...actually struggling to breathe. Went to see private doctor. Put me on the respirator for few hours. He put a block of ice on my hand then rashes started to appear. After a while, it disappears.He called it an allergic to the cold. The 1st time he saw it was 23 years ago. Im 2nd time he saw it.
Doc said lucky i came early, or i would have died. But strange hor, I ddnt feel that way. I tot its just a simple cold.![]()
Sorry hor! Don't angry yar...Originally posted by starblue:ok fine....
i guess starblue must be tired..a long dayOriginally posted by renorenal:Sorry hor! Don't angry yar...
Bricanyl is a beta 2 agonist and terbutaline is the similar related compound, they are vasoconstrictors and bronchodilators... it helps to ease and soothes out the shortness of breath that you are having... Nebulizer or Metered Dose Inhaler ar?Originally posted by alexkusu:he perscribed me Bricanul turbuhaler. Contains terbutaline sulphate at 250ug per dose. Is it for ashma one?
just wonderin y that doctor cant give me technical name..cincai call it allergy to the cold. Btw, does cold trigger it? how rare is it? is it self inflicted?Originally posted by renorenal:This is called dermatographism (the block of ice thing)...
It is under dermatology and yes it is dangerous and can cause a massive influx of mast cells in your body which may release a chemical called histamine that may accelerate your body process and leads to a condition called anaphylaxis --> presenting with the symptoms that you described above... You need to identify your trigger factors and avoid it...
I have not seen a case of dermatographism before, and I thought it was rare, but hey, you're my first patient with it![]()
nah... u just totally crushed my trust in wadever that i have read so far in my entire life... and also wad i believed i am experiencing myself and wad i have done so far to "take care of" myself.... that's all.. nothing serious... nothing to be angry about.. nothing at all...Originally posted by renorenal:Sorry hor! Don't angry yar...
powder inhaler..so i guess metered one.for the relief of bronchospasmOriginally posted by renorenal:Bricanyl is a beta 2 agonist and terbutaline is the similar related compound, they are vasoconstrictors and bronchodilators... it helps to ease and soothes out the shortness of breath that you are having... Nebulizer or Metered Dose Inhaler ar?
For your case it is more like cold... do you still have that rash when you apply a cold block of ice? Eh don't do it unless you have those antihistamines with you... hahaha... after you die I also die...Originally posted by alexkusu:just wonderin y that doctor cant give me technical name..cincai call it allergy to the cold. Btw, does cold trigger it? how rare is it? is it self inflicted?
actually never really happen since that time..but wen its very cold, can feel short of breathe.Originally posted by renorenal:For your case it is more like cold... do you still have that rash when you apply a cold block of ice? Eh don't do it unless you have those antihistamines with you... hahaha... after you die I also die...
No, it is more of immune system dependent... not very rare, but it is not that common also...
Ratings out, starblue heaven 21 in the ladder...
It is quite common for people nowadays to diagnose themselves... but at times they tend to diagnose themselves with a very severe disease not knowing that a mild disorder can also present similarly and equally the same which only investigations can be done to differentiate them...Originally posted by starblue:nah... u just totally crushed my trust in wadever that i have read so far in my entire life... and also wad i believed i am experiencing myself and wad i have done so far to "take care of" myself.... that's all.. nothing serious... nothing to be angry about.. nothing at all...
This is because dermatographism is not a sole diagnosis, it may have occured with other immune-related conditions as well... Shortness of breath is basically because of the mast cells that are producing histamines which encourages bronchospasms...Originally posted by alexkusu:actually never really happen since that time..but wen its very cold, can feel short of breathe.
reno, read the words in red..what does it tells u?Originally posted by starblue:nah... u just totally crushed my trust in wadever that i have read so far in my entire life... and also wad i believed i am experiencing myself and wad i have done so far to "take care of" myself.... that's all.. nothing serious... nothing to be angry about.. nothing at all...
I'm blacklisted in her list...Originally posted by alexkusu:reno, read the words in red..what does it tells u?![]()
the doc also perscribe zantec? or some anti-histamines drugs..for hay-fever one.Originally posted by renorenal:This is because dermatographism is not a sole diagnosis, it may have occured with other immune-related conditions as well... Shortness of breath is basically because of the mast cells that are producing histamines which encourages bronchospasms...
dun worry! time to close clinic liaw!Originally posted by renorenal:I'm blacklisted in her list...![]()
er... fyi, i never told people i have angina, since i am not sure of it... i just know that drinking water and breathing slowly helps sooth it.. that's all. lolz. heck, my friends dun even know i have the problem...Originally posted by renorenal:It is quite common for people nowadays to diagnose themselves... but at times they tend to diagnose themselves with a very severe disease not knowing that a mild disorder can also present similarly and equally the same which only investigations can be done to differentiate them...
My advise to you is that you should try to consult with a professional prior to coming to a conclusion lor... people may be laughing at your back when you tell them you have angina when all your risk factors is not there... so I hope the above explanation helps...
Congrats on the rise in rating!
you were blacklisted for being a doctor already anyway no diffOriginally posted by renorenal:I'm blacklisted in her list...![]()
Yeah... aih... I guess I won't be allowed to wander here any more...Originally posted by alexkusu:dun worry! time to close clinic liaw!
thats very hurtful words..u knowOriginally posted by hisoka:you were blacklisted for being a doctor already anyway no diff![]()
its OK! we KNOW DOCTORS MAKES MISTAKES....Originally posted by renorenal:Hey Alex sorry for the mistake... it's not dermatographism... I mixed up... your condition is called COLD URTICARIA... very sorry!